We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and friendly”
Review of Bimblegumbie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bimblegumbie
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is our second visit in about three years. Fantastic atmosphere, not "corporate". Suits us as a family of four and/or with family and friends and other children. Located on a quiet mountain-country block with big shady trees and mature gardens, lots of artful and humorous objects that are part of the place and people. If you like gardening and nature, you'll probably like Bimblegumbie (BG). It's very convenient - a short drive to Jindabyne with the Lake, shops and cinema and short drive to Thredbo with the toboggan slide and chair-lift, and the river and the mountains, and the Wild Brumby Schnapps Distillery. Cafes and bakeries all over the place. Plenty of space at BG makes it easy to 'get away from it all (including your family)' and have some quiet time, or find things to entertain. The main house is a B&B-type arrangement where other guests are also staying in rooms in the house and sharing the kitchen. No pressure to be friendly if you don't want to. Large pool table, DVD player and very large screen in the main house made for alot of fun. BG is very well equipped, and the owner and her partner are helpful but not intrusive. Plenty of other self-contained cottages and studios. Last time at BG, we stayed in the bungalow with our two children plus friends and their two children. Really nice BBQ and outdoor table and chairs to ourselves in a quiet, shady spot in the garden. It's simply delightful to stay at BG. Very relaxed and restful. Quiet. I would highly recommend it as a wonderful, special place to stay.

Room Tip: Bungalow is fabulous and can accommodate many people. Little house is cosy and fits 4-6. We have als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGTravelInfo, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us at Bimblegumbie. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, in the continual ever changing pursuit of a great holiday and environment and facilities for our guests pleasure. Look forward to seeing you again with your smiling family. The artwork given to us has pride of place on the pool table light. Thank you and cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 63 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I didn't know what to make of this place at first. I strive for clear and uncluttered surfaces at home but was faced with an eclectic assortment of coloured glassware in windows and not a free space on any other surface. On closer inspection it all seemed free of dust and elsewhere satisfied my OCD standards of cleanliness (although I didn't like the shag leather rugs). That it was 70s decor and facilities just added to its charm and made us feel able to relax in a place with real character rather than the usual antiseptic white and brown modern decor. Although it was the hosts' home as well as their business they had their own kitchen and left us alone to cook our own dinners in the main kitchen which was dripping with all the utensils and equipment one could ever need. The main kitchen was utilised by the very friendly hosts to prepare our marvellous breakfasts: freshly stewed strawberries, the most marvellous porridge keeping warm in a big pot on the wood burning stove in the dining area, a toasting area with plenty of bread varieties and coffee, eggs, bacon etc to order. We were there in mid September during a very late ski season and stayed in the main house and the separate cabins. We were toasty warm at night with all the wood heaters lit (and an electric fin heater in our bedroom in the main house and wood heaters in the cabins) watching the huge flat screen tv which took up half the wall and what seemed like the full Foxtel service and a huge selection of DVDs. It's only a 10min max drive to the ski tube so is very very convenient. We plan to return next season..

Room Tip: Try and get a cabin for a bit more privacy and convenience to the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGTravelInfo, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your words regarding your stay at Bimblegumbie. We always appreciate comments from guests from both our own historical guest book and also from other areas. These may help prospective guests get an idea of what they may find here with us, and if it suits their requirements.

Thank you for your time and contribution and we look forward to a return visit from you - best wishes for 2013. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is our second visit, the first was almost ten years ago, and I really wonder why it took us so long to come back? Bimblegumbie really fits the original concept of the B&B, but with the added benefits of allowing dogs and having self contained units as well as traditional "stay in the house" rooms - relaxed, friendly and accommodating. The gardens are beautiful and full of interesting bits and pieces made into art, as well as full of birds and other wildlife (NB: the site is steep, so manageable for most people but could be a challenge for some mobility challenged people). On finding that it was my birthday, Pru, the host, offered to book our restaurant for us and once she had done that returned with complementary Champagne (a very nice Marlborough NZ region sparkling). We stayed in one of the self contained rooms (Studio) and while small it was a perfect size for the two of us and our elderly malamute. The bed was wonderfully big. There was a little table outside at the side of the building which we had our champagne and nibbles. We had the breakfast side of the B&B which was freshly made fruit salad, fresh bread and cereals, eggs were also available - the Coffee was excellent (good espresso coffee is harder to find than one thinks).

Room Tip: Look at the website and the configurations of the rooms; if you want a quieter/private stay go self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malimover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGTravelInfo, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Hi and thank you for leaving comments from your stay with us. We love helping guests celebrate birthdays and anniversaries as well as having a stay with their pets. A pleasure to be part of it all. We look forward to having you return with your beautiful dog and wish him an even longer life. all the best wishes for 2013 from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent a 5 week holiday in Australia and i can truly say that this was the most one of a kind B&B we expercienced. We enjoyed it very much. We loved the propierty with lovely gardens, well maintained, and very enjoyable hikes. All kinds of little jokes well positioned, like humorous signs, binucolars and many more (which i won't give away here....;-)
We stayed at the penthouse, very nice decorated, but you have to love the style. Words like eclectic, hippy, colourfull are applicable. If you don't love that, then you'll experience it as a collection of outdated, old, or even broken bunch of items.
The owners try their best to be very hospitable, but it doesn't always works out that well. When we entered the main house in the evening for a coffee or tea, they were very occupied with themselves and did not even notice us. We also didn't feel free enough to make our own in the kitchen. The breakfast however was lovely and very well served and all the tips about the surroundings were absolutely great.
They love pets, and you could easily bring your own. Downside is that you find some doghair in your room. Together with the high rugs, it stopped me from walking on barefoot and kept my flipflops on my feet.
Alltogether: we certainly would visit here again. The place is special and unique in its kind.

Room Tip: Ask for accomodation with own kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchAntilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGTravelInfo, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here. I am sorry to find out that we were unaware of your presence or wish for a coffee/tea ...Perhaps suggest that next time (hopefully we will see you again) you make your presence known and we will be very happy to offer you a variety of beverages. Upon your remarks regarding pet hair, it is very important from our point of view as well, that we are very diligent in the removal of all pet hair. We have therefore removed the leather shag rugs from the Penthouse to ensure that all signs of pet hair is avoided.

As an eclectic collector, it is always fun to update, change and find interesting pieces of art and different styles and texture and share these with the guests. The Penthouse has been partially renovated since your stay and now has a small separate kitchenette as well as an ungraded bathroom vanity and sink. Look forward to seeing you on your next overseas holiday if you come this way. All the best Pru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in a room in the Guest House and it was not the relaxing stay we expected. The house is jam-packed with kitsch junk, there was loud unpleasant music playing until quite late and it was cold unless you were sitting right next to a fireplace. We were told there would be two shared kitchens available, however they were both very small and were used by the staff and family as well as guests. It was difficult finding space just to reheat food let alone cook anything. We were also interrogated by a staff member every time we went into the kitchen, even if just to make a cup of tea or coffee (my partner was told off for using the coffee machine which the owner had set up for him). The breakfast was lovely, however the cooked breakfast only consisted of eggs, there was no bacon (very unusual for a B&B), and don't ask for eggs before you sit down at the table or you'll get told off! The bedroom was small and crammed with old furniture, some of it broken, and had very ineffective heating (which was off altogether in the morning). The grounds were lovely and the separate accommodations looked good - I'd recommend you stay in those and avoid the main house. If you are going to stay, double-check your booking, as ours was lost and I heard the owner saying she had lost someone else's too.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGTravelInfo, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your short stay with us. As a return based business of many years, since 1978, we realise that we are definitely not “everyone’s cup of tea” nor would we even try to be. We know that it is all in the eye of the beholder and what is eclectic and collectable and funky to some, can also be viewed as “kitsch junk” to others. Differing forms of art.

As a place which is quite different to many others, we offer kitchen facilities in the Lodge, Free WiFi, pets welcome, Free espresso coffees & varieties of teas at any time, BYO, Gluten Free options and also not often bacon with breakfast. Many a celebration has been held when the whole Lodge has been booked by a group and we are there to help to ensure a great time without intrusion.

We are sorry that the response by staff in the kitchen felt like a reprimand. The intention was to give a great coffee from our large commercial machine which is not an automatic one. Regarding your booking details, we have not lost one, though perhaps mislaid for that particular moment. Quite true, it is always a good idea for bookings to be checked by both parties. Guest’s comfort & wishes are always our main concern and we strive to ensure that our different varieties of accommodation will suit guests changing requirements.

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback. Always appreciated and enables us to learn and grow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Want a great place to stay when traveling with your pet then Bimblegumbie is the place to stay. The main house is filled with lovely eclectic mementos and cosy and colourful furnishings. It has many good spots to sit by the fire in winter and to view the magical gardens outside. Everywhere you look you will find amusing and arty pieces scattered around the accommodation and grounds. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking up your own meals and you are welcome to use the main lodge if staying in the other self contained rooms. It was raining very heavily while we were there and unfortunately we were not able to explore the walks around the property. The next morning made up for this as it began to snow. This turned the property into a white winter wonderland dusted with snow. It then made the gardens an even more magical place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzcNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimblegumbie, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

It was with much pleasure that I read your review. I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us (even though the weather was not too kind for you). It makes us happy when guests relax and thoroughly enjoy their stay, especially in the company of their pets and also have a little time to explore the gardens. We do love sharing our world. Look forward to seeing you again. all the best Pru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is fantastic!

I just came back from my stay at Bimblegumbie with my partner, a mate and my baby boy puppy Hugo. We arrived extremely late (around 11pm) and the owner Pru was very understanding and kind about the very late check in. We stayed in the penthouse and it was more than enough to please our needs. Very clean, plenty of room, warm for the cold weather, loved the forest view, plenty of wildlife, great little private balcony with our own bbq. Everything was perfect and just within a uni student's budget like my own. The quality of the rooms was amazing with good quality bedding, very clean bathroom with good venting and lovely artwork all over the room.

The whole atmosphere of the place is definitely an ideal getaway location, especially if you have pets you don't want to part with when on a holiday. We were greeted each morning with a very generous breakfast that was so kindly prepared by the lovely owners who treats you like family and not like guest of some big shot holiday resort. They are truly lovely and welcomed us 100% into their home.

They provided plenty of information about the hiking/walking trails and being new to the whole snow experience, they also provided information for us about Thredbo which was only 20 minutes drive away. It's better to stay outside of Thredbo in Jindabyne (which is where Bimblegumbie is located) because there are shops conveniently located nearby unlike Thredbo Village which cost an arm and leg to buy food and drinks.

All in all, the place has personality. Beautifully and conveniently located, price is very reasonable for the amount of benefits included with the stay i.e breakfast, drinks on the house (teas/coffees/juices), clean towels, linen, soap, warm heating, plenty of storage space, private bbq and balcony and the list goes on and on. Our puppy Hugo loved exploring the area as there was ample exploring grounds and many other friendly pets to play with.

I can't find a flaw in Bimblegumbie honestly. We will definitely come back to this place without a doubt. If you want a place to getaway to that is quiet, (you are surrounded by a beautiful forest with no traffic noise), with a warm welcome and great service all round book at Bimblegumbie. I highly recommend it.

Miau-Nie Eng (Nunnie) =)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nunnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
6.4 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
7.6 mi away
Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse
0.7 mi away
Pender Lea Chalets
Pender Lea Chalets
#1 of 5 in Crackenback
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Habitat Chalet
Habitat Chalet
#4 of 5 in Crackenback
52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ecocrackenback
Ecocrackenback
#3 of 5 in Crackenback
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimblegumbie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimblegumbie

Address: Bimblegumbie 942 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crackenback
Hotel Class:4 star — Bimblegumbie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded accommodation on acreage. Self contained cottages, bed and breakfast Art House, Pet friendly, outstanding gardens with sculptures, mountain and valley walks, wonderful bird life changing with the seasons, artistic, relaxed and very private. Experience old fashioned hospitality. Eco accommodation and focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Bimblegumbie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing