We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very origial and lovely place”
Review of Bimblegumbie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bimblegumbie
United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very origial and lovely place”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent a 5 week holiday in Australia and i can truly say that this was the most one of a kind B&B we expercienced. We enjoyed it very much. We loved the propierty with lovely gardens, well maintained, and very enjoyable hikes. All kinds of little jokes well positioned, like humorous signs, binucolars and many more (which i won't give away here....;-)
We stayed at the penthouse, very nice decorated, but you have to love the style. Words like eclectic, hippy, colourfull are applicable. If you don't love that, then you'll experience it as a collection of outdated, old, or even broken bunch of items.
The owners try their best to be very hospitable, but it doesn't always works out that well. When we entered the main house in the evening for a coffee or tea, they were very occupied with themselves and did not even notice us. We also didn't feel free enough to make our own in the kitchen. The breakfast however was lovely and very well served and all the tips about the surroundings were absolutely great.
They love pets, and you could easily bring your own. Downside is that you find some doghair in your room. Together with the high rugs, it stopped me from walking on barefoot and kept my flipflops on my feet.
Alltogether: we certainly would visit here again. The place is special and unique in its kind.

Room Tip: Ask for accomodation with own kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchAntilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGTravelInfo, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay here. I am sorry to find out that we were unaware of your presence or wish for a coffee/tea ...Perhaps suggest that next time (hopefully we will see you again) you make your presence known and we will be very happy to offer you a variety of beverages. Upon your remarks regarding pet hair, it is very important from our point of view as well, that we are very diligent in the removal of all pet hair. We have therefore removed the leather shag rugs from the Penthouse to ensure that all signs of pet hair is avoided.

As an eclectic collector, it is always fun to update, change and find interesting pieces of art and different styles and texture and share these with the guests. The Penthouse has been partially renovated since your stay and now has a small separate kitchenette as well as an ungraded bathroom vanity and sink. Look forward to seeing you on your next overseas holiday if you come this way. All the best Pru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in a room in the Guest House and it was not the relaxing stay we expected. The house is jam-packed with kitsch junk, there was loud unpleasant music playing until quite late and it was cold unless you were sitting right next to a fireplace. We were told there would be two shared kitchens available, however they were both very small and were used by the staff and family as well as guests. It was difficult finding space just to reheat food let alone cook anything. We were also interrogated by a staff member every time we went into the kitchen, even if just to make a cup of tea or coffee (my partner was told off for using the coffee machine which the owner had set up for him). The breakfast was lovely, however the cooked breakfast only consisted of eggs, there was no bacon (very unusual for a B&B), and don't ask for eggs before you sit down at the table or you'll get told off! The bedroom was small and crammed with old furniture, some of it broken, and had very ineffective heating (which was off altogether in the morning). The grounds were lovely and the separate accommodations looked good - I'd recommend you stay in those and avoid the main house. If you are going to stay, double-check your booking, as ours was lost and I heard the owner saying she had lost someone else's too.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BGTravelInfo, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your short stay with us. As a return based business of many years, since 1978, we realise that we are definitely not “everyone’s cup of tea” nor would we even try to be. We know that it is all in the eye of the beholder and what is eclectic and collectable and funky to some, can also be viewed as “kitsch junk” to others. Differing forms of art.

As a place which is quite different to many others, we offer kitchen facilities in the Lodge, Free WiFi, pets welcome, Free espresso coffees & varieties of teas at any time, BYO, Gluten Free options and also not often bacon with breakfast. Many a celebration has been held when the whole Lodge has been booked by a group and we are there to help to ensure a great time without intrusion.

We are sorry that the response by staff in the kitchen felt like a reprimand. The intention was to give a great coffee from our large commercial machine which is not an automatic one. Regarding your booking details, we have not lost one, though perhaps mislaid for that particular moment. Quite true, it is always a good idea for bookings to be checked by both parties. Guest’s comfort & wishes are always our main concern and we strive to ensure that our different varieties of accommodation will suit guests changing requirements.

Thank you for taking the time to send feedback. Always appreciated and enables us to learn and grow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Want a great place to stay when traveling with your pet then Bimblegumbie is the place to stay. The main house is filled with lovely eclectic mementos and cosy and colourful furnishings. It has many good spots to sit by the fire in winter and to view the magical gardens outside. Everywhere you look you will find amusing and arty pieces scattered around the accommodation and grounds. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking up your own meals and you are welcome to use the main lodge if staying in the other self contained rooms. It was raining very heavily while we were there and unfortunately we were not able to explore the walks around the property. The next morning made up for this as it began to snow. This turned the property into a white winter wonderland dusted with snow. It then made the gardens an even more magical place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzcNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimblegumbie, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was with much pleasure that I read your review. I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us (even though the weather was not too kind for you). It makes us happy when guests relax and thoroughly enjoy their stay, especially in the company of their pets and also have a little time to explore the gardens. We do love sharing our world. Look forward to seeing you again. all the best Pru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is fantastic!

I just came back from my stay at Bimblegumbie with my partner, a mate and my baby boy puppy Hugo. We arrived extremely late (around 11pm) and the owner Pru was very understanding and kind about the very late check in. We stayed in the penthouse and it was more than enough to please our needs. Very clean, plenty of room, warm for the cold weather, loved the forest view, plenty of wildlife, great little private balcony with our own bbq. Everything was perfect and just within a uni student's budget like my own. The quality of the rooms was amazing with good quality bedding, very clean bathroom with good venting and lovely artwork all over the room.

The whole atmosphere of the place is definitely an ideal getaway location, especially if you have pets you don't want to part with when on a holiday. We were greeted each morning with a very generous breakfast that was so kindly prepared by the lovely owners who treats you like family and not like guest of some big shot holiday resort. They are truly lovely and welcomed us 100% into their home.

They provided plenty of information about the hiking/walking trails and being new to the whole snow experience, they also provided information for us about Thredbo which was only 20 minutes drive away. It's better to stay outside of Thredbo in Jindabyne (which is where Bimblegumbie is located) because there are shops conveniently located nearby unlike Thredbo Village which cost an arm and leg to buy food and drinks.

All in all, the place has personality. Beautifully and conveniently located, price is very reasonable for the amount of benefits included with the stay i.e breakfast, drinks on the house (teas/coffees/juices), clean towels, linen, soap, warm heating, plenty of storage space, private bbq and balcony and the list goes on and on. Our puppy Hugo loved exploring the area as there was ample exploring grounds and many other friendly pets to play with.

I can't find a flaw in Bimblegumbie honestly. We will definitely come back to this place without a doubt. If you want a place to getaway to that is quiet, (you are surrounded by a beautiful forest with no traffic noise), with a warm welcome and great service all round book at Bimblegumbie. I highly recommend it.

Miau-Nie Eng (Nunnie) =)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Bimblegumbie has become home away from home. I've been coming here for many years, both as a base for skiing in winter and as a wonderful escape from the city bustle and heat in the summer. It provides a range of accommodation for our family, a romantic week away without the children and the occasional quick weekend skiing by myself. It is also wonderful for small groups.

Nestled in the Crackenback valley, Bimblegumbie is about 10km out of Jindabyne on the road to the ski resort of Thredbo and with the ski tube to Perisher just a few minutes away, it is incredibly convenient. You can check the morning ski report & decide if a day of long runs at Thredbo is the go, or if it is a day for skiing between the trees at Perisher. During summer it provides easy access to the mountains for walking, Thredbo is close by for all its summer activities and there are many lakes and streams for fishing in the area. There is also horse riding close by for a taste of “The Man from Snowy River”.

The accommodation ranges from self-contained cottages and apartments, through comfortable guest rooms with shared facilities, to the wonderful loft - ideal for a quick weekend getaway. When staying in guest rooms or the loft, a highlight is the generous and very yummy breakfasts included in the tariff. The accommodation is always warm and cosy, with wood fires and plenty of supplementary heating. The decor is hard to describe - it is quirky, eclectic and arty all at once. It manages to engender a homely and happy atmosphere.

The self-contained accommodation is very well set up, with incredibly well equipped kitchens and many basic ingredients provided (if you forget something, say that essential herb or spice, or need a certain pot, dish or implement, just ask – it is likely to be available!) If staying in the guest house you can cook in the shared kitchen, with every pot, pan and dish you would ever need.

Of great importance are hot showers, and Bimblegumbie does not disappoint - hot water is plentiful and steaming hot - very welcome after a day of exertion in the mountains. Bedding is very comfortable, with soft, puffy doonas and plenty of pillows to sin into. Towels and linen are supplied.

There are mountains of books available to keep you occupied, including children’s titles, non-fiction and plenty of fiction. TV reception is good and you can always watch a DVD. There is a pool table in the main house, always a favourite with the kids.

There are options for dining out that are close by (Crackenback Cottage, Lake Crackenback & the Wild Brumby Distillery), and the restaurants and cafes of Jindabyne are only 10 minutes or so by car.

Bimblegumbie is pet friendly, and it has its own collection of delightful canines. If you want a holiday and can’t arrange for someone to look after your pets, this is an ideal venue. There are a range of options for housing your pets while you are way for the day, and the walk up the mountain behind the resort will provide plenty of exercise for you and your furry friend!

Pru, Craig and the staff are always incredibly warm and welcoming – it is a delight to return each time. I would rate this as the best value accomodation in the Snowy Mountains. And the kids are always asking “When are we going to Bimblegumbie again?”

Room Tip: The Bungalow is great if you have kids & their friends - two bathrooms & lots of beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimblegumbie, Owner at Bimblegumbie, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
What an absolute delight it was to have you stay. Guests such as yourself make hospitality such a rewarding and fascinating experience and it also helps us to ensure that we try to make everything interesting and comfortable for all our guests for them to keep returning and enjoying the ambience and relaxed nature of Bimblegumbie. Thank you for your comments and we really appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts on your experience here. See you when the urge takes you. All the very best Pru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A fantastic place to stay and a warm welcome from the very friendly and accommodating owner. Our little family had a lovely time and really enjoyed the relaxed pace - a world away from it all with the peace of nature all around us and the crackling of a log fire to warm us. The wallabies, the wombats and the wonderful birdlife were very enjoyable too! We could have stayed forever. Thanks Pru.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Bimblegumbie is a pleasant place to stay, but come prepared for an out of the ordinary environment. The big house is full of personality, as are the gardens and accomodation. The sheets and some furnishings are of a high quality but a few things let you down. There appears to be a bad damp problem in the bathroom (mold above shower) which gives off an unpleasant odour. The smell is the first thing you smell when you open the door and there is no fan to help get rid of it. Additionally, there are no curtains on some windows, one of which may give other guests a fantastic view of bedroom romps at night? One last thing is that there is no room servicing. You can request plates to be collected and bins changed but the linen will not be changed nor will any cleaning be done. Bimblegumbie is a very relaxed place but be prepared for a stay that is vastly removed from standard hotel/serviced apartment accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tbjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
5.8 mi away
Perisher Valley Hotel
Perisher Valley Hotel
#3 of 8 in Perisher Valley
68 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sponars Chalet
Sponars Chalet
#11 of 22 in Kosciuszko National Park
51 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse
3.1 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Habitat Chalet
Habitat Chalet
#5 of 5 in Crackenback
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bimblegumbie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimblegumbie

Property: Bimblegumbie
Address: Bimblegumbie 942 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crackenback
Hotel Class:4 star — Bimblegumbie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded accommodation on acreage. Self contained cottages, bed and breakfast Art House, Pet friendly, outstanding gardens with sculptures, mountain and valley walks, wonderful bird life changing with the seasons, artistic, relaxed and very private. Experience old fashioned hospitality. Eco accommodation and focus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Bimblegumbie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing