We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 4 Crackenback B&B and Inns
Brisbane
1 review
“Enjoyable family stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had a very enjoyable two night family stay at Crackenback Farm on a recent January trip through the Snowy Mountains. Highlights of the stay included a delicious evening meal, lovely cooked breakfasts, a game of pool on the huge pool table and having our afternoon tea in the rustic gardens. The kids enjoyed sleeping on their "mezzanine" floor in the room. We also had a game of tennis in beautiful surrounds ... although the tennis court suface needs some repair work (we nicknamed them "Crackenback Cracks", and it was just a matter of good or bad luck if the ball hit them). Enjoyed having a drink in the lounge area and absorbing the lovely surrounds & family history that is obviously such an important part of the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlab001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crackenback M, Owner at Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear rlab001,
Thanks so much for writing about the enjoyable experience at Crackenback Farm, so happy you enjoyed your stay. We agree the tennis court is certainly a rustic country court and makes for an extra fun and challenging game!
We hope to welcome the family back soon,
Butch, Marg and the Crackenback Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

I am an avid Trip Advisor user and often base my decisions on stays thanks to the reviews but I feel that the place we stayed was so different from the general reviews.

After having stayed at some exceptional small country town accommodations this was a massive disappointment. The staff were very friendly and the location is good and grounds seem well maintained but the rooms were appalling. I agree with some of the recent reviews wholeheartedly - this is not a luxury stay. There were stains on everything to the point I wouldn't even shower and use the towels. The sheets and bedding were marked and the rooms old and do not look well maintained at all. There was even a cockroach running around in one of our rooms. Unacceptable! To use another reviewer's comparison..... it was like a cheap backpackers hostel. I get the impression though that this is the standard for the Alpine area.... but a venue shouldn't be charging as much as this and positioning itself as luxury when it really isn't.

We did eat dinner there and breakfast and I thought it was good but overpriced compared to what we got elsewhere. I was embarrassed upon leaving that I had suggested this place to my guests - and that I had positioned is as being a luxury farm stay..... it really wasn't.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crackenback M, Owner at Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear VeeDM,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and comment on orangestreet’s review. We are most upset and sorry that your experience on this occasion was less than satisfying and did not meet your expectations. We are also avid Trip Advisor users and look to it to help make important holiday decisions and as an operator are fully aware how harmful negative reviews can be for the small business operators.

Firstly, we should point out the guest stayed for one night / peak holiday season and paid $160 per room per night including a full breakfast, afternoon tea and use of our facilities. The guests did not mention anything during the stay to give us an opportunity to rectify any issues or complete our suggestions and feedback forms supplied in the room.

Our goal is certainly not to position ourselves as a ‘Luxury Farm Stay’ for over 30 years many of our return guests feel that we do offer them this and more however we understand that we can not be everything to everyone. We focus on appealing to those who are looking for a unique mountain experience in the high Country of Australia in both Winter and Summer.

We have spent considerable time ensuring our property website is up to date and portrays Crackenback Farm the way it is, all content is written by the family and photos are recent and taken by us. In no place on the website do we use the words “Luxury, 5 star,new, recently refurbished etc.” Since your review we have had an external Company examine our website and visit Crackenback Farm as a result we have outlined some more detail and changed our description in many areas to ensure that we can meet our goal and exceed our Guests expectations.

Regarding your comment about a cockroach, in all the years we have lived in the mountains we have never once seen a cockroach and they rarely live in the region or climate, in this instance we feel you many have mistaken it for a garden beetle, common to the local area, they look very similar. The pest controller has inspected all rooms and hall cupboards and found no evidence of cockroaches.

We have alerted our local laundry and linen supplier regarding your comments and also purchased new towels. We reviewed the 2 rooms that you and your family occupied during your stay over the peak holiday period to ensure all rooms are stain free and looking the best they can.

As a small family operated business we certainly take all feedback very seriously and try and learn a lesson or two from it. Again, we are sorry that your overnight experience at Crackenback Farm did not meet your expectations.

Kind regards,
Marg & Butch Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed there for a night and came away from the whole experience a bit disillusioned, if not outright disappointed.

The pros
• Well located straight on the Alpine way and easy to locate.
• Close enough to Jindabyne for evening meals etc.
• The grounds looked reasonably well maintained and looked attractive.
• Half-decent sauna and indoor plunge pool. It was not heated when we were there and was freezing cold (with a dead insects happily floating around).
• Reasonably friendly staff member.
• Afternoon tea (cake) arrived 30 minutes but it did arrive and was OK.
• Did not eat breakfast so cannot comment.

The cons
• Our room was downright appalling. Don’t be fooled by the website. This ain’t no luxury farmhouse.
• Spider webs in the room and spiders on the bed!
• Tiny TV with half the channels missing. The outside TV was fine though.
• Stained drapes in the bedroom.
• Stained towels. No “fluffy towels” as promised.
• Tiny room with barely enough to move about. We stayed overnight with one bag and could hardly move around the room without banging ourselves into everything. I shudder to think what would happen if we had foolishly decided to stay for a week.
• Bathroom was woeful. Tiny bathroom (really tiny) with on old commode, ridiculously small sink and a shower cubicle (more like a small box) with an exhaust pipe with so much filth and dirt that I am quite amazed how anything gets sucked in it.
• Mouldy, smell throughout the room which gave us both headaches.

Maybe it was the room we stayed in. Maybe we had unrealistic expectations seeing the website. Maybe it is the snowy mountains area where everything is a massive rip-off. But we could not wait to get the hell out of here. It seemed like a night straight out of a cheap backpackers hostel. Only, I would not pay upwards of $160 for a night.

Not good enough.

Room Tip: Stay away from room number 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crackenback M, Owner at Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Organgestreet,

Thank you for your comments. We have taken your points very seriously and we are surprised that you did not raise your concerns to us, we would immediately have taken all measures to address them. As a small family business owner and operator for over 30 years we certainly understand how important meeting guest expectations are.

We would like to point out that you booked a one night stay in peak holiday season for “ the Cute Room 2 “. This room and the bathroom are significantly smaller than our other rooms, this is why it is booked at a reduced rate. You paid $160 including a full country breakfast, afternoon tea and late check out which is a very fair price in this area over the Christmas holiday period.

Our website is constantly updated and all photographs are recent and real photos taken by our family. We feel we capture the essence of Crackenback Farm, a small family owned guesthouse on the alpine way, not of a luxury 5 star hotel in a large city.
Due to the location we do have restricted TV reception and can not offer all channels. We have updated our website description to describe that the Television / DVD players in the rooms are smaller, and that some channels are not available.

We send all our laundry and drapes to the local commercial laundry. We have contacted them, examined everything and have also ordered new towels for the entire guesthouse.

Thousands of return visitors keep coming back to Crackenback Farm and we constantly receive very positive feedback. We are taking your comments seriously and are committed to always improving Crackenback Farm, offering a true mountain experience with excellent facilities, renowned food and striving to look after everyone in a warm hospitable way.

Kind regards,
Marg & Butch Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This place would be heaven for a ski trip in winter and we understood it is always fully booked in wintertime. But we visited in december, low season but not less interesting. The Snowy mountains are a good hiking, biking, horse riding attraction in summer as well!
We had a very relaxing stay with just the right easy listening modern pop music on the background while enjoying a very good cooked breakfast and dinner prepared by Zoe and her friend. Step outside and your in nature alpine surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabonijntje N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crackenback M, Owner at Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Cabonijntje N,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay and have been researching geo-caching adventures for future guests in the area and thank you for introducing us to the subject. We are so happy that you enjoyed the food, music and location. We hope you visit Australia again soon, maybe for a ski in Winter? As you know, it's the only place in the world you can ski amidst gum trees!

Thank you!
Zoe, Marg & Butch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stopped at Cooma Info. centre looking for special accomodation after the drive from Sydney. They pointed us to the Farm.

What a magic place! Beautiful comfortable acc. with a Breakfast to match. Thanks again, a wonderful place to stay, a must reccomend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crackenback M, Owner at Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Great to hear! Thanks for your recommendation, we do take great pride in our breakfast, so we love to hear that people really enjoy it, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We recently spent six nights at Crackenback Farm following the end of the official ski season. Despite many businesses heaving a sigh of relief and closing up we had a great stay. We came here wanting to try cross country skiing but with very limited snow experience. Our hosts directed us to exactly the right people for cross country skiing and snow shoeing. It would be hard to conceive a more perfect introduction than our initial lesson at Perisher!
Crackenbback Farm is well located for Thredbo, bushwalking and is also an easy drive to Charlotte's Pass. The Wild Brumby Distillery, within good walking distance, is a top place for lunch and schnapps. Crackenback Cottage Restaurant was closed during our visit.
We enjoyed three excellent dinners at the Farm - homestyle cooking of a high order. Top breakfasts and afternoon teas.
Despite usually staying in self catering places for breaks longer than a weekend we really enjoyed our stay. It was quite social and we met some lovely fellow guests. There were several family groups who also enjoyed their stay.
Crackenback Farm is a unique B&B, not a 5 star hotel with pseudo Tuscan decor. The Farm is a wonderful blend of hospitality, great design, spacious public spaces with lots of character and a terrific fireplace, great food, lovely beds, top local knowledge and a central location in the Snowies.
Another aspect we really enjoyed was being able to take a sauna followed by a relaxing swim after a day skiing or bushwalking. We plan to return in the snow season next year.
Our hosts balanced hospitality and warmth with their guests' privacy. Thank you Butch and Marg for a relaxing and unique break in the Snowies.
Kristen and Jim

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crackenback M, Owner at Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Kristen and Jim,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough and thoughtful review, We would love to see you again next spring, especially now you have a little more experience cross country! Many Thanks, Marg and Butch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night - one adult and two kids. The kids had a fantastic time in the pool, loved the farm environment, and got lost for ages in the maze in the property next door. The room we were given was a double bed with a loft area upstairs, which was ideal. It was very clean and comfortable, with lovely little touches. The three course meal was of gourmet quality, and the kids had a meal especially tailored to their needs. The breakfasts were huge. This place has so much character, the owners are lovely, I'll definitely stay again, and I'll recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evie_wahini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crackenback M, Owner at Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the recommendation, especially for people with children. We have many people that stayed at Crackenback as Children now bringing their children to stay, very rewarding and always lovely to see them enjoying themselves. Thanks again for staying and look forward to looking after your family and any friends again soon. Thanks, Marg & Butch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
12.2 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.6 mi away
Panorama Jindabyne
Panorama Jindabyne
#5 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.2 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse

Property: Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse
Address: 914 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named Best Restaurant in a Guesthouse/Motel - Regional NSW, by the 2015 Restaurant & Catering Awards For Excellence, the charming Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse is located in the beautiful Crackenback Valley five minutes from Jindabyne. The position is perfect for skiing and summer sports at either Thredbo or Perisher, being less than ten minutes drive to the Ski Tube, and only ten minutes further to Thredbo Village. Under new management since 2013, the Glenn Murcutt-designed lodge has six rooms offering every comfort, and a private lounge for in-house guest use only. A delicious Crackenback country breakfast is included. The French country-farmhouse restaurant draws accolades for some of the best food in the Snowy Mountains, with a cathedral-ceilinged main dining room and a well-selected wine list. There is a bar for relaxing before and after dinner. In season the restaurant trades for both lunch and dinner. Crackenback Farm looks forward to welcoming you and your family ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing