We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a family reunion palace”
Review of Pender Lea Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pender Lea Chalets
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a family reunion palace”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Recently we stayed at the Penders Barn which accommodates up to a dozen people. Bringing family in from all over Australia for a reunion, the Barn was perfect. The weather was lousy, the snow 'quite ordinary', but the comfortable and spacious accommodation ensured we were warm. Four bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a great kitchen, spacious dining and open fire were so suitable for us. if we were skiiers, the drying room etc would have been an added bonus. The appliances and fittings are of the highest quality. A little bit of luxury that would have put icing on the cake would be some extra hand towels/washers, and a few toiletries. Accommodation in the Snowies in peak season is expensive. This was not cheap! Well worth the planning to stay there though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
34
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed there in July what an amazing Chalet. Great location and the heated floors and fire place are the best. You cant go wrong with this place if your staying with the family, it has that cosy feel of a family home and i cant wait to go back. thank you so much Julie.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We recently stayed at Pender Lea Chalet's Pender's Barn from end of July to early August 2013. From the moment we opened the door we were in heaven. The atmosphere of the barn is amazing, it is well equipped [loved cooking in the kitchen], enjoyed evenings by the fire [which was well stocked with wood] and with the convenient location we were left to want for nothing at all. The bathrooms are stunning, the house is well heated [the underfloor heating is delicious], there are beautiful windows showing off the gorgeous countryside, wildlife is abundant and for kids the layout of the house is exciting and fun. Before leaving we tried to devise a plan to buy the house so as not to leave! I am sure Pender Lea Chalet's would never sell it, as it's one of a kind, however, if they do they know who to call :)] We will be back annually and already planning our next visit to the Snowy Mountains - a special time indeed. Many thanks Pender Lea Chalet's - see you soon!

Room Tip: If you like a quieter room there are two rooms you access by walking straight ahead from the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWalsh_DLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, NSW
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ( 4 adults, 3 teenagers) stayed in the 2 bedroom chalet and loft. The place was spotless, well equipped kitchen and arriving at 9.30pm when it was -2 degrees walked into a beautifully warm building with a fireplace all set to go. The beds were great the loft a bit squishy height wise but it is after all, a loft and only for sleeping. Great location between Jindabyne and Thredbo and close proximity to Wildbrumby Schnapps Distillery which has wonderful food. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suttonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Four of us (2 couples ) stayed 2nights at Pender Lea chalets in early April. Loved it! Spotless comfortable beautifully equipped duplex in a great location providing easy access to Thredbo and Jindabyne as well as several other resorts. Sauna and spa are great not to mention the fantastic fireplace! Good value for groups (sleeps 7) but maybe a little squeezy with more than 4-5.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeregianAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My friend and I stayed two nights in the Bedsitter, which a nice little studio with kitchen, comfy bed, and a nice outlook over the property.

We booked in for the Alpine lakes walk deal. This included 2 nights accommodation, a guided walk run by Thredbo and a breakfast basket. The basket was fantastic, filled with breakfast items for us to make a huge hot breakfast as well as fruit and cereal, etc.

The room itself was very cosy and had everything we needed, my only qualm would be with the shower which was a little temperamental (going hot and cold).... not what you're wanting after our long walk. Also as the bedsitter is attached to the cottage we were awoken by footsteps and voices coming through the walls and ceiling above.

The property is not hard to find however we arrived at about 7pm in the dark and I think we went up every single possible drive-way before we found the bedsitter, which we only found because the guests in the cottage directed us where to go. There could perhaps be better signage once you enter the property, or clearer directions before you arrive.

Besides that we had a lovely time in our cosy room, and also horse riding on the property. The location is an easy distance to Thredbo and Jindabyne, and just down the road from Wild Brumby Schnapps distillery which had delicious schnapps for tasting and a great place for lunch!

I would stay here again. If I managed to get a bigger group I think the Cottage, Barn or Post office would be excellent to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClmcLaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed at Pender Lea several times now at different locations. I find the property a very good value and some locations outstanding. The Barn is top of the line with a great feel especially in the winter, heated floors are a luxury appreciated after a hard day of skiing. Owners are easy to communicate with and a pleasure to deal with. This is my favourite spot in the Snowy Mountains.

Room Tip: The Barn is outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
6.8 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
198 reviews
9.2 mi away
Siesta Villa Motel
Siesta Villa Motel
#4 of 10 in Jindabyne
104 reviews
5.0 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#3 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
15 reviews
11.3 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Habitat Chalet
Habitat Chalet
#4 of 5 in Crackenback
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pender Lea Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pender Lea Chalets

Property: Pender Lea Chalets
Address: 1056 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crackenback
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pender Lea Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pender Lea Chalets are sited on 2800 acres of bushland adjoining the Koscuiszko National Park, convenient to the skitube and Thredbo Alpine Village, with quick access to the ski slopes and the Alpine country. Lake Jindabyne with its water sports is just minutes away. Have a fishing holiday on our property where the Thredbo River flows deep with a series of pools and running rapids. Thredbo in the summer offers walking tracks, mountain bike tracks, kyacking and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Pender Lea Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing