We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying in Pender Lea”
Review of Pender Lea Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pender Lea Chalets
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have stayed at Pender Lea several times now at different locations. I find the property a very good value and some locations outstanding. The Barn is top of the line with a great feel especially in the winter, heated floors are a luxury appreciated after a hard day of skiing. Owners are easy to communicate with and a pleasure to deal with. This is my favourite spot in the Snowy Mountains.

Room Tip: The Barn is outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 78 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently spent 2 nights in one of the chalets in the bush. I was not aware at the time of booking that the chalet was a duplex. The first night was fine as we didn't have a neighbour but the second night was spoilt by noisy neighbours. A cottage in the bush with noisy neighbours!
The decor is dated and we had to hire linen and towels. I also think a few basics such as tissues, fly spray, tea, coffee and milk would be appreciated. I would look for somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't book a duplex with noisy neighbours !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been using these chalets for skiing and for March long weekends in Autumn for decades. They are great value and a true, test-of-time design. There are a few times during the year where the wear-and-tear is showing. I think the owners must go "all out" for the ski crowd (you even get linen and towels then) but in the off-season, the kitchen equipment, pillows etc are all a bit worn and overused. However, this is a superb location and the chalet designs are excellent allowing for every room to have its own ensuite. We use it for grown-ups during ski season and our Autumn sojourn involves about 12 kids and 20 adults (we book all 4 chalets).

Room Tip: The "uphill" chalets are the bigger ones (3 ensuite bedrooms + single sleeping in loft and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1602Bernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had two fantastic days here out of season, the weather was beautiful and the accommodation far exceeded our expectations, Log fire all set only needed a match, lots of nice wine , lovely people , spa bath with champers, sauna , beautiful food , lots of laughs, want to do it again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret51255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've stayed at one of the Pender Lea chalets (number 4) twice now in the Summer months. We love it and will be back again. There are 3 generous sized bedrooms, ensuite bathrooms, a loft with three single beds, an additional bathroom with spa and sauna, large lounge, kitchen, dining room, log fire. Then there's outside where you'll find a BBQ, park benches and a fire pit with a cooking plate.
The place is very comfortably furnished with leather lounges.
In winter I would be hard pressed to think of a nicer place to come back to at the end of a days skiing. The ski tube station is just up the road and Jindabyne is a 10 minute drive.
In summer Pender Lea makes a great base for fishing, mountain biking or horse riding holidays.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in the Bedsitter, nice and cosy but everything we needed. Clean, well managed, and well appointed. Close to Jindabyne and not too far from Thredbo, but quiet and secluded. Fantastic value for money, we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spay2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the second year we have stayed in the 3 bedroom chalet for our annual ski holiday. It is in a perfect location – 5 minutes from the ski tube and 10 minutes from Jindabyne. It’s very quiet and secluded.

The chalet is well appointed with a kitchen full of all the cooking equipment you would ever need. It has a large fridge, microwave, dishwasher & oven along with plenty of plates, cutlery, glasses and cups. There is a huge spa, sauna, washing machine and dryer. There is a dedicated storage area for skis, boots and helmets and a drying room for ski gear. The dining room seats 10 so everyone can eat together. In addition to the large LCD television in the lounge room, each bedroom has its own wall-mounted LCD TV.

The slate floors of the chalet are all heated and each room can be regulated to suit your individual needs. The massive open fireplace is regularly stocked with wood by the owners so you don’t ever have to worry about running out.

There is plenty of parking directly in front of the chalet which provides for easy unloading of ski gear each day.

We’ll definitely be back again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justlisa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
11.5 mi away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
128 reviews
7 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
1.1 mi away
Crackenback Farm Restaurant & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Habitat Chalet
Habitat Chalet
#4 of 5 in Crackenback
54 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Altitude 1260 Resort
Altitude 1260 Resort
#4 of 4 in Crackenback
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pender Lea Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pender Lea Chalets

Address: 1056 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crackenback
Price Range: $90 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pender Lea Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pender Lea Chalets are sited on 2800 acres of bushland adjoining the Koscuiszko National Park, convenient to the skitube and Thredbo Alpine Village, with quick access to the ski slopes and the Alpine country. Lake Jindabyne with its water sports is just minutes away. Have a fishing holiday on our property where the Thredbo River flows deep with a series of pools and running rapids. Thredbo in the summer offers walking tracks, mountain bike tracks, kyacking and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Pender Lea Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing