We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant accommodation, great location, lovely setting.”
Review of Pender Lea Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pender Lea Chalets
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We took 3 families to Pender Lea and stayed in the Cottage. It was excellent with 3 double bedrooms, a kids room full of bunks, 4 bathrooms, spa, fireplace, and loads of family areas. The house was well-appointed with every appliance we could ever need. Fire wood was abundant and our hosts were wonderful, leaving the key in the door of the cottage without us having to go to reception at all.
The accommodation is perfectly situated only 5 minutes from the ski tube up to Perisher. A great time was had by all, especially our children - living in Papua New Guinea, they had never seen snow before and it was a wonderful experience for them.
The schnapz factory 2 minutes up the road towards Jindabyne is also well worth a visit - I recommend the pear.

Room Tip: Good value in off-peak seaon.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macandmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Pender Lea Chalets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed in Bedsitter for a couple of nights and absolutely loved it. The room was very clean, spacious and cozy with well equipped kitchen.
In the evening we could also watch kangaroos coming from surrounding area close to our chalet!
The only downside is that the chalets are all in quite remote area probably 20 min drive from Thredbo, but we didn't mind that at all and enjoyed our quiet holidays very much!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We have just returned from Pender Lea (we stayed in the Post Office cottage) which made up one leg of our summer holiday. We spent 4 nights in this amazing cottage, feeling a world away from our hectic lives, but with all the comforts you could ever want.

The Post Office was big for all 5 of us - we could sit as a family and play games in the main lounge, or relax in the bedrooms. The kids played outside in the garden and explored, and then there is everything that Thredbo itself offers like walks, mountains, etc.

If only we lived 2 hours away instead of 9, we would come here all the time. A great place, lovely hosts - truly amazing..

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

we stayed in pender lea in December, so during the summer season and we had an amazing holiday. we travelled with extended family, a small baby as well as a small pug! Everyone was close enough to each other in the 3 bedroom loft chalet to still enjoy each others company, but also had the choice for privacy as each room was incredibly well insulated and had a TV. we loved the sitting room with the beautiful fireplace and the quality kitchen. Location is incredibly good, its 10 minutes to Jindabyne, 15 minutes to thredbo. It was honestly the best holiday we have all ever had and Julie and Chris were incredibly helpful with anything that we needed. The cleanliness in the location was spectacular, not a speck of dirt or dust anywhere! Thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a beautiful holiday in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izabella_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Beautiful alpine chalets set amongst forest gives a nice wilderness feel to this place. Chalet was very well appointed with everything you could need! Short drive from Thredbo Village and the entrance to Kosciuszko Park.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeKiwi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed in a park cabin in 2010 and loved it! We had heaps of room, a lovely warm cabin which was actually better then we expected. Huge bed and heated towel rack!

We're keen snowboarders and found that there wasn't a lot of storage for out equipment but because these guys are out of town we weren't too worried about theives. Short drive into Jindabyne for pizza and only 20 mins ish into thredbo for snow!

We'll be heading back here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkyandSeaonHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We spent 4 perfect days at Pender lea - beautiful weather, great accommodation with enough room for 4 teenagers to not get under each other's feet. Built a fire outside each night under the stars, very peaceful and relaxing. Owners are very friendly, efficient and helpful. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C00lie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crackenback
6.8 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
214 reviews
11.3 mi away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
197 reviews
5.1 mi away
Smiggins Hotel and Chalet Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Snowy Gums Chalet
Snowy Gums Chalet
#2 of 4 in Smiggin Holes
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Habitat Chalet
Habitat Chalet
#4 of 5 in Crackenback
52 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pender Lea Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pender Lea Chalets

Address: 1056 Alpine Way, Crackenback, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Crackenback
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Crackenback
Price Range: $101 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pender Lea Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pender Lea Chalets are sited on 2800 acres of bushland adjoining the Koscuiszko National Park, convenient to the skitube and Thredbo Alpine Village, with quick access to the ski slopes and the Alpine country. Lake Jindabyne with its water sports is just minutes away. Have a fishing holiday on our property where the Thredbo River flows deep with a series of pools and running rapids. Thredbo in the summer offers walking tracks, mountain bike tracks, kyacking and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Pender Lea Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing