We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Beer, Cold Welcome.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Pastores

Los Pastores
Reserve with
Los Pastores is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Turre
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Warm Beer, Cold Welcome.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The restuarant is in a stunning location and situated in a lovely building.
However, we found the service not overtly friendly. We only had drinks and Tapas which were not particularly memorable.
Locals seemed to fare better as regards friendliness and service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank annteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    16
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mojacar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“be very careful!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great location, shame about the unprofessional attitude of staff and owner. We had made a group booking for a wedding celebration only to be told last minute that our booking was cancelled - no explanation, no apology. We've still no idea why, despite several phone calls and emails. Be very careful!! Fortunately we were able to re-book our event at the fantastic La Capilla restaurant where the owner and staff were just amazing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pastorescabrera, Owner at Los Pastores, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I would like to clarify the circumstances of this review at my restaurant.
We were asked to supply a wedding reception with canapes, drink on arrival, a choice of starter and 2 main courses for upto 40 persons with limitless drinks and refreshments for a price of 20euros a head.
The customer was informed that this was a totally unrealistic price and the function could not be produced at such a low price.
As a result a booking was never confirmed.
It may be that the customer may have lost something in translation and assumed that a booking had indeed been made,
For a confirmed booking we supply a written quotation detailing the services being supplied on the requested date.
The majority of the staff all speak English and the head chef is English and has worked in many renowned West End hotels in London so I am surprised that there could have been this mis interpretation of the situation.
Our staff are considered to be the most friendly and accomodating which is borne out by the large number of wedding and group parties that we produce and are congratulated on each year.
I am sorry that somehow this mis interpratation occurred but am glad that the customer was able to find a smaller family run restaurant nearby that could accomodate his needs.
However I also understand that it is against Tripadvisor policy to advertise rival establishments in a review so this review is also against their guidelines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightwater Uk
Level Contributor
308 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were staying in Alfaix not far away, and were recommended this by our reception staff. We went for Sunday lunch. The drive there is very beautiful but quite tortuous up a winding road, but the views from the restaurant are stunning. The restaurant was full and it was necessary to book, however the service was good, with no delay in ordering or receiving our food. As it was Sunday the menu had a more limited choice, but all our food was excellent. The set menu on Sunday lunch was incredible value for money, and given the quality of food probably explained why it was so busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were intrigued to try this restaurant due to some very opposing views from reviewers. The drive up is windy, so check that it is open before you go. We were going to go on a Saturday to be told that it was closed for a private wedding party. Also, it is not that well sign posted, so watch for small signs planted in the verges. Once you get there, the view is amazing - so, I would recommend lunch to get full benefit as we did. It is a most interesting quirky place.

There was a bit of huffing and puffing that we had not booked, but a suitable table for the four of us was found on one of the terraces. It was a hot day and shade was a little limited, so hats etc were quite important. A cold tomato soup was packed with flavour and excellent. A prawn pils-pils was very good served very hot. My pizza with prawns was a very good pizza with plump prawns and a hint of chilli. The main cod dish was probably the least inspiring. A good local white wine was just the job.

Our main waiter was full of chat and fun and service was OK, but perhaps a bit slow at times.

This is a place for a long leisurely lunch with friends in an informal atmosphere where the incredible setting and view can be enjoyed. Overall, whilst not perfect, an enjoyable experience and we would certainly go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_mcdowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great view but.....”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Six months ago I would have given this restaurant a much better rating but my recent visit has tempered my praise. It is a pretty restaurant with great views and inside is just as nice when it is too cold to sit outside. But.... The quality of the food is dropping. The service is still good, but I think they are expensive for the quality of the food. Now my starter was nice but then I always have the chicken liver pâté it's my favourite. My husband had the tomato and mozzarella salad. Yuck. Cold tomatoes devoid of flavour with rubbery cheap cheese.
So maybe come for a drink and enjoy the fabulous views, but be warned, the food is a bit hit and miss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahwarrilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Pastores also viewed

Turre, Province of Almeria
Turre, Province of Almeria
 
Turre, Province of Almeria
Turre, Province of Almeria
 

Been to Los Pastores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing