We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40th Birthday Weekend mini vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banning House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2010

This is the nice, quiet side of the island. One lodge, one campground, one restaurant, one store.. you get the idea. Banning house sits high on hill with beautiful views of both harbors. It's the location you are paying for..not a fancy hotel. Staff was polite and very helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was nice, fresh fruits and assortment of toast, bagels, cereal, etc.. No phones, no TV, no internet.... so you can really relax and slow down. Plenty of trails to hike and/or bike (biking is strenuous) so make sure you have a good mountain bike with plenty of gears. Water is fantastic with amazing kelp forest to snorkel or dive through. We saw plenty of sea life in the water. We also saw the two local Bison who graze on the nearby hills and a few island foxes. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palominocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Banning House Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed here last year and truthfully thought we were totally ripped off--way overpriced for the service we got. The owners were surly and I think they are really taking advantage of being the only show in town. Two Harbors is a really cute place and has lovely views all directions, and there's plenty to do--but I would recommend camping or staying at some of the cabins instead of staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SendMeSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We booked our room for late June about 5 months in advance and stayed from Sunday to Tuesday to avoid the crush of weekend yachting visitors, which turned out to be a smart choice. The hilltop location between the harbors was spectacular and our room (#7) was private and had sweeping views. It also gave us a bit of distance from the main building. The king bed was comfy and the staff was very accommodating and responded quickly to our requests. We were able to bring and store perishable food and had a great cook out on the beach. You can also use the kitchen at the inn (microwave only). We had only one meal at the Harbor Reef restaurant (not part of the hotel), which I would rate as okay.

The Banning House is in a remote location so if you're looking for a polished high-end place this is not it. The bathroom was a bit worn and not as spotless as other properties during our visit to Southern California and I think they could use more staff.

Note that swimming is in the boat harbors only unless you kayak (one hour) or hike (7 miles) to other nearby coves. I think this spot is best suited for those interested in outdoor sports and children 7 years and older, who can handle long hikes, jeep rides or snorkel in open water. Our 6 year old had a good time and the staff did recommend a nice uphill hike to some hammocks strung in trees that was the perfect distance. However, we were a bit limited with activities and two nights was plenty for us to just relax before returning to the mainland.

Note: that this hotel is in Two Harbors and Not Avalon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoppityhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We have gone to the Banning House for a several Years now.

They got the Fire Place back online so that is a new plus.

The Banning House and Two harbors for that matter have a unique feel. Relaxed and slower, a perfect getaway from the mainland.

I see some complained about the Breakfast and service,,,,, I have gone there enough to know there is some greater expectation at play there. The staff has ALWAYS been accommodating and helpful.

This place is not like Avalon, and hooray for that. It is something that either hits you in the heart or not.

My only wish is for wifi up there. They have it down at the village, but I would love to surf up on the patio up there in the AM,,,, They say it may be coming.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank losolivosres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

We were determined to bicycle to Two Harbors from Avalon, and Banning House was our only option for a night's rest. To our delight, this inn was wonderfully romantic, quiet and with spectacular views from its high perch. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The continental breakfast was extraordinary. A van was available for transport down to the harbor restaurant/pub, and all the meals there were excellent, including a picnic lunch they made for us. There was a wine and beer selection at the inn. All the water sports were offered on site. What a wonderful getaway. We would recommend this inn to couples, but perhaps not for small children: no TV, phone or computers. Surrounded by nature.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

First off trip advisor has this under bed & breakfast, and it clearly wasn't, they serve a continental breakfast. Everything comes out of a package, nothing is made for you. The location of the Inn is wonderful. It sits on a hill top and you have a full view of both harbors, the beauty ends there.

Once you enter your room though you will be disappointed. There was dust everywhere in the room. The beautiful view from the very large window over looking the harbor in our room was ruined due to grease all over the window with smudges from people writing in the grease. The bed sweaked as if it were a hundred years old. Then when we opened the drawer in the room there was roting food that had been left there by previous guest.

We stayed 3 nights and they never cleaned our room. Once a worker attempted to enter our room without knocking and just walked in on me and my wife. We told he we were leaving and she could clean the room. She said she would be back shortly, she never came. We ended up complaining, to the manager but they just came up with a lot of excuses.

Sadly the Inn is in a wonderful location and could be a beautiful place to stay at, but the staff has ruined all of this due to poor housekeeping and lack customer service. Our advice is to stay in Avalon since this is the only Inn at twin harbors unless your a camper. Avalon has some very nice places to stay and have fun (We also stayed at the Old Turner Inn, and had a great stay would recommend), stay on that side of the island unless you want to be overcharged and unsatisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acoupleacritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Have stayed in Two Harbors other times, but camped. Decided we loved it so much there we would stay a couple of nights in the Banning House and are already planning a return trip for the same time next year. We had room number 6, with a view of the water below. We love Two Harbors, it's like being in another time and away from the hassles of real life.

The staff was so nice and seemed to really enjoy talking with the guests. There is a community feel to the Banning House....a large walk in fridge with wine & beer that you sign out (on an honor system), breakfast in the morning, and social hour on the weekends. You can be as social or as to yourself as you want to be.

I would recommend going in September after Labor Day. We have been during the summer and after Labor Day on several different occassions. During the summer there are a lot more people in Two Harbors (but still not like Avalon). If you enjoy water sports (boating, snorkeling, scuba, etc.) the water is warmest in September!! Free Wi-Fi is available at the bar/restuarant area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eser1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
11.8 mi away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#8 of 20 in Avalon
512 reviews
11.8 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
362 reviews
11.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
295 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banning House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banning House Lodge

Address: 1 Banning House Road, Two Harbors, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range: $149 - $960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banning House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the West End of the island, the Banning House Lodge was built in 1910 as the summer home for the pioneering Banning brothers, who owned Santa Catalina Island. Now a charming, Craftsman-style bed and breakfast, the Banning House Lodge offers sweeping views of the Isthmus of Catalina and Catalina Harbor from its romantic, hilltop perch above Two Harbors A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the charming dining room. Van shuttle service between the lodge and Two Harbors village is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Banning House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banning House Hotel Two Harbors
Banning House Lodge Catalina Island/Two Harbors, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing