We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banning House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Harbors B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of a kind weekend”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

If you want to get away and really relax, the Banning House Lodge is the place. This was our third visit and it was the best ever. The Banning House staff, Sal and Tyler, are very friendly and helpful. They pick you up at the dock when the Catalina Express comes in and drop you off when you are ready to leave at the dock. There is a continental breakfast provided in the mornings and there is sometimes a happy hour in the evenings. This is not a five star hotel rather a hotel with character and terrific views from some rooms-- all within walking distance or a shuttle ride into town. It has become a tradition for us for "alone time" because there are not TVs in the rooms and it is so peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshbabe1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here for the first time five years ago. There was a wedding party, and only one huge room left in one of the side houses. It was cold and windy, and not very clean, but we decided we'd go back one day because we really liked the place in general. This time we stayed in the main house, in a smaller and cozier room. The location of the lodge is spectacular, and Two Harbors is the perfect place for a romantic getaway - no nightlife, no TV, just the sound of seals, maybe the sight of a dolphin or two (not to forget the bison!), beautiful countryside,a handful of interesting people in search of peace and quite, and you and whoever you're spending quality time with. The sunsets and sunrises are absolutely gorgeous and you can even watch from inside the lodge when it's nippy. The lodge seemed cleaner this time around and the furniture, well it's still very used and should be replaced at some stage, but replacing it would take away a lot of the place's charm. I'll certainly keep going back.

Room Tip: The main house is a good good choice if there's only two of you - the side houses have bigger ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I've been coming to the Banning House Lodge each February with a group of quilters since 1999 and have seen the ups and downs of the lodge. The current management, Sal and Tyler are absolutly wonderful and have the lodge running the best I've seen! They cheerfully dote on our group during our stay, which I know isn't an easy job (there are anywhere from 20-30 quilters on the retreat). The rooms are clean and comfortable, with updated furniture and bedding. There are 2 refrigerators and a microwave available to guests. Coffee (really good coffee!) is available all day. A continental breakfast is served every morning, with low carb options. The view from the lodge is the best feature. You are on a hill and look both to the west, toward Cat Harbor, and to the east, looking at the poor, unfortunate soles on the mainland.
The Banning Lodge is one of my favorite escapes.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I went to Two Harbors for the first time last weekend thanks to Catalina Express's birthday deal. Two Harbors is a lovely place, very quiet at this time of year, just locals and a couple of other tourists.

We stayed in room 1. It was quaint, comfortable, and clean - perfect for our stay! There's ample sitting space around the property to relax, read, and take in the beautiful views. The staff are so friendly - when we arrived, Salvador was waiting at the dock with a van to drive us up to the lodge, and then showed us around the property so we could get our bearings.

The daily breakfast, as well as the access to the fridge and microwave, are wonderful to have. One day we missed the lunch hours at the town's sole restaurant, but were able to purchase food from the general store and heat it in the lodge's microwave, thankfully!

The restaurant menu and watersports equipment rental prices are posted at the lodge, so you don't need to walk all the way down the hill to check the price for a kayak or dinner. But if you do like exercise, you'll get a great workout walking up and down the hill between the town and your room!

Overall I was impressed by the solitude, beauty, and tranquility of the lodge and Two Harbors environment - it was so quiet that we could actually hear birds' wings flapping as they flew overhead - I never realized until this weekend that I'd never heard that sound before in my life. It's nature at its finest, without having to sacrifice all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Room 1 (and 2) are right near the van stop and kitchen area, so though we weren't bothered by an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MegMcRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed in the crows nest & loved the bedding & views from private balcony. Staff was knowledgeable of eagles & activities in area. We would definitely stay again. Felt very welcomed by Tyler as host. Just beware Buccaneer days very rowdy crowd shooting cannons.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outciders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

After hiking back from parsons landing and not having showered for a few days this was the perfect ending to the perfect weekend on a girls trip. The views were stunning the rooms were so comforting. The employees were sooo nice and drove us up and down to the little village. I would recommend this place to any couples or friends looking for a quiet stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here. We loved our escape from all the world's stress. The Banning House staff and facility helped make our honeymoon perfect and better than we could have ever dreamed of. From our amazing view of Cat Harbor to the amazingly refreshing water in the shower to the wonderful views at breakfast to laying at the foot of the bed and seeing the stars each night and all things in between make the Banning House an ideal Great Escape. We kayaked, hiked and snorkeled and loved them all and all areas were recommended by the staff at the Banning House.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOPEINAHOOPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Harbors
12.0 mi away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#3 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
11.8 mi away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#5 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel St. Lauren
Hotel St. Lauren
#14 of 20 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#15 of 20 in Avalon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
11.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#9 of 20 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banning House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banning House Lodge

Property: Banning House Lodge
Address: 1 Banning House Road, Two Harbors, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Catalina Island > Two Harbors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Harbors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banning House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the West End of the island, the Banning House Lodge was built in 1910 as the summer home for the pioneering Banning brothers, who owned Santa Catalina Island. Now a charming, Craftsman-style bed and breakfast, the Banning House Lodge offers sweeping views of the Isthmus of Catalina and Catalina Harbor from its romantic, hilltop perch above Two Harbors A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily in the charming dining room. Van shuttle service between the lodge and Two Harbors village is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Banning House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banning House Hotel Two Harbors
Banning House Lodge Catalina Island/Two Harbors, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing