We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting”
Review of K1 by Geoff Hardy

K1 by Geoff Hardy
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Kuitpo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Winestate Magazine Australian Winery of the Year 2012 & 2014. Winestate Magazine Australian Winemaker of the Year 2012. In 1980, Geoff Hardy left the then family company, Thomas Hardy & Sons, to make his own way in the Australian wine world. In 1987, he finally found his ideal site for the production of outstanding cool climate grapes in the Adelaide Hills. The vineyard became known as the K1 Vineyard as this unique, groundbreaking site was the first commercial planting of vines in the Kuitpo (pronounced 'ky-po') region. Today, like his great-great grandfather, Thomas Hardy, Geoff continues to push the boundaries of Australian viticulture in his single estate K1 by Geoff Hardy wines. He and his family also continue their work to make sure that the K1 Cellar Door maintains its reputation as one of Australia's leading cellar door experiences. The natural beauty of the K1 vineyard, together with the 'terrior' and dynamic viticulture by one of Australia's leading viticulturalists, results in ultra-premium, single estate wines. Our cellar door is open on weekends and public holidays and we invite you to stop by to relax and enjoy a glass of wine on the front deck overlooking the lake.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

What a beautiful setting for a winery, 2 storey timber chalet style building on the edge of a lake, simply stunning. A couple of disappointments, I had been here previously as part of a group function and got to taste soem of their different varietals. I bought some interstate friends to experience these wines, but they were not for tasting. The tasting list was limited to the usual Sav Blancs, Rose's and Shiraz's. Would have loved for them to try the Arneis & the Pinot Noir. We stayed for a platter and bought a bottle of the Vognier, which was exellent, platter and wine. my second disappointment was that we were charged a premium for the wine to have with the platter, at the cellar door $25 buy to drink with the platter $40, I understand that they bought it to our table and gave us glasses, but I have not experienced such markups at ellar doors before. Other than those 2 grips the wines were exellent, the staff very courteous and helpful and sitting overlooking the lake with a beautiful platter of loacal produce was a a lovely relaxing experience.

Thank Hagar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K1bygeoffhardy, Director of Sales at K1 by Geoff Hardy, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thanks for the feedback following your visit and for bringing friends from interstate to K1. It’s certainly very much appreciated.

At K1 Cellar Door, at the latest count, we have 19 wines available to purchase and/or taste. This is a number that is significantly above average for most cellar doors. Sadly, given such a high number of wines in such a small, popular location, it’s just not logistically possible or cost effective for us as a small, family owned and operated business to have all 19 open and available for free tastings each weekend.

To keep the visitor experience interesting, we try and provide a tasting experience of the range of K1 wines. Each month, we offer a tasting of a range of white and reds and traditional varieties (such as Shiraz and Sauvignon Blanc) and new emerging wine varieties such as Gruner Veltliner or Arneis which we also produce.

Consequently, we end up with a varied list of 9 wines for visitors to experience free of charge.
During the months of December 2012 and January 2013 the Gruner Veltliner 2012 and Pinot Noir 2010 have both been available for tasting, the latter being a new release and the former on tasting to celebrate our win of a Trophy for the Gruner Veltliner 2012 at the Adelaide Hills Wine Show.

Of the other wines that are not available for free tasting on any given weekend, we offer the ability for those wines to be purchased by the glass (ranging from $8 to $28) so that visitors can relax on the deck with a glass of wine and/or purchase a glass of wine to have with a platter.

We do this as we recognise there may be a specific wine that you might wish to enjoy without the commitment of purchasing a bottle.

Whilst glasses of wine have always been available for purchase, since your visit, and during January 2013, we have introduced a new broader wine list that as well as having the 15 K1 labelled wines available, also has 9 museum wines, 6 wines from our McLaren Vale label – ‘Pertaringa’, and a further 14 wines from our ‘Hand Crafted by Geoff Hardy’ range of wines – wines such as Teroldego, Lagrein, Graciano, Fiano, Primitivo and Dolcetto.

The full range of these alternate varieties is available as a paid tasting experience at our Pertaringa Cellar Door in McLaren Vale. The cost is either $20 for a flight of eight wines or $12 for a flight of four.

Thanks again for taking the time to post and aside from your gripes, I hope you had a great day visiting K1. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your visit further or provide any additional comment on my reply, please feel very welcome to contact me at wine@k1.com.au

Kind regards

Bec Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mclaren vale"
in 9 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 13 reviews
"cellar door"
in 12 reviews
"stunning location"
in 3 reviews
"local produce"
in 4 reviews
"free tasting"
in 2 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 3 reviews
"amazing setting"
in 3 reviews
"adelaide hills"
in 3 reviews
"whites and reds"
in 2 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 2 reviews
"great wine"
in 2 reviews
"dirt road"
in 2 reviews
"driveway"
in 4 reviews
"winery"
in 23 reviews
"dam"
in 4 reviews
"lake"
in 18 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Being a frequent visitor to wineries the rudeness of the 'host' of this one amazed me. I visited with my investment group arriving in a small Mini bus. As the seven of us got out we were immediately told no busses allowed and the. Asked
If we were 'messy'. Had it not been so late inthw afternoon we would have left rather than drink their average over priced wine.

4  Thank vitamind5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K1bygeoffhardy, Public Relations Manager at K1 by Geoff Hardy, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Hi vitamind5

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your experience at K1.

First of all, please accept our apologies that your day out was spoilt by the reception you seemingly experienced on arrival. Your feedback is vital in ensuring that the same experience isn’t repeated.

K1 is a rather small cellar door and is a popular destination with visitors and wine enthusiasts and can often be at capacity with visitors on a weekend. To ensure that K1 is seen by everyone in its best possible light, we purposefully restrict the visitation of buses, coaches and other groups to K1. Indeed, there is a sign at the entrance to the property advising that ‘Buses are by appointment only’.

By planning visits in this way we can ensure that we are adequately resourced to ensure a first class visit and also that the arrival of a larger group doesn’t have an adverse impact on other people’s experience.

As I understand it, we did our best to accommodate your arrival at a time when cellar door was busy and one of our team took you through the wines on tasting.

I’m sorry that the wines didn’t meet your expectations on the day. The wines are recognised by James Halliday as amongst the top 15% of wine labels in Australia with Winestate Magazine recently naming us as their Australian Wine Producer of the Year and Australian Winemaker of the Year for 2012.

We have taken the opportunity to speak with our small cellar door team about your comments and have provided further guidance to them to ensure a similar situation doesn’t occur again.

Finally, I would encourage you to contact me at wine@k1.com.au where I would be delighted to make arrangements for you and a guest to return to K1 as our guest as a gesture of goodwill for your disappointing experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to post. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

Bec Hardy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

One of the most picturesque cellar doors you can come across.Wether you just want a tasting or a bottle and a platter to share on the deck,you can't go wrong.The 5 senses here are catered for,actually I think K1 is good for the soul.To sit with a good red,or maybe the arnais,watch the ducks glide across the lake,taste the local produce on the platter,listen to the silence,or the ducks or your partner saying how relaxing this is.Just go and you can decide weather you'll have a red,a white or both.

1  Thank hairandwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Good food, wine and views
Ënjoyed pre wedding lunch there.
Very friendly staff with good service

Thank labrajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spent a great weekend in McLaren Vale, but was disappointed in the wines for this vintage. Feeling a little disheartened, we headed off to K1 Winery on Sunday morning.
The beauty of the entrance and the surrounds has been perfectly described by others - but you do have to see it for yourself. It is idyllic and a credit to Geoff Hardy and his family and staff.
Wine Tasting: at last, seriously good wines. The whites were all fabulous, great flavours, structure with ample and fresh acid making them perfect food wines. I bought the Grüner Veltliner, Arneis, Reisling,Chardonnay and a great sticky.
The reds - I was stunned by the quality of the Pinot Noir, so balanced and flavoursome, almost savoury, a really well made wine, highly recommended. The Shiraz was equally as good, and it was a huge relief to finally taste a shiraz with layered flavours and depth.
A must visit destination - I also signed up for the Premier Cru Club so that I can get more of these wines.

Thank IanJMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K1 by Geoff Hardy also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
Kuitpo, South Australia

Been to K1 by Geoff Hardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing