We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best asian starter i've ever had”
Review of Tiien Thai

Tiien Thai
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Broadstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best asian starter i've ever had”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

the good;
restaurant - clean (inc toilets) , modern, funky chic, friendly staff, open plan seating
food - a chilli beef salad starter alone would have me return time after time, tender chunky medallion shapes, lightly seared to perfection over a bed of fresh thai salad.
i was out both times with vegetarians and they were very (hardly ever) satisfied with their dishes, which looked fantastic, plenty of colour, and variety of fresh veg with fine rice and clearly not trying to bulk it out on the cheap

the bad;
service can be a slow (eaten there twice now and don't expect main courses to arrive with 50 mins of arriving.....and there was only a few other tables in!)
tables are a little small...so not handy when ordering several dishes for sharing
not a great range of deserts, just the basics....tiramisu, creme caramel and basic ice creams etc
it's tucked away in the back streets of broadstone...so no scenery or after dinner entertainment or night life


the conclusion;
probably the best asian food i've had in dorset, the cons are all so minor (except the waiting time), it can't be knocked down for such a variety of excellent food catering to all tastes (we were a party of young children, adults, meat lovers and vegetarians)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wimborn
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great ambience, delicious food.”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

8 girl friends went on a Friday night to celebrate my birthday. Sadly had cancelled twice due to illness so was really looking forward to finally going. However when we got there the receptionist said that although we had booked she hadn't been able to reconfirm the booking by phone (standard policy for a booking over 5!) Turned out she had written the number down wrong. We had to stand and wait for a table to come available (luckily a another group agreed to move half way through their meal when they heard our plight.) Not offered anything by way of an apology so we just ordered a drink and waited.
I've been to the Bournemouth Tiien so knew the food would be good however we all found everything very sweet at the Broadstone one, so not sure what was going on. Best dish was the squid starter and tempura vegetables.

Easy to park for free nearby, whereas the one in Bournemouth is costly and tricky to park close to. Both restaurants have a lovely feel about them, the lighting and table settings are gorgeous. There's a great wine selection.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pauffleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An exceptional meal from a new venue for us.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We usually go to an indian restaurant for a Friday evening meal but decided to try Tiien Thai as it had been recommended to us by a close friend.

We chose one of the set menus and I have often left Thai restaurants still feeling a little hungry but not this time. Both the quality and quantity of the food were excellent and the service was extremely efficient, especially considering how busy the place was. We will certainly be back, even if it's just to have an ice-cold Singha beer!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent takeaway food”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Fancied a takeaway but no decent ones in Wimborne area in my view so tried the fairly new Thai restaurant in Broadstone latSaturday evening. Can't fault it,not the cheapest but I didn't want the cheapest I wanted good food. Recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pricey !!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Food was ok and service ok, I always find Thai, Chinese, Indian never understand there are ways of giving good service, they work like clock-work people - very sweet, but they don't know how to chat ...Food ok though - alittle on the pricey side!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina6561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiien Thai also viewed

 

Been to Tiien Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing