We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caesars Bistro - CLOSED

Caesars Bistro
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

First visit to Caesars in a few years. Have never eaten there in the evening. Lunch menu has been severely reduced. Service adequate, but not overly welcoming. Asked for white wine, and told Pinot Grigio only available, although Sauvignon Blanc was on the (extremely limited) wine list.

Bangers and mash for lunch on a bitterly cold day. Very disappointing bangers.

Macy Gray on a loop frankly didn't help either. Background music is always appreciated, but alternatives musically would be appreciated.

With Broadstone being so busy, and with one family restaurant closing recently, it seems a shame that Caesars is not making the most of the opportunity. Overall sense of the brown theme is not one of cosiness, rather than a feeling that the whole place needs a rethink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelw0rker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold atmosphere, mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were given a very specific booking time (made us feel it was popular), then we turned up and the place was empty.

The restaurant smelt a bit funny (possibly their candles). Not a great first impression.

The service was just a bit bland and impersonal, given that we were the only people in there. Food was not great, not particularly hot and just...average really. One out of three drinks orders was incorrect (again, not great being the only people in there).

Towards the end of our meal more folk arrived but the place just still seemed to lack feeling. Even some background music would add a bit of dimension.

Wouldn't be tempted to go back unless big change was promoted.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mother's Day lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Thank you Matthew and Clare yet another very special lunch which we were pleased to share with our daughter and son-in-law.
We had soup,roast chicken and vegetables. mushrooms in lovely sauce, salmon with sauce and vegetables, followed by creme brulee, coffee and mints
Always exceptionally good very hot food, great friendly atmosphere and good service, have already been back for breakfast this week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyP1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimborne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mother's Day lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We celebrated Mother's Day at Caesars Bistro. My parents regularly dine here but this was our first experience.

Both my husband and I had the chicken livers for starters, followed by Roast Beef and all the trimmings. I opted for Creme Brulee and Mark had the Banoffe Pie followed by coffee and mints. I have to say not only was this excellent value at £14.95 per head but the food and service was exceptional.

We would certainly recommend the Bistro and look forward to a return visit soon.

Thank you once again.

Julie

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely find on a cold February day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We thought we would do a little walk around Broadstone and needed somewhere for lunch. Caesars was spotted across the road so after a quick look at the menu we went in. Not a big place, but enough seating, making the atmosphere cosy and welcoming. The staff were friendly and polite. I had toasted brie, bacon and cranberry sandwiches with a small side of chips, son has salmon and cream cheese sandwiches and my partner had a BBQ chicken baguette, all were very tasty and presented well with salad on the side. The prices were fair, my only warning is watch the salt cellars, the salt comes out mighty fast and could drown your chips! Thanks for a nice lunch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annem2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caesars Bistro also viewed

Broadstone, Dorset
Broadstone, Dorset
 
Broadstone, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing