We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for biking or walking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Cod Rail Trail

Cape Cod Rail Trail
Ranked #21 of 390 things to do in Cape Cod
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bike path runs 25 miles, from Dennis to Wellfleet.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great for biking or walking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

A lovely activity. There are several bike rental places along the trail as well as places to eat. A great way to get a bit of exercise and get around without having to drive. We biked by cranberry fields and lakes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gertie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    65
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Need a bike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

The trail is great - better for biking than walking - but it would be even better if it went directly to one of the beaches.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RRA03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield
Level Contributor
189 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“See the real Cape Cod”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

When my family gets together and comes to the Cape for the weekend we are now a total of 10 people. One of our favorite activities is biking together on the CCRT. Our ages ranges from 7 months to 69 years of age. Now everyone has their own bike except the baby. Our grandkids learned the courtesy rules of biking on this level and well maintained path; how to ring their bell and say "passing on the right." We have made several fine trips on this path, armed with water bottles and snacks. It's beautiful in all seasons. I love fall the best when the cranberry bogs are in color. We usually begin in Dennis.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gram E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

After going to the Cape for years, we finally rented bikes & rode the bike trail from Dennis to Chatham & back...about 25 miles round trip. It was an awesome experience, even for an amatuer biker like myself. The path is very well maintained and you have views of yards, ponds & even restaurant & ice cream shops along the way. We biked past the end of the trail in Chatham to downtown & had lunch before venturing back. There are a few inclines along the way but the trail itself is mostly flat. You come to a rotary & have a choice to ride the trail to Chatham or Welfleet. A definate must for anyone. If you don't like to bike, many walkers along the way. Bring water along. We did have water but stopped to get another way on the way back, expecting to pay a hefty amount for a bottle from a little shop along the way, but was only charged $1/bottle. Some had backpacks with lunches packed & ate along the way. It's an adventure you don't want to miss.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MissJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We went all the way!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic trail, well maintained with lots of stops on the way for lunch and drinks. A great way to see. Cape Cod for real. We went from Brewster, hired bikes from Benson bikes, and cycled all the way to the top and the coast. We watched a seal surfing on the beach before setting off back down the trail - 45 lovely miles. Great for family or couples.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BluebrookeKatenChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Rail Trail also viewed

 
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Cape Cod Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing