We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice trail”

Cape Cod Rail Trail
Ranked #19 of 427 things to do in Cape Cod
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This bike path runs 25 miles, from Dennis to Wellfleet.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice trail”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

As avid rail trail riders, we really enjoyed this one.. definitely worth it. Great views, lots of places to stop for snacks and bike support and the trails are well-maintained. A bit longer for us than usual, but we may do it again sometime.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    70
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good ride”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is your typical paved over rail trail that's very flat and easy biking. It's well marked & maintained.

Don't get me wrong, there were certain parts that were very scenic, but there's a lot of boring parts too. Maybe I expected too much, but I assumed being on the Cape thought there would be more openings along the trails with scenic views. A lot of it was pinned in by trees.

The trail crosses a lot of roads and most drivers stop to let bikers cross, but ironically a town vehicle blew right threw a crossing and if I wasn't more careful it could have been a problem.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Chooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cape Cod Bike Path”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We got on at Nickerson State Park where they have bathrooms and went all the way down to Arnolds Ice Cream. It was about 7 miles each way and it was mostly flat all the way. I really wanted to make it to the end, but the kids could not. There was not much to look at but it was a great trail and there were a couple spots to go to the bathroom and get ice cream if you need a motivator to keep going.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tkdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Very nice trail”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We came to Cape Cod specifically to ride the rail trails. This was a wonderful trail, paved and well maintained. We were here in the offseason and there were still lots of folks riding. I'd hate to think how busy it is in summer. But everyone was courteous. A real shock to the system to find that drivers here actually stop at the crosswalks. Several opportunities to find food and water and we had a nice lunch at Arnold's in Eastham. Not as many photo opportunities as I was hoping.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowlabmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Miles of trails to explore varied Cape Cod areas”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The rail trail is one of the best ways to see the Cape. It goes past ponds with private mini beaches, fishing ponds, ice cream stands, delis, restaurants, villages like Chatham and Brewster, and of course you come very close to some beaches where you only have to ride down a side road to get to them. Bikes have the right of way where the rail trail crosses the road, but always make sure the cars are stopping for you. It's a great all day activity. Bike rentals are reasonable and some are located right on the trail. Get saddle bags to carry your beach stuff and food/drinks. don't forget the bike locks! The trails are essentially flat...great exercise. Some house rentals on sites like weneedavaction.com list houses right on the trail or within a few minutes ride. The campground Sweetwater Forest in the Brewster area has good access to the rail trail. You can also walk and jog on the trail, of course. It's just a lovely way to take in the spirit of the cape. We learned quickly to yell "on your left" when passing someone....just an FYI for those who don't bike much.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank StandByTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Cod Rail Trail also viewed

 

Been to Cape Cod Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing