We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
29
7
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
7
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubjail alelovely lunchsunday lunchstayed heremandyroastsnug
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 40 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We are in the village for a peaceful holiday and booked our table for the first night here. Well that turned out to be a surprise and luckily a good one. The menu was varied and there were specials to choose from. Our choices were duck spring rolls to start and Venison for our main course. The spring rolls were of a decent size and were full of duck, no added 'bits' to fill them out. The venison was accompanied with red cabbage and creamed parsnip and a fondant parsnip and parsnip crisps. Delicious is what it was. Not only that there was music in the bar as well. The Sunday was a day of BBQ and music outside, and by the looks of things there is plenty of things going on all year round. They have a curry night on Tuesdays and an acoustic music night as well on Wednesday, so we are off to do that too. Well worth a visit as the area has some beautiful walks and places to visit like Buckland Abbey.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Annie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

Booked an evening meal in this busy quaint country pub. Highly recommend booking, this a small inn with not many tables. Service was great, very polite staff and attentive owners.
The starter was potted prawns and cray fish with garlic butter and crusty bread. Unfortunately this was slightly over chilled for service, the butter was too hard and spoiled the texture of the potted fish underneath.
The mains were fantastic, the burger was thick, well seasoned and perfectly cooked. From the specials board was the seafood pancake. This was expertly cooked mixed fish in s creamy white wine sauce inside a crape. A taste sensation.
Deserts were very well thought out and well presented. I would highly recommend their coconut Pana Cotta with rum soaked pineapple and mango sorbet. Well balanced, not too sweet or heavy but tasty and very pallet cleansing.
Although the inn was very busy and quite snug, chef managed to serve our meals quite quickly (although there were a few moments of raised voices from the kitchen from chef to ensure his high standards were met - as entertaining as Ramsey but without the bag language).
A really enjoyable meal, would easily given 5* if it was not for the over chilled starter, but I would suggest that this was a minor error.
I will defiantly look forward to returning to this lovely little inn.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank AndyWatson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy R, Owner at The Drake Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Thank-you for your kind review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

First time here as friends live in the village. Excellent food especially the Caulifower Cheese Soup and fresh bread. Husband had bacon brie & cheese baguette I tried a bit delicious. Friendly helpful staff and good atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank 65driv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy R, Owner at The Drake Manor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Thank-you for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again and you can sample some more dishes from our menu and specials board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2016

Having booked for 1930 we were prompt to arrive and the table was ready for us however when we came to order (within 10 minutes) we were told the kitchen had a lot of orders and there may be a delay. - we got our meal eventually at 2115 and we didn't see a lot of food coming out of the kitchen in that time (we were next to the kitchen door). One of the dishes looked and tasted like it had been kept under the warming light for some time and lacked vegetables of any substance. Busy Saturday nights in the months ahead will not be a time to visit unless they speed up service. A disappointing meal and visit.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank neilpearson2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2016 via mobile

We chose to eat here one evening while staying at The Cider House B&B and were blown away by the food - the pork belly in particular was delicious! We were lucky enough to be dining while the local band were practicing which was great. Lovely little pub with a nice atmosphere, we definitely hope to return one day.

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews