We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea and cakes !”
Review of The Old Vicarage

The Old Vicarage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenstonedale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tea and cakes !”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

You are in very good hands with Bill and Ann, We stayed for one night with no problems. The residence couldn't be closer to a pub for evening meals. We were just about to get into the car when my son laughed and said ''don't bother with the car dad'' the pub was 3 doors down the road.
I have stayed in B&B's throughout the uk over the last 30 years for my job and never been offered tea and cakes on arrival, maybe tea but not cakes as well...so for all aspects 10/10

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our stay, albeit just the one night bed and breakfast, was excellent. Ann and Bill made us feel very welcome and on arrival after a look around and to look at our room, we sat with a welcoming pot of tea and cakes for two. The room and bathroom were beautiful and spotless.
We booked in at the Black Swan for an evening meal, which again we can thoroughly recommend. The food was simply excellent and tasty - both the Old Vicarage and the Black Swan we give top marks !
The only downside to our visit to the beautiful village of Ravenstonedale is we didn't manage to spot a single Red Squirrel !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had planned to stay in Kirkby Lonsdale but are very glad we didn't and found the Old Vicarage instead. We stayed 2 nights. The welcome was very warm and friendly and it was the only B&B we have every visited with a grand piano. Very peaceful location with red squirrels in the garden. Bill and Ann were very hospitable and the home made cake was excellent. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived on Good Friday morning, for a two night stay and were met with the warmest of welcomes by Bill and Ann. The bedroom was extremely spacious and with a large en-suite bathroom, it was perfect for a long soak, after walking the fells.
A superb breakfast was taken, whilst two red squirrels displayed their acrobatic skills in the trees in the front garden.
Ann ensured that we were well prepared for our walks, by provision of a flask and some excellent homemade cakes!
The walking in the area offers endless possibilities and our walk from nearby Hartley to a snow capped Nine Standard Riggs, will live long in the memory.
The Kings Head in Ravenstonedale was our choice for evening meals, with some delicious fayre and attentive service.
In conclusion, Bill and Ann were excellent hosts, with nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here, a bit impromptu as we dropped in at very short notice due to horrible weather putting us off our camping plans. Thank goodness for the rain! Ann and Bill were immediately very welcoming and we were treated to some lovely homemade cake and tea in the living room. The room was lovely, very clean and spacious. We had a delicious meal in the Black Swan, which was a very comfortable short walk away. Breakfast was great and Bill entertained us with some interesting stories! Ann and Bill are brilliant hosts and made our stay truly delightful. We will hopefully be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Ann was a wonderful host and the accommodation was excellent with large room and a great bathroom with a bath that soothed the aches on our Coast2Coast walk. Very warm welcome with homemade cakes and tea, excellent breakfast with choice and great value packed-lunch. Good advice on the evening meal at the near by pub. We would return and is highly recommended. Just to add that we used a taxi from Kirkby Stephen and that was great service as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshirePeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

the other reviewers summed up the old vicarage, and bill and Ann to a tee. Very welcoming, lovely tea and cakes on arrival, and the room .... ?
And then there was the breakfast and Bill's tales.
I almost don't want to recommend this so that there'll be places next time I go up to Ravenstonedale.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravenstonedale hotels
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Greenside Farmhouse B & B
High Greenside Farmhouse B & B
#4 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Ravenstonedale CA17 4NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing