We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$186
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
$82
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveler rating
265
196
57
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
196
57
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reservelambgroupon dealroaring firethe pubbar areaboth nightstwo night staysteak and ale pieeggs benedictcomfortable stayshort breakkirkby stephenroom was clean and comfortablethe ground floorfull englishkippers
Filter
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 555 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We paid £84 for one night B&B booked through bookings.com. We felt this represented ok value for money but would've been dissapointed if we'd paid more. The B&B is housed in a lovely old building but the decor is very 1970's.
We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar. The selection of cask ales was disappointing (2 choices only), especially given the number of local breweries.
The bar had a lovely open fire but it felt a little clinical and not particularly relaxing. At times, so quiet you had to whisper so not to be overheard by other customers.
The food, however, was delicious. Between us we had 1 set meal for £25 and 1 bar meal. Only minor criticism was the cheeseboard - no apparent local cheeses.
The room was basic but comfortable. Not worthy of the £84 price tag, would've been happy paying £64.
Overall, staff were very friendly, food was lovely but lacked atmosphere. The Fat Lamb has the potential to be a wonderful B&B but needs updating.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Our stay at the hotel (overnight 6 and 7 October 2013) was everything we could have hoped for. We arrived in the early evening to a warm welcome and were shown to our room (with en suite facilities). This was well appointed, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had drinks in the cosy bar before enjoying an excellent freshly prepared meal in the restaurant followed by good coffee and more drinks in the friendly bar. We slept well in the absolute quiet of this pretty countryside location and really enjoyed our beautifully cooked full English breakfast next morning before heading out for the day. This experience was repeated on our second day at the inn. The inn is well situated to travel either east to the Yorkshire Dales and County Durham or west to Cumbria and the Lakes, and is very good value for money (especially with an Amazon voucher like we had). We will certainly be recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 27-29 September 2013 with an Amazon voucher so had a really good deal for B&B. Staff are very friendly and obliging and our room no.5 was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was acceptable and the service excellent. Beautiful setting if a little remote.Dogs welcome. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judeperthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just arrived back home after another excellent stay at the Fat Lamb. Paul and his entire staff go out of their way to ensure guests every need is catered for.
The food both at dinner and breakfast is excelent and the quantity sufficent for the biggest appetite.
The beer selection is good with excellent local beers available on draught.
There is also a avery relaxed atmosphere. We are already planning yet another return visit for later in the year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiddulphBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Kirkby Stephen is a lovely so is the surrouding countryside the Fat Lamb let's it down - we stayed on our way to the Lake District we will not stop again at the Fat Lamb unless there is a significant improvement it it - enough said.

Room Tip: From the rooms we saw this is difficult.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BONDINO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews