We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand pub in delightful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It has been said by many before us but this is a very pleasant country pub with a most friendly staff who genuinely wish to make your stay comfortable and friendly. Our room was large and well appointed. The usual hospitality tray was augmented with a teapot and the bathroom was equipped with both bath and shower.
There are two factors which would attract us to this establishment again: they are the accommodating way in which dogs are received and welcomed (especially by the chef who provided our Westie with a warmly received sausage and the licensee who proffered equally acceptable steak) and the delightful staff.
Two walks of three and four miles emanate from the pub and are well worth trying and the adjacent nature reserve is an added attraction.
Our visit was by courtesy of a Groupon offer and represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 536 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 days midweek and despite indifferent weather had a lovely time. The positioning of the Inn is ideal for venturing into Yorkshire as well as Cumbria. We did both the walks suggested by the Inn and also went to Kirkby Stephen, Sedbergh and to The Abbot Hall Gallery in Kendal. We ate in The Fat Lamb on both evenings. We chose to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant and enjoyed the cosiness of the roaring fire and the convivial company.Breakfast was very good and with reference to a previous comment about eggs - I asked and got 2 eggs with my "Full English". Good shower, comfy bed and choice of tea bags- as an Earl Grey drinker this isn't always the case!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missfitz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A traditional country pub with extremely friendly and efficient staff. The accommodation and meals are precisely what one would expect from such a hostelry. Rooms are compact, clean and very cosy with loads of hot water. Good beer, good selection of wines and a wide choice of freshly made meals to suit most tastes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been out doing the route plannning for the Lancashire Automobile Coast to Coast Classic Car Run. The event uses the Fat Lamb as a Control and this year we decided to break or journey be staying the night en route.
Snow was piled high next to the roads but the roads were passable. We were greeted with a roaring log fire and an excellent selection of beers. The evening meal was good with an excellent selection of courses at a very reasonable cost. The soup being a 'no cost' extra on the menu is an excellent idea.
The room was warm and cosy and we spent an excellent night before departing through the ise fields of North Yorkshire on our wa to Scarborough.

Room Tip: The views out over the hills from the front up stairs bedrooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisLee1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here on Sunday and Monday night on a Groupon deal, and I cannot fault the inn at all.
The room was clean, well furnished and nicely decorated with all the facilities you would expect. We had the set menu on the first evening in the restaurant and ate in the bar on the second evening. Both meals were delicious and served by friendly, attentive staff. The full english breakfast on both days was just the perfect size for me, and there was cereal, yoghurt and fruit available if we wanted it. Despite the cold weather, we followed one of the walks from the inn, as outlined in a leaflet provided, and had a lovely look around the local area. The Landlord was full of interesting facts and was very helpful. We will definitely be back, as two nights was just not long enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed on a groupon offer last Wednesday and Thursday night. The weather was cold, but our room was warm and cosy, if a little dated in style. The bar area was welcoming and staff, although mainly young, were keen to please. We had a pleasant meal included in the deal, on our first evening, but ate in the village on our second night. Cooked breakfast was fine, but agree with previous guest that 1 poached egg on dry toast did not seem an attractive alternative. Location is rather remote but lovely views of fells from all windows.

Room Tip: We were given very small room over kitchen and noisy ventilation fan at first, but receptionist very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (Tuesday and Wednesday) as part of a Groupon deal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in a ground floor room, with disabled access. Although we didnt need disabled access the room was spacious which suited us! The hotel is cosy and warm and the evening meal was delicious. Our bedroom was newly reburbished, spacious and warm with underfloor heating in the wet room!
Our only point for improvement would be the breakfast. The full english was a little lacking and on the second day my husband only recieved 1 poached egg on his poached eggS on toast!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 748saraht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
10.9 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
11.7 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
226 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Temple Sowerby
229 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Address: Crossbank, Ravenstonedale CA17 4LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range: $128 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Ravenstonedale
Country Inn Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen Country Inn
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing