We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Roaring Fire and Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have been out doing the route plannning for the Lancashire Automobile Coast to Coast Classic Car Run. The event uses the Fat Lamb as a Control and this year we decided to break or journey be staying the night en route.
Snow was piled high next to the roads but the roads were passable. We were greeted with a roaring log fire and an excellent selection of beers. The evening meal was good with an excellent selection of courses at a very reasonable cost. The soup being a 'no cost' extra on the menu is an excellent idea.
The room was warm and cosy and we spent an excellent night before departing through the ise fields of North Yorkshire on our wa to Scarborough.

Room Tip: The views out over the hills from the front up stairs bedrooms are excellent
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisLee1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 525 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here on Sunday and Monday night on a Groupon deal, and I cannot fault the inn at all.
The room was clean, well furnished and nicely decorated with all the facilities you would expect. We had the set menu on the first evening in the restaurant and ate in the bar on the second evening. Both meals were delicious and served by friendly, attentive staff. The full english breakfast on both days was just the perfect size for me, and there was cereal, yoghurt and fruit available if we wanted it. Despite the cold weather, we followed one of the walks from the inn, as outlined in a leaflet provided, and had a lovely look around the local area. The Landlord was full of interesting facts and was very helpful. We will definitely be back, as two nights was just not long enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed on a groupon offer last Wednesday and Thursday night. The weather was cold, but our room was warm and cosy, if a little dated in style. The bar area was welcoming and staff, although mainly young, were keen to please. We had a pleasant meal included in the deal, on our first evening, but ate in the village on our second night. Cooked breakfast was fine, but agree with previous guest that 1 poached egg on dry toast did not seem an attractive alternative. Location is rather remote but lovely views of fells from all windows.

Room Tip: We were given very small room over kitchen and noisy ventilation fan at first, but receptionist very...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (Tuesday and Wednesday) as part of a Groupon deal. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were in a ground floor room, with disabled access. Although we didnt need disabled access the room was spacious which suited us! The hotel is cosy and warm and the evening meal was delicious. Our bedroom was newly reburbished, spacious and warm with underfloor heating in the wet room!
Our only point for improvement would be the breakfast. The full english was a little lacking and on the second day my husband only recieved 1 poached egg on his poached eggS on toast!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 748saraht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed mid week for a 2 night stay, using Groupon voucher. The log fire is very welcoming, especially on the colder days. Warm bedroom, comfy bed, very friendly staff, food excellent.
This hotel is ideally placed for some lovely walks and is a good dog friendly hotel. Would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Fat Lamb 22nd-24th March ,using a groupon voucher ,The weather was really bad,but we fought our way through after receiving an update of the weather from the excellent staff at The Fat Lamb The room we had was spacious and very clean,the food excellent and the general ambience of the place fantastic .The roaring log fire was a highlight and The F....N Whisky made me realise what a wonderful place to be snowed in is The Fat Lamb,it is also ideally placed to walk to Ravenstonedale,where there are two excellent Pubs.We Will Return,thank you all once again The bar area is a good place to start when visiting The Fat Lamband it is ideally placed to visit the main tourist places of Cumbria and North Yorkshire

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pineridgevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We got caught up in the March snows when we were here but what a relaxing experience it was! The staff were unfailingly helpful ( my husband is in a wheel chair) and always cheerful but also entirely professional. So, although the week became like something reminiscent of an Agatha Christie play, we wouldn't hesitate to go back. Weather permitting of course!

Room Tip: For wheelchairs the rooms at the back are better...views good
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahrose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
11.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,627 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Temple Sowerby
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Address: Crossbank, Ravenstonedale CA17 4LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range: $128 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Ravenstonedale
Country Inn Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen Country Inn
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing