We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tufton Arms Hotel(Appleby-in-Westmorland)
$140
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone House Hotel(Hawes)
$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
258
196
57
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
258
196
57
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature reservelambgroupon dealroaring firethe pubbar areaboth nightstwo night staysteak and ale pieeggs benedictcomfortable stayshort breakkirkby stephenroom was clean and comfortablethe ground floorfull englishkippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 548 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just got home after a couple of nights at this lovely country inn. We booked it on a Groupon deal and it was fantastic value for money. Our room was perfect for the length of our stay. It was spotless and nicely furnished. Breakfast was of a great standard with plenty of choice. We opted for the £25 per head table d'hote option of evening meal. The food was excellent from beginning to end. There is also a very good bar menu available. The staff and management at the Fat Lamb give great cutomer service. Nothing is too much trouble for them - even if you are staying on a bargain deal. The location is stunning and a great base to explore Cumbria of North Yorkshire dales and moors. The nature reserbe belonging to the inn is well worth an explore. If you do it on a cold day like us the open fire in the bar is a joy to go back to - if its not being hogged by the dogs that have staked a claim to it. I have no hesitation in recommending here for a relaxing break and will definately go back.

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms have wonderful views where you can just sit and watch the world go by.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col123-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Now that our grandchildren have reached the dreaded teens, we decided to have a break without the family and chose The Fat Lamb as it has disabled facilities on the ground floor. The programme seemed to be more orientated towards adults as well. The ground floor room was more than adequate for our needs and there is a fire exit door that can be opened (with prior permission from the landlord) to enable the luggage to be brought in via the back entrance instead of lugging it through the pub itself. There was a very welcoming log fire to greet us and a glass of mulled wine and mince pies. The staff put themselves out to be very helpful and friendly towards everyone and for one couple, both in their wheelchairs, this was their tenth visit. Other guests were also repeat customers. The menu was very varied with food to suit everyone's tastes and excellently cooked. At Christmas Day lunch we all sat at two large tables and an outside guest thought we were a group of friends due to the laughter and jolly atmosphere that prevailed. The Fat Lamb provided a surprise gift for all comprising a Christmas tray with lots of well presented goodies in it. The programme included carol singing, a visit to a panto, a visit to a wonderful small family run wild life zoo and evening entertainment. The downstairs disabled adapted rooms have a bathside grab and a grab rail to the side with a shower the other end. They provided a bath board for the bath and also later a suction grab handle as we had forgotten to bring mine. They take newspaper vouchers so you can have your morning paper delivered to the breakfast room. The breakfasts were excellent and really set you up for the day.

Room Tip: If disabled, ask for a ground floor room and they are a good size. We had room 12 which was right at the end so we did not hear any bar noise when we retired.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeglegofSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

a nice 2 night stay
a really comfortable room and a nice relaxed bar,only the meal was a let down and very over priced for the quality, though the breakfast was nice.
we found the Black Swan nearby a lot better for a meal

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrell Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were stopping overnight here, as one of our "Britstops" for motorhomes... free parking. The location is beautiful and remote, and we checked in with management and got information on a walk over the dells. As i have a GPS, I can say this was 4.25 miles.... and whipped up a fine appetite! The beer was well looked after and courteous service. We had a simple meal of macaronni, and this was delicious, generous portions. The dining room was spacious, and there were several guests staying in the Inn. It is a comfortable old establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We used the groupon deal for 2 nights with the dog, absolutely brilliant value at this wonderful quaint cosy hotel.

Even though the weather was terrible, worse rain ever, we still managed a walk, then got back to the hotel in front of the roaring fire with our afternoon tea & scones.

Food is very nice and fresh, we ate in the bar not the restaurant so the dog could sit with us.

We stayed in room 6 which is at the front of the hotel with lovely views of the sheep and the hills. Room a bit small but adequate with a king size bed, very comfy.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews