We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
In the hills
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Real Deal!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

.
What a find - a proper, English Inn run on modern lines with traditional values! We stayed at the Fat Lamb for a short walking break as it was ideally located for the area we were interested in. A little bit of a gamble, being relatively isolated, but one that certainly paid off.

We arrived on Sunday afternoon to a smiling receptionist, a clean bar, a real fire and a perfect pint. Throughout our stay (three nights), all of the team were genuinely friendly and helpful. The food was marvellous, the service excellent, and our room comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the great breakfasts and mouth-watering evening meal options.

The location tends to leave you as a captive audience if you want a drink in the evening, but this is certainly not exploited. The food and drink prices are good value, particularly when the quality and service are taken into account, and there are a range of options and prices to suit most people. The room rates are on a par with many in the area and are fairly reasonable.

Conversations with fellow guests all indicated a common enjoyment of the Inn and we've marked this gem as a spot to revisit when next walking in the area. Definitely recommended!
.

Room Tip: . Rooms above the bar and restaurant look over the car aprk onto the Fells. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutlanderUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    180
    53
    24
    13
See reviews for
65
328
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A lovely old English pub. The staff can't do enough to accommodate and I really cant recommend the food highly enough. Being where they are they have a captive audience and so could take the easy options but this really isn't the case. Beautiful meats and home made fare. Yuuuuum.A place with the best of traditions, a coal fire and nice staff. The bedrooms are clean and comfy if the decor is a little outdated. The bathroom was modern with piping hot water!
It really is nowhere near anywhere else, and yet only a 10 minute drive to the next town and around half an hour from the bigger lakes & towns. We would fully recommend it to walkers and non walkers alike. We used a groupon deal but the ordinary value is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobomiddletonbotox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a lovely 2 day Groupon break, absolutely fab!This included Afternoon tea on arrival,this was scrummy with sandwiches, salad and coleslaw,and homemade scones, caked and biscuits.
Two nights bed and breakfast,and if dining from the £25.00 per head menu you got a bottle of house wine thrown in for free! No brainer really!
The staff, the food, everything was perfect.Tried the bar food,brilliant with plenty of choice as was the menu at £25.00 per head.All cooked and presented to perfection.Breakfast was fab with very good quality produce.Lovely staff who were more than helpful and cetainly made our stay very enjoyable.
We will return again when we are able to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toots70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Fat Lamb this week, some 14 months since our last visit. The warm welcome was still the same but the bedrooms and bathrooms had been fully refurbished with new furniture and attractive decor. The two night autumn break offer was great value and the variety of menu available gave us pleasant decisions to make. We'll be back in the spring.

Room Tip: Rooms 3 to 6 have fabulous views of the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We bought an excellent deal for the Fat Lamb via Groupon and finally took it up this weekend. The Fat Lamb is buried in the depths of the Cumbrian countryside - its location is completely gorgeous and our first floor room looked out on to sheep wandering happily in the hills opposite. The deal was two nights bed and breakfast, with afternoon tea on arrival. We'd expected a pot of tea and a scone, but out came sandwiches, freshly baked scones with jam and cream on the side, buttered rich fruity loaf, home-made shortbread and a home-made cupcake! We took it in the very cosy bar of this 17th century inn. After taking a walk around the Fat Lamb's own nature reserve - and making friends with the resident pony, Tarquin (we took him some carrots the enxt day and he was thrilled), we retired to our lovely room for a rest before dinner. We took the restaurant up on the offer of a four course dinner for £25 with a fre bottle of house wine - we opted for rose, which was very good indeed - but we took our meal in the bar, which has a range fire and is very atmospheric. The meal was great and the company in the bar very good. Two couples had brought their dogs with them, which is a nice feature for dog owners (not us - ours can't sit still for a minute in company). We slept very well and the next morning took breakfast in the restaurant. The buffet supplied fresh fruit, cereals, yoghourts, fruit juices and the best prunes I've tasted in years. Hot food was cooked to order and my scrambled eggs were good. The second night we knew we couldn't eat the four course deal, though the menu changes each day and looked excellent that night. Insead, we ordered a main course each and I chose one of the night's specials - fresh mackerel fillets with a tomato dressing, served with potato salad. It was outstanding. We shared a sticky toffee pudding with whipped cream and staggered off to bed. The Fat Lamb - I'd go back there any day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenFNafplio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our room (3) was good but en-suite bathroom door could not be bolted due to dropped door. Staff noted this for remedy.
Breakfasts and evening meals were satisfactory simple fare, but overpriced. Prices for breakfasts and desserts were not stated.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is ok, but I was embarrassed by what I recieved from the bar food menu.
My wife and I ordered sausage baguette from the bar, we were then asked what kind of sausage we would like and given 4 options, my wife ordered Cumberland and I ordered lamb and mint. When they arrived my wifes was very appealing and the approx 6 inch baguette was stuffed with Cumberland sausage, whereas my 6 inch baguette had ONE 3 inch sausage sliced along the middle putting half a sausage in each half of the baguette. The owner came across to ask if everything was ok, at which point I opened the baguette and showed him this. He then said ok I will go and see the chef (he did not have a look of embarrassment or disappointment, which I thought he really should have if he cared). He returned 5 minutes later with half a baguette with a decent amount of Cumberland sausage in it, placed it on the table, turned around and walked off. I had ordered lamb and mint!!!. After seeing his lack of care, I decided that it was pointless complaining, ate the baguette and left the bar, never to return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountain2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
11.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,553 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
525 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: Crossbank, Ravenstonedale CA17 4LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Ravenstonedale
Country Inn Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen Country Inn
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing