We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, good service, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

we enjoyed our stay here for one night. the inn was decorated in a traditional/tasteful manner. the room was really clean and comfy with everything we needed for a lovely stay. we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine and a pint of ale for £60. the meal was delicious-great choice and everything tasted amazing. nice big portion sizes and service was quick and friendly. we were very happily surprised at how much we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return!

Room Tip: i think our room was over the kitchen (room 2). we could hear faint sounds of activity below but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahishappyforhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 531 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I were so lucky to be away on the best weekend for weather in May. It made our stay at the Fat Lamb perfect. If you want to 'get away from it all' for the weekend this location is great there is nothing but countryside and wildlife around. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and pleasant. The food in the restaurant was excellent, just what you need after a day on the fells. Also a great beer garden, its good to relax after a long walk with a couple of pints of real ale in such a great setting. We have recommended this hotel to a number of our friends and work colleagues.

Room Tip: Just leave it to the hotel all rooms have been redecorated in the recent past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night, and the inn is obviously a very old building and you can't expect everything to be sharp and modern. But the room was comfortable and clean and had everything you wanted, including nice coffee making facilities with biscuits and toiletries in the bathroom.

We decided not to eat here in spite of the good reviews largely because the restaurant is completely separate from the pub and looked quite souless and empty - but that may well have been just because we were there on a quiet Thursday night. We decided to eat at the relatively near Black Swan, and that we very good, worth considering.

But the owners were very friendly and helpful and from other good reviews this inn obviously has benefits.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask not to be over the front door (room 3) - it bangs whenever people go in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayellbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

A fine Inn situated within lovely countryside offering comfortable accommodation with friendly, attentive service. Good ale and excellent food whether served in the restaurant or in the bar. Many of the fellow guests were repeat visitors. We may well be joining their ranks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Me , my wife and our dog had a great walking weekend in this lovely unpretentious laidback country inn where the food was very nice ( but maybe cut the 4 course to a 3 course for us food lovers on a diet ) , rooms very comfy and staff friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was our fifth visit, the rooms are very comfortable and the food excellent, and a good draft beer.The staff very helpfull, we really cannot fault it. the afternoon tea is really something else, the best we have ever had - don't try it if you are on a diet!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed as a couple with our dog Jack, for 5 nights in mid May. Paul the owner and his entire team made our stay one of the most enjoyable hotel visits we have had anywhere in the UK, we are already planning a return visit.

The menu was different each evening and the food was excellent throughout our stay .

The Black Sheep beer was also excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiddulphBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
10.9 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
11.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,659 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
223 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Temple Sowerby
226 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Address: Crossbank, Ravenstonedale CA17 4LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range: $130 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Ravenstonedale
Country Inn Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen Country Inn
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing