We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXELLENT,10/10. For it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXELLENT,10/10. For it all”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Me and my family have had the most enjoyable stay at the fat lamb, food was scrummy even my two young children ate the lot my eldest loved the lamb henry.the staff were helpful and very welcoming nothing was to much trouble.it has a lovely garden and nature reserve we had a wonderful time exploring with the children they could not have been happier,we will definatly be back in the summer holidays :-)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    174
    52
    24
    13
See reviews for
64
320
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We have just had a lovely 2-night stay at the Fat Lamb. Before we left home I looked at previous reviews and wondered if we would regret our stay. We are delighted that we didn't let ourselves be swayed by some of the less complimentary reviews.
We are both disabled, one wheelchair user and one with mobility problems. We found that nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly, polite and eager to help. When booking, we were advised to park at the rear of the building so that we would be nearer our room.
For some meals we used the dining room and for others the bar. At our reserved table in the dining room the considerate staff had already taken away a dining chair so that the wheelchair could easily go into its place. The menu for breakfast, lunch/dinner is varied; food is served freshly cooked and the portions are generous. It tastes very good, too!! Some family members travelled 60 miles to join us for lunch one day and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.
The busy pub is cosy; we would love to have seen the fire lit in the ancient range but it wasn't cold enough!!
All the furnishings, including the bedroom furniture, have been well-loved and some seen better days, but we understand that refurbishment is an on-going project. We both felt it was like a home-from-home and we were spoilt, just like we would be if visiting a favourite elderly aunt.
Around every corner in the public rooms there are plenty of ornaments and decorative plates and objet d'arts, which make good talking points.
If you want to stay at an expensive impersonal town-centre hotel where you are just a number, don't stay here. If you want to be surrounded by lovely countryside and treated as a respected member of the family or a good friend, you will be made more than welcome.
For those disabled people who may read this, before you book ring up and discuss your needs as we believe equipment to help you, hoists, etc, is available.
We look forward to visiting the Fat Lamb again to enjoy good ale, good food and a good atmosphere.
Thank you everyone at the Fat Lamb.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vectis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

This was my 5th time at the fat lamb inn, the last visit being 1992. I was disappointed to see that everything was exactly the same as it was 20 years ago! The location is by far the attraction as the shabby interior let's the side down, it really is in need of a long overdue makeover! The rooms don't have showers which is particularly odd seeing as most people need to wash their hair, they do have baths however. There were old tissues under the beds and fluff around the legs of the dressing table where the cleaner had obviously missed. Plus the valance on the bed was dirty as was the velour headboard. On a positive note the staff were very accommodating when we asked to change rooms to the only room which had a shower and the food was excellent . I always had fond memories of this place as i got married from here but unless they dont spend some money on the place and give it a much needed vamp, I wont be going back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shur1ee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowbank, Owner at Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Since this review the bedrooms have undergone a complete renovation and redecoration programme, including furniture and soft furnishings, and we have now installed modern power showers and replaced all bathroom carpets with new floor tiles as per current guest expectations (and they are indeed more practical).

We were aware that the Fat Lamb, after thirty plus years in our ownership, was in need of attention, as the style of the hotel which was set up many years ago had been retained slightly beyond its sell by date. While we have always strived to maintain the level cleanliness and good service in the Fat Lamb (and so are disappointed to see that things were not perfect with the state of this guest’s room), the amenity level and décor had clearly fallen behind the times, so we accept the criticism left by this guest for the honesy advice it is.

We are only sorry we weren’t able to complete these works sooner. Major refurbishment does require a lot of planning, not just in cash flow terms but in managing quite disruptive works. New power showers all round required a completely new plumbing infrastructure to cope with the extra flow rates, and replacing old lath and plaster walls and ceilings is a very messy business.

Our core strengths of good home produced food and friendly service, coupled with our newly refurbished facilities, will I hope encourage this customer and others like her to return once again to the Fat Lamb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

On a last minute weekend away with friends we booked in to the Fat Lamb. After reading the current reviews on here I was somewhat worried but I have to say that everything about our stay was wonderful. The Fat Lamb is charming and the food is amazing. Yes it isn't one of these modern Hilton-esque hotels that has just been newly refurbished but it is what it is...a country inn where the staff are helpful and want to make sure you have an enjoyable stay. The sticky toffee pudding here is the best I've ever tasted...do not miss out on that! We wanted a relaxing weekend away with good friends and good food and that is exactly what we got. I would highly recommend the Fat Lamb and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyj603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed at the Fat Lamb in mid June 2011 and had a very enjoyable stay! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and provided great advise or what to do around the area and the best places to go, as well as providing excellent service whilst we stayed at the Fat Lamb. Overall i would have to say we had a very pleasurable stay, the rooms were of a very good standard, clean and tidy. It was great value for money and i would definately recommend it to anyone staying around the area!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloise_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Fat Lamb is very much in need of updating - not to spoil its olde-world-ness because it is very old and characterful but the carpet in the bar area is dirty and fraying and the bar seating is very uncomfortable. Basic stuff was not done, like cleaning into the corners of the rooms, (our bathroom had spiders webs and an accumulation of dirt in the corners around the toilet), dusting the dead flies off the windowsills and watering the indoor plants which were all brown and dying. This might seem like nit-picking but I am really trying to give an honest review.

It is set in a beautiful location, with good access to both the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales and the food was very good indeed - plenty of choice for all tastes - the food would be improved by serving it on hot plates. When you are a slow eater, your food (however good it was to start with) is spoiled by being stone cold by the time you are half-way through. The residents lounges are very uninviting, with chairs placed around the edges of the room like a waiting-room. The Nature Reserve was neglected and the bridge to the pond was collapsed and rotten, so you could not access much of it. The outside areas had nice seating, but were spoiled by an accumulation of debris and untidiness.

The bedrooms are basic, and warm, but the wardrobes were all dusty inside and the beds (well mine was) really lumpy, although our companion said theirs was very comfy. The plumbing was a bit hit-and-miss and there were leaking taps everywhere, in the public loos and the bedrooms. I was not impressed by having only a grubby-looking terry-towel to dry my hands on in the public bar toilet - surely paper towels or a dryer would be more hygienic.

The Inn has rooms on the ground floor, with reasonable wheelchair access. However, the corridors and corners were very tight for turning. There are no walk-in showers, only showers over the bathtub, so if you can't climb in and out of the bath, you can't take a shower.

The staff in general were quite friendly and helpful but we were a bit put out when we left that we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay, hope you come again, wished a good journey, etc., just give us the money and go sort of attitude. Lots of little things like this all combined to make it so we could not recommend this Inn to anyone - sorry.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunscreen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Arrived at the Fat Lamb tired and hungry. Given keys to a room, it smelled fusty and the decor dated bed clean but uncomfortable no shower. There was a shower head on the bath for use when washing hair etc. Not enough bath creme or shampoo. Nothing replaced at all. Dirty towels left refolded for our whole stay which was disappointing.

Found it difficult to get up the stairs with heavy case. No one around to help. Found that for the money I was paying, the service could have been better. It is very overpriced it really is.

The food good, but I have had better. Food was brought to the table but vegetables failed to materialise and we had to keep asking for orders. I found one or two members of staff very unhelpful and unfortunately the owner is very condescending and unwelcoming. I couldn't have cared less perhaps he does not realise just how rude he can be..... He is a bore.

Room Tip: B&B with only saving grace being location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porkypig10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowbank, Manager at Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
We are sorry that this customer did not enjoy their stay at the Fat Lamb - certainly in regard to their comments about the decor and amenity in the bedrooms we would have to agree they were due for an overhaul, which we are happy to say is now well underway (including fully refitted bathrooms with power showers and newly tiled floors).

As for the other feedback about the poor service we can only say that we strive to provide the highest level of care at all times and are successful in the vast majority of cases. We realise that it can only take a few things to go wrong to spoil an otherwise pleasant experience, and that seems to have happened in this case. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest service so feedback like this is valuable to us.

In regard to the comment about the owner's condescending manner and being a bore, this is of course upsetting but we appreciate that guests who are not having a good experience at the Fat Lamb are likely to have a negative perception of the people there - please be assured that we all work very hard to be as welcoming to our customers as we can, and to help out in any way to make a visit more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
10.9 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
22.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
3.0 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant

Property: Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Address: Crossbank, Ravenstonedale CA17 4LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Hotel Ravenstonedale
Country Inn Kirkby Stephen
Kirkby Stephen Country Inn
Fat Lamb Country Inn And Restaurant Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing