We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”
Review of King's Head

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King's Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have been eating here once or twice a month for the last couple of years, either in the evening or a Sunday lunchtime. It's a very busy pup/restaurant but the staff are excellent, always cheerful and happy to help. The food is superb, we have never been disappointed, it is always well presented and equally delicious. We always have a pudding even if full as they are just divine. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Midge97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    47
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
99
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Cannot comment on the Hotel side of the King's but for the food alone it is well worth a visit! Twice I have eaten here and have not been disappointed. Everything we have selected from the lovely menu has been delicious. The lamb is perfection on a plate! It is not too expensive and the staff are lovely, happy and helpful. If you are looking for good food, pleasant surroundings, cheerful staff look no further than the Kings' Head.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraB015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We last visited in 1997 & enjoyed a nice meal in a typical local inn . What a transformation !!!!
Situation the same -- lovely river , pleasant village but after a lengthy closure a marvellous new
interior has been created.. The designers are to be congratulated for creating such a lovely ambiance; the colour schemes are most attractive , the seating comfortable, the furniture attractive but the spirit of the old pub has been very cleverly retained as is confirmed by the number of locals enjoying themselves . Our bedroom & bathroom were immaculate & so well
designed ; the bed was very comfortable so a perfect night's rest was assured .
We enjoyed 2 dinners with excellent service in an atmosphere that was buzzing . 23/4 Aug13.

Room Tip: No6 is the largest . All rooms are furnished to a very high standard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonh363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is very difficult to book good accommodation with food for one night over a weekend in August. To be honest The King's Head was not our first choice but we were certainly not disappointed.
Our room was slightly small but comfortable clean and well equipped, as was the bathroom. Anyone of above average height might struggle though with the bath and shower.
We had booked Dinner, the menu having a mixture of usual pub grub with some more adventurous dishes. We greatly enjoyed the Stilton panna cotta, just the right wobble, and managed to share a salted caramel and chocolate tart.. not for the faint hearted.
Service was good despite the restaurant being full, if anything a trifle speedy, Minor quibbles were dealt with quickly and when coffee was not strong enough it was replaced without charge.
Breakfast was again of high standard, all the staff we met being friendly and helpful....
Only one word of warning.. rooms at the back face the church across the playing field and the bells keep going all night. Might trouble light sleepers.. unless like me you bring earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Chanced upon this place and its delightful location. It had some lovely features and would be delightful base for a quiet weekend. As it was we just stopped for a meal and ended up having the best steak we have ever tasted. Our 22 month old was delighted as for the first time in a while she cleared her plate! Unfortunately its a little way away for us but we will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mjk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across this lovely pub on the way home from Beamish and what a marvellous place the food was outstanding and the service was faultless so helpful. We went in 6.30pm with a hungry toddler who was entertained by the toys and jigsaws in the corner (a fabulous idea, wish more pubs/resturants did that) and then when her food arrived she ate every bite. My husband and I ordered steak I went for the sirloin my husband ordered the rib eye, both were cooked to perfection medium rare as ordered. Was a tad over priced but we where more than happy after such wonderful food and service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kettlewelfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The King's head was recommended by our band B owners in Kirkby Stephen: we are so glad they did. the food was top quality; we had the soufflé to start, the hake on cassoulet and wild mushroom pancake. Leave room for desserts as the cheesecake was gorgeous. The staff couldn't have been more helpful; we had booked in advance (we'd just booked the wrong, neighbouring pub) and squeezed us in to avoid our disappointment. They even 'phoned the other pub to cancel our unwanted booking for us! they were delightfully informative about the menu and were very pleasant. It made the whole experience very enjoyable. We popped back for lunch the next day which we enjoyed in beautiful surrounds by the river. Would return at the next available opportunity.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ljletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
443 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Brough
The Inn at Brough
#1 of 3 in Brough
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Low Hall Country House Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head

Property: King's Head
Address: Ravenstonedale CA17 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King's Head, Ravenstonedale, is everything a good pub should be: warm, friendly and welcoming both to the local community and to visitors alike. The King's Head is a place to relax and unwind over a drink or to enjoy a meal, freshly prepared from locally sourced produce. There is much to enjoy nearby including the upper Eden Valley, the Howgill Fells and beautiful rolling Cumbrian countryside. Our 6 en–suite bedrooms offer an ideal base for an overnight stay or an extended break. All our rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, flat screen TV and free WiFi. Our aim is to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with excellent food and drink, comfortable accommodation and friendly hospitality. The King's Head is situated between the Lake District National Park and the Yorkshire Dales National Park and is therefore an ideal base from which to visit both. We are just 8 miles from the M6 (J38) and 4 miles from the town of Kirkby Stephen. A great place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King's Head Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing