We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wifey and I booked two night stay fri 8th march for our 12th wedding anniversary! We had a suite room 15 at back of hotel,room was fantastic with four poster and massive bathroom with both bath and shower! The hotel is full of character from your room to the bar ect, very relaxing and inviting place to be! Food was to die for simple as,good selection and piping hot,breakfast a must but you need to walk it of afterwards! Staff couldn't have been more accommodating if they tried and with a big smile! Good location and with plenty of local walks really enjoyed the stay, the weather was cold and snowing all w/end but just added to the warmth of this place, would stay here again no worrys!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15 and it was large with four poster and huge bathroom with separate shower and ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    99
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
93
283
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

just got back from two wonderful nights at the black swan
we loved everything about this hotel
brilliant room.(annexe room)
very friendly and helpful staff
great bar meals and lovely breakfast
set in beautiful village we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a Hen Party of 13 booked into the Private Dining Room last Saturday. We were so impressed with the decor, service and food was delicious. We forgot it would of been nice to have some background music so we used an iphone, but then you kindly offered an iphone/ipod stereo system. Also the Bride was so happy you sold Frangelico Liqueur which is hard to find back home :) Thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimoralee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here again last night with some friends. The food was really good, the staff as usual were so helpful and friendly. Especially Darren and Laura.
We stayed in room 9 which is an attic suite. The view from the bedroom window takes your breath away, beautiful! It had a separate living room and kitchen area, great for relaxing in.
Really looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Room 9 has lots of room and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeechyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Looking at all the good reviews I think all points have been covered. All you have to do now is book a room and have a fantastic time.
There a many good hotels but this is one of the best. I am sure you will not be disapointed and the location is great for days out to the Lakes and Yorkshire dales or even as a local walking base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

What an absolute delight it was to stay at The Black Swan. Perfectly located for local walks and nearby to Kendal. This log fired traditional pub is so cozy and warm. Real cask ales along with John Smiths (my fav pint:))) is served and the food menu is just delicious. I enjoyed my stay with my friend, 3 year old and small dog. We are very happy to have found this pub hotel and will certainly recommend it.

The rooms are spacious. well equipped and modern in design. Perfect for disabled customers as they have rooms accessible directly from the outside with walk in showers.
The pub even has a little local shop attached to it so no shortage of papers and goodies to take home.
I hope one day to return.

Room Tip: Choose room No 11 its perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersueLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've just returned from staying here for two nights with friends and our three dogs. It really is ideal for dog owners with the annex rooms opening straight outside (no traipsing through the bar etc.) and a handy beer garden over the road for early morning 'duties'. The rooms are well equipped and decorated to a high standard and the food and service in the hotel is exemplary; the staff are really friendly and good fun.
There are some fantastic walks that start right outside the hotel and we were provided with a very handy little book showing nine local ones.
We would have no hesitation in recommending the Black Swan to anyone and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 11 is ideal if you have more than one dog as it's a little larger than the other dog friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
10.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
20.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
19.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: Ravenstonedale CA17 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous, Award Winning, 16 bedroom, family owned, country Inn. Conservation Village, beautiful gardens, dog and disabled friendly. Luxury, stylish rooms, great food served in relaxed lounge/bars or formal restaurant. Exclusive use available. AA Pub of the Year for England 2013/14, Good a Hotel Guide, Sawdays Special Places, Good Pub Guide, Michelin Guide, CAMRA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Ravenstonedale
The Black Swan Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing