We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend retreat”
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Black Swan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just come home from a weekend break at the Black Swan this is a wonderful place to stay. Well appointed rooms we stayed in the four poster with fire, fab big bed and en suite bathroom with roll top bath and double shower which was massive. Had a lovely meal in a really nice restaurant and bar. All the staff were really polite and good fun, thanks. We would recommend both the Black Swan and the area to anyone whilst we didn't take ours, dogs are welcome with a great area to walk and explore on your door step.

This hotel has recently won awards for best in class from the AA and CAMRA so this is probably a better bench mark for excellence than 3 poor reviews on this site.

If you can't enjoy the Black Swan try a Trevel Lodge no expectations from staff or dining experience. Thanks all Dave Ormskirk

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daveupnorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 565 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband David and I share the same birthday-Feb 1st! We decided to have dinner and stay overnight at The Black Swan Hotel--We have visited many times before for drinks and food and have always found it to be perfect in every way! The hotel is warm, cosy friendly and welcoming and the staff are always a joy to be with--over the last few years, they have become good friends to us both.Our birthday visit was fantastic in every way! Our room was amazing--a beautiful 4 poster bed, log fire and an enormous en suite bathroom with bath and shower.We enjoyed a wonderful meal--gorgeous as always ! The lovely Jula was on duty that evening--such a friendly lady!We had a chat with the owners, Alan, Louise and their daughter Ellie and then later on retired to the room for a great night's sleep! Breakfast was incredible ! Everything you could wish for and more !! We would like to say thank you to everyone at The Black Swan for making our stay so special--We will see you again soon!! Susan and David xx

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidandsusan2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Visited the Black Swan with friends/colleagues for an all day informal meeting and the staff could not have been more halpful. Quiet cosy table, internet, copious amounts of coffe and a wondeful pub lunch.
Had a look around and can't wait to go back for a weekend stay.
Beautiful surroundings. Facilities in loos fantastic! Lovely garden with stream (weather permitting) Lovely furnishings, games biooks. Just perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell9874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After stumbling on this hotel 6 years ago we loved it so much that we have returned every year since.
The food, accommodation and very helpful and willing staff are second to none, however we were some what disappointed this year to find a newer member of staff a little inhospitable, it was a chilly night and we wanted to pop another log on the fire in the bar but were told in no uncertain terms not to do so - kind of spoilt the evening for us and were made to feel we were outstaying our welcome when the bar shut quite early something we have never had before.
However we hope this can be overcome as we've just rebooked for our 7th visit.
On the whole an excellent time had by all even with the little run in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ker1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our sixth visit in a row in early December to a hotel we all love.Have to say there was a slightly different atmosphere this year,food as always was first class but we saw a lot less of the staff we have come to know.A newer member of staff barked at my wife for putting a log on the fire and shut the hotel bar very early on both nights.Will be back this year but hope the old "vibe" has returned.

Room Tip: All rooms we have had have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose the Black Swan as a stop over from dropping off our son at Uni and breaking he journey. We travelled the A66, getting more and more remote. We then saw smoke filtering through a wooded area ahead. We pulled over into this wooded area and travelled a mile of the main road and back in time by 100 years. The Swan looks old fashioned and welcoming. As we parked, I realised that "old" wasn't right as a description as the car park was well maintained and the building looked cared for.
Our welcome was friendly. I didn't feel that we had interrupted a local pub, but welcomed to join in with what was going on.
Our room was extremely comfortable. Clean, bright and a huge King size bed. Toiletries in the bath room are from a local business. They are very luxurious and a step above paper wrapped soap tablets.
We booked in for dinner that night and was glad that we had done so, as the dining room became fairly busy.
The menu was an excellent selection of country staples, all sourced locally. I had scallops and cauliflower panne cotte followed by venison haunch and fondant potato, whereas my wife had the ham hock terrine starter and salmon in red pepper and grape sauce. Both starters were smallish portions, but excellent in taste and presentation. The mains were a lot more substantial and absolutely delicious. The steak was cooked to perfection and the sauce a perfect complement. The salmon was cooked well and delivered hot to the table. Presentation was beautiful and the sauce really went well with the salmon.
We were too full to be tempted by the excellent looking desserts, unfortunately.
All in all, the Black Swan is a wonderful find of a country pub, excellent food, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. We are already planning to come back with friends next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandM_Sale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on new years eve for a 2 night NY package, to a lovely warm welcome.
The restaurant, pub and rooms were decorated lovely. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating on what is such a busy night (NY eve), many sat chatting and having a laugh with us and really made us feel so welcome.
The food was great, 3 course on NY eve after a champagne welcome with canapés, then huge tasty breakfast the following 2 mornings and afternoon tea on NY day which was lovely!
We will definitely return as the atmosphere is great, the pub is nice and comfy/cosy with a lovely warm fire, great food and the staff are fab.
Thanks to all the Black Swan team for a great new year :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazabella2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
10.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,669 reviews
0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fat Lamb Country Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
185 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
The Black Bull Hotel
#7 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
168 reviews
17.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Address: Ravenstonedale CA17 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range: $124 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous, Award Winning, 16 bedroom, family owned, country Inn. Conservation Village, beautiful gardens, dog and disabled friendly. Luxury, stylish rooms, great food served in relaxed lounge/bars or formal restaurant. Exclusive use available. AA Pub of the Year for England 2013/14, Good a Hotel Guide, Sawdays Special Places, Good Pub Guide, Michelin Guide, CAMRA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Ravenstonedale
The Black Swan Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing