We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little chilly”
Review of The Black Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“A little chilly”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After stumbling on this hotel 6 years ago we loved it so much that we have returned every year since.
The food, accommodation and very helpful and willing staff are second to none, however we were some what disappointed this year to find a newer member of staff a little inhospitable, it was a chilly night and we wanted to pop another log on the fire in the bar but were told in no uncertain terms not to do so - kind of spoilt the evening for us and were made to feel we were outstaying our welcome when the bar shut quite early something we have never had before.
However we hope this can be overcome as we've just rebooked for our 7th visit.
On the whole an excellent time had by all even with the little run in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ker1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    102
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
94
293
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our sixth visit in a row in early December to a hotel we all love.Have to say there was a slightly different atmosphere this year,food as always was first class but we saw a lot less of the staff we have come to know.A newer member of staff barked at my wife for putting a log on the fire and shut the hotel bar very early on both nights.Will be back this year but hope the old "vibe" has returned.

Room Tip: All rooms we have had have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balterley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We chose the Black Swan as a stop over from dropping off our son at Uni and breaking he journey. We travelled the A66, getting more and more remote. We then saw smoke filtering through a wooded area ahead. We pulled over into this wooded area and travelled a mile of the main road and back in time by 100 years. The Swan looks old fashioned and welcoming. As we parked, I realised that "old" wasn't right as a description as the car park was well maintained and the building looked cared for.
Our welcome was friendly. I didn't feel that we had interrupted a local pub, but welcomed to join in with what was going on.
Our room was extremely comfortable. Clean, bright and a huge King size bed. Toiletries in the bath room are from a local business. They are very luxurious and a step above paper wrapped soap tablets.
We booked in for dinner that night and was glad that we had done so, as the dining room became fairly busy.
The menu was an excellent selection of country staples, all sourced locally. I had scallops and cauliflower panne cotte followed by venison haunch and fondant potato, whereas my wife had the ham hock terrine starter and salmon in red pepper and grape sauce. Both starters were smallish portions, but excellent in taste and presentation. The mains were a lot more substantial and absolutely delicious. The steak was cooked to perfection and the sauce a perfect complement. The salmon was cooked well and delivered hot to the table. Presentation was beautiful and the sauce really went well with the salmon.
We were too full to be tempted by the excellent looking desserts, unfortunately.
All in all, the Black Swan is a wonderful find of a country pub, excellent food, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. We are already planning to come back with friends next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM_Sale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on new years eve for a 2 night NY package, to a lovely warm welcome.
The restaurant, pub and rooms were decorated lovely. The staff were all so friendly and accommodating on what is such a busy night (NY eve), many sat chatting and having a laugh with us and really made us feel so welcome.
The food was great, 3 course on NY eve after a champagne welcome with canapés, then huge tasty breakfast the following 2 mornings and afternoon tea on NY day which was lovely!
We will definitely return as the atmosphere is great, the pub is nice and comfy/cosy with a lovely warm fire, great food and the staff are fab.
Thanks to all the Black Swan team for a great new year :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazabella2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having just moved to the area we are looking for a "local" and on paper the black swan ticks all the boxes, good food, lovely setting, great atmosphere and local !, we got there lunch time on new years day, the fire was roaring and everything looked as good as expected, i would like to say that the food was excellent but having waited at the bar to be served...and waited...and waited.... and having been total ignored by at least three members of staff we gave up and went elsewhere !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldinnes, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are so very sorry that this guest did not enjoy his visit to us. I was working that day, after what was a fantastic New Year's Eve night, enjoyed by all - and re-booked by many on departure! My staff would never 'ignore' a customer, I can only assume that we were all serving other guests and the wait was just too long, for which we are sorry. In our defence, I have to say our customer service is second to none, our staff are wonderful and take great effort to ensure our guests enjoy their visit to us. I really wish this guest had spoken to me personally on the day, but sadly this sometimes does not happen and we are then unable to 'put things right' and it seems a little harsh to review us so disparagingly merely because they had a wait on New Years Day!?As this guest mentions, we are AA Pub of the Year because we have a super pub with great food, rooms and especially service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our third Christmas few days to escape the stress, relax, eat, drink and walk. Not disappointed on any account with the usual excellent staff, great food with local products, wide selection of real ales all within a building of pleasant character located in a charming village. At Christmas the open fire and bar lounge are cosy and relaxing although we do use the bar at other times of the year for drinks and sumptuous scones. Previous years have focussed on walking but this year was just that bit too wet on the ground - and in the air!! -so we did a bit more local visiting in Kirkby Stephen, Appleby, Penrith and High Force - the highest waterfall in England! very impressive and one of the few things to benefit from heavy rain. The hotel has a new heating system which adds to the warm welcome. We'll be back next year for sure!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different but their are views over the river from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Not so far from the M6 and very well worth the detour. Totally dog friendly with a good garden, there is enough walking close by for the keenest of dog owners. Downstairs rooms are very well suited to travellers accompanying their mutts. We ate and drank very well and will certainly return. The bar is welcoming and a handy place to rest for an hour or three or longer. Breakfast is cooked to order - not a luke warm buffet. (Message - eat breakfast here.) Only wish is for more European wine on the list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenstonedale
10.4 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,524 reviews
19.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
20.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
952 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head
King's Head
#3 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brownber Hall
Brownber Hall
#1 of 2 in Newbiggin-on-Lune
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan

Property: The Black Swan
Address: Ravenstonedale CA17 4NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Ravenstonedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenstonedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Black Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous, Award Winning, 16 bedroom, family owned, country Inn. Conservation Village, beautiful gardens, dog and disabled friendly. Luxury, stylish rooms, great food served in relaxed lounge/bars or formal restaurant. Exclusive use available. AA Pub of the Year for England 2013/14, Good a Hotel Guide, Sawdays Special Places, Good Pub Guide, Michelin Guide, CAMRA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Black Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Ravenstonedale
The Black Swan Ravenstonedale/Kirkby Stephen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing