We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed in hotel on room only price.Standard hotel a little dated .Rooms were a good size and comfortable.Situated about 3 miles from city centre and close to university.Well worth the price paid. would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandbridie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear tomandbridie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge. I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you felt we offered value for money. Thank you for the kind recommendation and we hope to see you as returning guests of the Kilmurry Lodge in the near future,

Warm Regards,
Jack Hoare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    132
    56
    22
    12
See reviews for
78
86
26
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Lovely hotel just outside Limerick. Room very spacious with views to 2 sides, very comfortable, spotlessly clean, nice decor. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. Had a evening meal in bar and this too was excellent. Would certainly recommend this hotel and will be going back. Good hotel for a short break, and longer stays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear youth27,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a lovely review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge. I was delighted to read that so many aspects of your stay were delivered with quality and to a high standard. It is with pleasure to receive such warm reviews and your recommendation is both important to us & much appreciated by us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Limerick. Should you wish to contact me directly I would be happy to assist you with any future or upcoming bookings you may have - jack@kilmurrylodge.com

Warm Regards,
Jack Hoare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice tidy and clean hotel but very standard fare. Couldn't tell it between another hotels really. But conveniently located for the university and for town, and the plassey business park. Food was farely standard aswell although there is an excellent chipper across the road. and a cinema just down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sarahjma,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge. I was pleased to read that you found our location to be conveniently located for both business & pleasure purposes. I do hope you will stay with us again as I believe we can deliver that little bit more to assure you of our high standards. I would be pleased to assist you directly with any future bookings and once again thank you for your review – jack@kilmurrylodge.com

Warm Regards,
Jack Hoare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a 2 night stop booked here in Limerick. Hotel is a few miles outside the city centre, though there is an easy to use bus service from outside the hotel. It was not difficult to find, and a very large free car park made unloading easy. On check in they tried to charge me for the stay, although it had been prepaid with hotels.com. Took a bit of sorting out - receptionist blamed a 'new girl'.
Room was very small, basic furnishings and decor. Felt grubby, stained carpet. Old style tv, not easy to work. No safe, no fridge. Bathroom with bath/shower combo. Lots of holes in tiles, partly filled, where previous fittings had existed Not a single towel rail in the bathroom, and extractor not working, so no way to dry towels (although the standard notice fixed to the mirror still suggested reusing your towels, to save this that and the other !)
Two small single beds, not at all comfortable. During the night (both nights actually) staff were servicing the room next door, used as a meeting room, glasses and bottles clinking, and talking. Think it was about 4am. How about doing this in the evening???
Breakfast buffet was small, limited choise, but ok, though we had to eat it in the bar due to small dining area.
Took one night's dinner in the bar area - canteen type food, but quite good. Girl on the till couldn't produce me a bill in Euros - she said it had to be in £ as that was where my card was from! She just hadn't been trained to use the equipment properly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Peter W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge. I am disappointed with your feedback however I acknowledge that when a number of minor inconveniences accumulate throughout the duration of ones stay it can lead to an unpleasant outlook or experience. Quite clearly we could and should have done better in certain areas, particularly with our guest interaction at both the front desk on check-in and also when you were settling your bill. For these inconveniences please accept my sincere apologies.

In relation to your room (104), which is located in the older part of the hotel, I do agree it needs attention in certain areas. This room was assigned to you as per your booking request for 2 single beds; we can only facilitate that type of a request in a handful of our bedrooms. We do not have safes or fridges in any of our rooms and this is evident on all booking sites. The standard notice of which you mention is an effort to remind guests of the environment and how they can help combat waste.

From looking through your previous reviews I noted that luxury is a common description of the hotels in which you have stayed. I felt that your review, to a degree, compared our hotel against those of which are characterized by luxury or higher star rating and not on our own actual merits. I reject out of hand the idea that our food could so casually be described as canteen type food as not only do I disagree but also as I think it's insulting to our team of dedicated chefs & our owners. Thanks for submitting your review; I shall dig a little deeper on some of the issues you have raised and action accordingly. Should you wish to discuss your stay in more detail you can contact me via email – jack@kilmurrylodge.com

Warm Regards,
Jack Hoare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

At under4km from motorway Kilmurry is a convenient place to stay. Driving in to hotel one cannot help But admire its Ivy covered And well attended lawns.
Check in was fast and smooth. Booked a double, we were given a triple, quite spacious. Room in need of a freshing up But clean. Contained all we needed for a over night stay, ample amounts of piping hot water. No complaints so far, however Trying to sleep on a mattress that offers little or no support coupled with some very noisy wedding guests made for a less than satisfactory nights sleep!
Breakfast was standard hotel fare buffet. Fruit rather limited But plenty of it.
Reasonable value, would stay again IF I was assured of a half decent mattress!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 64finn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear 64finn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge. Firstly, I was delighted to note your admiration of our gardens and ivy covered exterior, these features are the owners pride and joy so I particularly look forward to sharing your comments with them.

In relation to the mattress, I would appreciate if you could forward the room number of which you stayed in. Our housekeeping team do regularly perform comfort checks but I will be instructing one to be carried out right away based on your feedback. Our sincere apologies that your stay was disrupted on this occasion, should you be returning to Limerick in the near future please contact me directly as I assure you of a much more pleasant stay,

Warm Regards,
Jack Hoare
jack@kilmurrylodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a great stay, staff was exceptional and professional, bent over backwards to make you feel at home. Food and spirits grand as well. Had a group of 40 and hospitality was great. Walking distance to UL, and local shops ideal, Pub was full and locals interacted with guests, bartenders and servers were spot on.
Great for the value. Keep up the good work!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinmccoy7866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear kevinmccoy7866,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel. We were delighted to have hosted such a lovely group from the USA last July and I’m pleased to read that we helped contribute to an enjoyable stay in Ireland. From speaking with Des, I understand that everything ran smoothly and that our location to the University of Limerick sports arena & playing pitches was perfect. We look forward to welcoming both you and your teams back to the Kilmurry Lodge next summer and many thanks for your kind recommendation,

Warm Regards,
Jack Hoare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nice comfortable hotel, very convenient to the University of Limerick. Rooms were clean and large with plenty of room for getting work done. The staff really make this hotel. Very nice staff on the front desk, in the bar and also in the breakfast room in the morning. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of choice so perfect for a couple of days stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilmurryLodge, Son to Proprietor at Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Jennifer R1982,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm review of your stay at the Kilmurry Lodge. I was delighted to note that our staff throughout the hotel made such a wonderful impression on you. Without a shadow of a doubt it is the friendliness, helpfulness & professionalism of our staff that separate us from the competition. Thank you once again for you feedback and recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Kilmurry Lodge on your next visit to Limerick,

Warm Regards,
Jack Hoare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castletroy
1.0 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.8 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
3.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
4.1 mi away
Woodfield House Hotel
Woodfield House Hotel
#11 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurry Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurry Lodge Hotel

Property: Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Castletroy, Limerick, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick > Castletroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castletroy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmurry Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kilmurry Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurry Hotel Limerick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing