We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bleddfa, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Betty280
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed November 11, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Stayed here for a week, two couples and two dogs to avoid fireworks. The cottage is gorgeous and has everything you need, the hot tub is just perfect after a long day walking and a warm friendly welcome from the hosts. Lots of walks in the area, particularly enjoyed Fish Pools and Water break it's neck. Further afield was the Red Kite feeding centre - amazing. Only negative is the nearest pub in Bleddfa was closed whilst we were there. Already planning to go back.

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flo-bow
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“2nd Christmas spent in ploony cottage”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Just had our 2nd Christmas in ploony cottage and can't wait to go back. It's a perfect retreat for us, off the beaten track with beautiful country side views and wonderful walks.. The snow on Boxing Day made it extra special.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnBraid...
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful rural retreat”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved our week at Ploony Cottage which is such a restful place we left all the stresses of work and life well behind us. The building was originally a mill, hence the stream which runs through the garden. The cottage has a lot of charm including details like the old bread oven set into the living room wall. The garden was well enclosed so that our dog didn't annoy the sheep but it didn't stop the free range chickens introducing themselves to us!

Our hosts, who were our only neighbours, were so welcoming, they did everything they could to ensure we had all we needed.

There are plenty of interesting places to visit if you can tear yourself away from the luxury hot tub and all the benefits of the cottage! Ludlow with it's castle, Radnor Forest, walks around 'Break It's Neck' waterfall, The Spaceguard Centre and lots more besides.

As seasoned holiday cottage travellers, we have never visited the same place twice, but this may be our first exception.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siborging
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Midweek break ”
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is our second visit in 18months. A wonderfully appointed hidden gem in the Welsh countryside. Hot tub, wonderful log burner, walks and great position to see castles, pubs and tea rooms.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ele s
Husbands Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track with hot tub”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We booked this cottage for the hot tub and the three bedrooms. It is a fabulous house about 1 mile from the main road in stunning countryside but with all the amenities you could want. Darren and Lindsey made us feel very welcomed. The flowers, wine, Welsh cakes and then a card on my birthday were just lovely. Lots of lovely walks around the house and a stunning view down the valley. The hot tub was the icing on the cake! The two Jack Russell dogs, especially Lottie, were keen to say hello and we were lucky enough to see Lottie's puppies about 2 hours after they were born. The decor is just right. Bedrooms spacious. Everything you need in the kitchen. We will be recommending this house to all our friends and hope to return to explore more of the area.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Liked least: Long drive from road on a track
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairelil...
Hellaby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“breathtaking views and beautiful scenery wonderful relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well myself my husband two friends and two dogs and our six year old had a lovely relaxing stay at Ploony cottage celebrating my birthday , the directions given my Lindsey and Darren were spot on and it truly is a lovely drive upto the cottage and their home you really think you are going into the middle of nowhere , a beautiful welcome of local cakes , wine and flowers were a nice treat and the owners and their little family are lovely . The hot tub and lovely garden and patio was a peaceful retreat from civilisation , no light pollution to the beautiful night skies only the sound of the stream , birds and farm animals were to be heard . Plenty of walks and cycling can be done from the cottage and the local Radnor Forest is lovely too . There are plenty of places to visit like Ludlow ,Kington , hay on Wye and Elan valley and the town of Knighton for pubs and shops is just s short drive away . The cottage is lovely , spacious and set in a beautiful location with very welcoming owners , overall us as s family with our friends and the dogs had a lovely week and the weather was hot too

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
We are absolutely thrilled that you had a great stay at Ploony Cottage, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. It is wonderful to hear that the cottage proved to be a wonderful venue for your birthday celebration, it sounds like it was a truly relaxing affair, making the most of that beautiful rural location. Plus the hot tub would certainly contribute to a relaxing time! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owners and hope you return to enjoy it again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie P
1 review
“Everything we could ever have wished for in a Romantic Break 5*”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Well where do I start, I booked the cottage back in late 2015 as we wanted somewhere we could escape as a couple with our two English pointers. After trawling the internet for a rental property Ploony Cottage jumped out at me especially as it was pet friendly. The pictures looked fantastic and a quick phone call to Skyes cottages to check that the garden was enclosed, which it was we booked a week in July.

Lindsey and her partner made contact with us a few days before we were due to arrive to check if we had any questions and to let us know how to enter the property, which I thought was really nice especially as she was just about to give birth to her second daughter the day of our arrival.

So we arrived in the lovely village of Bleddfa and took the directions they had given us past the pub and started down a single track road. I really didn't think we were going the right way as we just kept going in to the middle of a valley completely isolated from the outside world. This to us was a dream come true as in the advert for the cottage I don't think you can quite imagine the amazing location the cottage is in. All of a sudden you see the small holding of Darren and Lindseys house and then Ploony Cottage next door surrounded by rolling hills.

We entered the cottage to be greeted by lovely flowers, Welsh cakes, dog treats and a bottle of wine. A little touch that made a big difference. The cottage is beautiful, definitely my dream cottage. A huge kitchen with stable door style doors to the front and rear, and a bright and well equipped lounge with huge reclining sofas, TV, Wifi, DVD player and a stunning wood burner for those cold nights. There was already a baby gate on the stairs which was great as we had brought one just incase for the dogs so they couldn't get upstairs. Upstairs three stunning bedrooms, one huge master bedroom with gorgeous morning views over the fields when your laying in bed, two further rooms which were also spacious but we didn't use. Finally a bathroom/shower room.
Outside the gardens are stunning, a large gravel/patio area for an afternoon BBQ or just a glass of wine in the evening watching the sun go down. Our dogs loved the space they have spend every day exploring and running up and over the small stream that runs through the garden. Again all totally enclosed, but perhaps a clever small dog might be able to escape. They loved watching the chickens and the sheep come up to the garden fence, definitely something they don't see at home.
The walking around the cottage is breath taking, there isn't anywhere you cant walk. Obviously if there are sheep we kept ours on there leads but it wasn't a problem as just outside the cottage there are huge fields empty which we let them have a good run around. There are some amazing views if you have the energy to walk up to the tops of the valley, definitely worth it in my opinion, you can see for 20 miles. You honestly wouldn't need to leave the cottage if you didn't need any extra food. there is so much to explore right on your door step. But if you do go out there is a huge co-op in Knighton 15 minutes drive or a large tescos 30 minutes drive. We also drove out to the nearby Radnor forest and walked around there aswell, again great views from the top across the valleys.
So finally last but not least, the HOT TUB a relaxing way to end the day and relieve those tensions from a days walking.
I don't think there is much more to say other than what an amazing place and Lindsey and Darren are the most friendliest people you will meet and if their anything you need they are more than happy to help.
Will definitely recommend 5* from the Potts family.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2016
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to share this incredible feedback, we are absolutely over the moon that you had a fabulous holiday at Ploony Cottage. What you describe sounds absolutely wonderful from start to finish, and the gorgeous setting ideal for exploring certainly sounds like a perfect fit with the hot tub - what a way to end the day! We will be sure to pass your lovely comments along to the owners and hope you return to enjoy the experience all over again very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing