We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t go out of your way!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaweed Pie Cafe - CLOSED

Seaweed Pie Cafe
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
montreal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don’t go out of your way!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I am so glad I did not go out of my way for this, we were staying five minutes away, I don’t think you can find worse than this place, I ordered the Fish & Chips and the Lobster Burger for my wife and the world famous Seaweed Pie for dessert, let me start with the fish, well it was not fresh, nor were the fries, I can’t believe that I was sitting only a few feet away from a potato patch and I was eating previously frozen fries, probably McCain’s, the Lobster Burger was gross, situated on the edge of a lobster fishing village and they’re serving lobster that was damp, cold and watery, the kind you get from a can. Now the best part, the famous pie, a thin layer of white cake on the bottom with a pile of light green whipping cream on top, I think you can a better meal at McDonalds if you can find one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MillerTimesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Had to try the pie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had to stop here for lunch so I could try the pie....yum. Ordered the fish cakes that came with baked beans and a nice fluffy biscuit. The service was great and we were also given help getting our accomodation for the night. Great place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zee74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seaweed Pie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My Mom loves seaweed pie at the seaweed pie cafe. I've taken friends from Japan there as well.
I think the name of the "pie" can be a little misleading. It's actually like a mousse and it doesn't taste "seaweedy" at all. It's really, really good. I highly recommend trying it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Was kind of scared to try but love'd it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Took the whole family and worried if the kids wood eat here but everyone loved it. Large portions and great food. I was too chicken to order the seaweed pie but went for the apple blossom instead and wish that I could have it every week.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots on the Menu!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

It's a great place with tasty food, a very clean place, Great people, interesting gift shop!! They have all sorts of meals on their menu such as Salad, Wedges, Mussels, Fish cakes & Beans with Nic's Homemade biscuits, Chowder, Cold Plates, Potato Salads and so much more!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PEICanadaJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing