We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was a beautiful place to both relax and see...”
other travelers have booked this property
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Face to face with Mount Psiloritis. Natural tranquility
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Face to face with Mount Psiloritis.
Natural tranquility
Living room
Kitchen and dining
Dining and kitchen
Entrance hall
Guest suite with handmade embroidery (double, ground floor)
Ground floor bathroom
Master suite (double, upper floor)
The Old Attic suite (quadruple, upper floor)
The little attic of the quadruple bedroom (1 double or 2 single beds)
Upper floor bathroom
Upper floor terrace
A detail in the living room
Dining in the dusk
Overlooking the rooftops of Amari.
Outside dining detail
The entrance terrace under the mulberry tree
The villa's entrance through the garden
Garden detail#1
Garden detail#2
Garden detail#3
The unique landscape of Amari Valley, the village and the location of the property
The exact location of the property
The famous Amari bell tower
A typical byzantine temple on a hilltop
Step into history
Springfields
Olive groves
Ancient, monumental olive trees
Amari fields in full bloom
A Venetian gate in Amari Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CydDesMoi...
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This was a beautiful place to both relax and see historical sites and natural beauty”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This charming villa (4 bedroom/2 bath) was very comfortable and everything seemed like new. We had our own swimming pool and could sit and enjoy the mountain view while dining. Loved that there were no tour buses in site! The owner met us on our arrival and was very kind about offering suggestions of things to do in the area. He also has detailed information that he sends you in advance as well as leaves at the Villa. These details helped in making us comfortable exploring the area on our own. Highly recommend as a good place for combining relaxation and historical sites in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMMech
Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Vacation at Villa Idi in Amari”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a perfect week at Villa Idi in Amari, which we booked based on the extraordinary reviews we read here.

Manolis, the villa’s owner renovated his grandparent’s home into 2 magnificent, beautifully decorated, comfortable and fully equipped villas. The villas each sleep 8, so large crowds can book both villas. We are a family of 5 and our 3 adult children enjoyed having rooms of their own.

Manolis assisted in renting a car from the airport. He was waiting for us at the villa to greet us personally when we arrived and to show us around. The welcome basket with food and drink of the local cuisine was a real treat. Manolis together with Mrs Roumy, the villa’s superb “housekeeper” who lives in an apartment below the villa, ensured during our entire visit that we had everything needed to be comfortable. Manolis visited us several evenings during our stay, shared a drink of raki with us, gave us travel tips, and told us about life in the village and in Crete.

We took day trips to various areas on the Island. Although staying in the village added to our travel time, we were happy to return in the evening to the luxurious house and the tranquility of Amari. We especially enjoyed family quality time eating leisurely meals on the pool balcony, overlooking the spectacular view of the mountains and the charming village of Amari.

Mrs Roumy is a wonderful cook. After eating her home-cooked meals, which we ordered from her, we realized that her cooking is better than any other meal we had. She also spoiled us with additional treats that she prepared.

We highly recommend Villa Idi for travelers who prefer staying in a peaceful, serene and authentic village, in nature, away from the tourist areas and crowds. The only drawback was that we could not stay longer. It was a most fantastic holiday. I hope we will be able to return someday.

Manolis and Mrs Roumy – we thank you for your hospitality, your kindness and for a wonderful vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alain_fra...
Dijon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and comfortable house for an enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The house is an old, typical and very well restored Cretan property : It is very comfortable and clean. The swimming pool in the house is big enough and very clean.
The house is situated in a nice typical and quiet Cretan village in the mountain.The people in the village are very kind and welcoming : you must go and drink a coffee (or a Raki !) in one of the two coffee houses.
The country side around is picturesque.
The owner is very kind and know a lot about his country (the tips he send by email before our arrival were very helpul to discover places of interest).
We spent very good evenings with him and his wife on the roof terrace.
The housekeeper,Roumy, is an excellent cooker; at your request, she can cook typical Cretan dishes: do not miss the Mousaka !
A house tailored for an unforgettable holiday !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheree H
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa in beautiful Cretan village setting”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Idi was the perfect location for our vacation on Crete. The home is well kept, well equipped, very clean, and comfortable (it does look better in person than in the pictures).The location couldn't be better - the mountain views from all of the decks are just incredible, it is in a picturesque village full of locals, and it is so quiet that we would sit out by the pool and listen to the goats' bells tinkling on the mountain each evening.Just heavenly! My favorite meals were on the deck by the pool enjoying the sunset and solitude.

Amari is a good central location from which to explore the major tourist sites like Knossos and both the north and south beaches. It takes less than 45 min to get to either coast. However, keep in mind that all roads in Crete seem to be over mountains and they are as curvy as they can be! There are plenty of ancient churches, roman sites, and gorges to explore nearby and our party of five (from age 4 to 60) alternated between days playing in the pool or taking short trips nearby with days for the longer trips to Chania, the beaches, etc. This really worked well for us and, with 11 days at Villa Idi, we got to do most of what we had planned and still had plenty of relaxing time.

You definitely need a car and Manolis, the owner, arranged a rental for us that was delivered to the airport and was more than satisfactory. We also found material on local sites of interest, maps, and stores/tabernes that Manolis had prepared and left at the villa that was very helpful. He is really nice, speaks excellent English, and is committed to ensuring his guests have everything they need for a wonderful vacation. Manolis helped to settle us in when we arrived and dropped by once or twice during our stay, but Roumy, the caretaker, is onsite and always available if you need anything. She is delightful and she will also provide fully cooked cretean dinners on request. We took advantage on a number of evenings -the meals are both inexpensive and delicious! The one thing the village really needs is a restaurant, but thank goodness Roumy fills the void. And there was a huge gift basket that was filled to overflowing with goodies when we arrived! Do stop by the little grocery shop (very very limited) in the village- not much for sale, but the young man who runs it is pleasant and has some really nice jazz music playing.

All five of us (especially the four yr old who lived in the pool) thought Villa Idi was the perfect place for us and we are really glad that we didn't stay in the more 'touristy' coastal areas. While it was nice to visit some of those areas on a day trip, we were all a little relieved when the car was headed back to Villa Idi each evening. Some of our party are already planning a return trip in the next year or two...if you like to avoid the crowd and are looking for a well appointed villa run by two wonderful people- this is the place for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dinner on the deck by the pool listening to the village settle in for the night
Liked least: Curvy, curvy one lane wide roads (occasionally jumping goat was fun though)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia F
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying here was like finding hidden treasure”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Amari and the Amari Valley are stunning and the most beautiful part of Crete we have seen so far - unspoilt and off the beaten track. A fantastic surprise. Villa Idi is gorgeous - a lovely balance of modern and traditional styles, spacious but cosy, really well equipped and with spectacular views of the mountains and valley below. Manolis and Ruomi couldn't have done more to make our stay perfect. The location of the villa is ideal for exploring the local countryside and villages but also as a central base for exploring much further afield across the island. We couldn't have asked for more for our week here and would definitely return here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicky A
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cretan Hideaway”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have recently returned from an amazing two week holiday at Villa Idi. The Villa itself has been beautifully restored and has every comfort including a magnificent terrace with a pool that has outstanding views of the mountains. Amari is a tranquil and beautiful village and the villa's terrace looks down over the terracota roofs of the surrounding houses and the village square. Villa Idi is the perfect place to relax and unwind, breathe in the clean mountain air and forget all one's cares.
Manolis - the villa's owner and Roumy the wonderful housekeeper could not have been more helpful and kind throughout our stay. Roumy is a wonderful cook, and we enjoyed delicious meals on the terrace. Manolis' recommendations on places to go and places to eat were spot on.
I can not recommend Villa Idi highly enough - we absolutely loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth of Manolis and Roumy, and the views of the mountains.
Liked least: Nothing - it was perfect
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofie D
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Better than the pictures on the website”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We booked Villa Idi via a website for our group, 4 adults and 4 children (9 to 16 years).
We were welcomed by the owner of the villa and the housekeeper, and we were nicely surprised by the house, the swimming pool and the surroundings. It looked really better than the pictures we saw on the website. The housekeeper Roumy, a very nice lady, cooks cretan meals on demand. The first evening we enjoyed one of her very nice meals. We felt "at home" from that first evening.
Being in the center of the Island, you can visit everything you want. With a rental car (was arranged perfectly for us by the owner) you can get anywhere, taking in consideration that you need about 45 min to cross the mountains.
We had a very nice experience and can advise this holiday villa to anyone who likes tranquility, get to know the local people, and prefers to avoid a bunch of tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing