We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FAboulous place to stay on Crete”
Natural tranquility
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Natural tranquility
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley Face to face with Mount Psiloritis
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Natural tranquility
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Face to face with Mount Psiloritis
Overlooking the village and the valley
The southern entrance
The view from the very top
The arched entrance hall
Living room #1
Living room#1
Kitchen and dining #1
kitchen and dining #1
Bedroom #1 (double, upper floor)
Bedroom #2 (quadruple, upper floor)
The little attic of the quadruple bedroom (1 double or 2 single beds)
One of the 5 bathrooms (upper floor)
Upper floor terrace
Bedroom #3 (triple, upper floor)
The little attic of the bedroom #3 (single bed)
Detail of southern entrance
Bedroom #4 (double, ground floor)
Bedroom #4 (two sofa beds - optional)
One of the 5 bathrooms (ground floor)
Ground floor shaded terrace
Living room #2
Kitchen and dining #2
Kitchen and dining #2
Outdoor dining beside the pool
Detail
Bedroom #5 (double, ground floor)
One of the 5 bathrooms (ground floor)
The eastern entrance
A little veranda under the mulberry tree
Upper floor main terrace
Bedroom #6 (triple, upper floor+)
The little attic of the bedroom #6 (single bed)
Psiloritis Mt. at sunset
Garden detail #1
Garden detail #2
The unique landscape of Amari Valley, the village and the location of the property
The exact location of the property
The famous Amari bell tower
A typical byzantine temple on a hilltop
Springfields
Olive groves
Wild flowers in Amari valley
Simple and humble
A Venetian gate in Amari Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Clifld
Amityville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FAboulous place to stay on Crete”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We were a group of friends from the States looking for a place on Crete that could accommodate us all comfortably- and we found it at Amari Villas. Located in central Crete in the small mountain village of Amari south of Rethymno it is perfectly positioned for day trips to the south coast as well as the northern coastal cities such as Chania and Iraklion. What made the stay so special, however, was the owner, Manolis, his housekeepeer, Roumy, and Roumy's kitten- Richko. Manolis is the perfect host. His attention to our comfort was well beyond what anyone could expect. Throughout our two weeks at Amari, Manolis stopped by to give us ideas as to where to go, where to eat, and even took a small group of us on a visit to local sites. He met us upon arrival, helped to carry our luggage, and got us acquainted with the villa. Two welcoming baskets also awaited us- milk, cheese, bread, eggs, yogurt, fruit, vegetables, wine, and beer- mostly organic.
The villa itself is really two villas- attached. We rented both sides due to the size of our group (13) and it worked out perfectly. The villas are immaculately clean and beautifully decorated with remembrances of his grandmother whose house this was. It's completely updated with modern facilities- air conditioning/heat, bathrooms, and comfortable furniture. There are balconies everywhere- one large enough for our whole group to sit together and enjoy the spectacular views of Mt. Idi and Mt. Samitos. Smaller balconies provide a bit of privacy where one can read a book or just be alone.
A feature that we all enjoyed was the home-cooked meals that Roumy prepared for us- using locally grown vegetables and fruit- and turning them all into very tasty Greek dishes- moussaka being one of our favorites.
We are very familiar with home-stays having rented in various parts of Europe and Central America. However, we've never rented a place that was so well attended to by the owner. Manolis really puts his heart into making sure everything goes well. I communicated with him for several months prior to our arrival and he answered all of my questions/concerns promptly with great patience and detail.
We thoroughly enjoyed Villa Amaris and recommend it highly to visitors who wish to get away from the crowded tourist areas, but at the same time be near enough to visit them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owner, Manolis
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane E
Merrick, New York
1 review
“The setting and accommodations were wonderful”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My friends and I--13 in all rented the Amari Villas for two weeks at the end of September. The villas are immaculately clean, beautifully decorated and very spacious. The location at the foot of Mt IDI is spectacular. Next door is an old bell tower which is illuminated at night and breath taking. Off to the right is a shepherd and his flock and their soothing bells. Mrs Roumy the resident housekeeper is a treasure and an excellent cook. Manolis the owner is a charming man who made time to take some of us to the Amari museum and the abandoned but fascinating Veni Monastery. Getting to the Villas is a bit challenging but well worth the effort and Manolis' instructions are clear and concise. There are wild goats loitering in the roadway. Diane

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and all the comfortable places to sit and read
Liked least: Need somewhat more powerful light bulbs in the bedrooms
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wow, what a dream of a stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Secluded in the mountains, far away from the crowd, we've found this terrific Villa (actually two combined together) for an extended family stay.
We're here as I write this review, this is how much I love the place.
Mandolis, the owner, is very friendly and Rumi, the house keeper, is amazing. Everything is touched to perfection and makes you feel welcome.

Kitchen is well equipped
Bedrooms are spacious and well designed

It is however not as friendly for less then 2 year old kids as the Villa has many stairs, so beware

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not as child safe as I'd like it to be
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yael S
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amari villas a an excellent place to stay!! We love it”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We loved the place- 2 villas for 2 big families. The pool was the main attraction for the kids ( and adults). Manoli left a lot of toys for the little kids. Roumy the house keeper was very helpfull and also cooked us a great dinner.
Manoli advised us about places to visit in the area and it was an unforgetable vacation.
The view from the villa is breathtaking!
If you want to stay in crete then this is the place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfect combination of modern and traditional
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dijon, France
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pia S
Gotha, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing