We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooked food and superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Somerset Arms

Somerset Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Semington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food and superb service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Arrived late on a Saturday evening without reservation and quickly seated by friendly lead waitress. Nothing was a problem and drink orders were taken straight away. The food arrived lovely and hot and the steak cooked as requested. Will be back for family Xmas meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1970Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    68
    22
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Glad we tried it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having read the recent reviews we were a little dubious about our visit. However, glad we did. The food was lovely and well presented, the deserts were delicious and can't fault our meals which were in good portion sizes.

The only down fall would be the dull atmosphere which would perhaps benefit from some background music for example as on a weeknight it was quiet.

We wouldn't hesitate to come back though!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Arms S, Owner at Somerset Arms, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you Jennifer.we have taken on board your comment about music and have now rectified it.Thanks again and all the best. Mick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor PR”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I haven't visited this pub but was intending to until I read all the rude and sarcastic responses to quite reasonable complaints and comments. You really aren't doing yourself any favours by presenting this image of your business. I'll go elsewhere thanks

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Hanoverian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have been here three times and had a great time so when we took some friends and told them about the place we were very disappointed as it had gone downhill, main course was nice but when we tried to order a sweet was told sorry kitchen is shut, no warning just would not serve it, so decided to have a floater coffee to be given one with cream that was off ! Not a great experience need to improve, not great. No offer of anything else so we left without having a drink and will not return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Jonn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Arms S, Manager at Somerset Arms, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We do have clearly stated food service times here in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Now a SPORTS TV PUB”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Please be warned if you don't like to go to restaurant with TV sports on in the background that they now show sports tv. They are advertised as a 'boutique' rooms and charge restaurant prices so you may not be expecting the whole sports tv pub thing, which is totally incongruent with the advertised image.
But on the otherhand if you like sports tv you may find this a plus!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cornelius2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Arms S, Manager at Somerset Arms, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
There is one tv in the BAR area for those who wish to sit and watch it.ther is also a Separate restaurant with 50 covers for those who DO NOT want to watch it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somerset Arms also viewed

 
Melksham, Wiltshire
 
Steeple Ashton, Trowbridge
 

Been to Somerset Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing