We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but too close to traffic and too spartan.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piha Domain Motor Camp
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Piha
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Right by Piha beach, you can walk up to Lion's rock 200 meters away. Fairly maintained shower/bathroom with card key access, laundry and roomy kitchen (you have to supply your own utensils, cookware and dishes).
There's a fancy cafe and a general store across the street in case you don't want to cook or need last minute supply you forgot to bring from the town.
2nd night we stayed in a room... it's a shed, and wasn't well kept. no linens or comforter. $60/night/pair. Well I guess this is New Zealand...

Room Tip: There are no good rooms unfortunately... this place is worth it only for those who with camper vans.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoichiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for Piha Domain Motor Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 66 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

My family and I stayed at the campground during Easter weekend. There was no power and this couldn't be helped but we were invited into the owners home to use her gas cooking facility's. The toilets are bad, she informed us these are being upgraded. Overall we had a fantastic weekend enduring the weather, and reconnecting as a family. I would recommend this place for everyone wanting to escape the distractions of modern living. It was such fun.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliveoilpopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ive taken my family to piha campground several times in the last year, and have many happy memories of my time camping there as a kid.
…Apart from the massive magic playground for children and the nifty little cabins the align with it, not a huge amount has changed since then. The bathrooms and kitchen areas are classic kiwi campground, and ample size and capacity. for those who find it not good enough, I say, stop your grizzling and go stay in a B&B. Shower watersupply is surprisingly generous, and, as an additional bonus, prices haven't changed much since the 80s either! All in all a classic kiwi camping experience in a magic part of the world. I thoroughly recommend the piha campground, but, please don't tell anyone. Lets keep it a secret.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tadhgstopford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I can't help but agree! Decided to embark on a 1 night camping foray close to home and while whatever the conditions they will get the people through, the experience would be soooooo much better with a spruced up shower and toilet block.... it's pretty 'mingling' and a shame we can't show off our country in a cleaner and brighter light! Come on guys... make a difference and instead of relying on the location make it a place people want to come back to :-)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Family camping holiday peak season. It's a cheap place, but still too expensive for the appalling filthy showers and toilets, they are a total embarrassment and disgrace to a beautiful regional area. Joined trip adviser to say it, embarressed as a kiwi that facilities that you have to actually pay for are so old rotten dirty and mouldy. The "staff" rude, leave much to be desired on terms of service, and accept no responsibility for the conditions????? Blame the council ??? They have no right to charge money, toilet/ shower blocks need demolishing,staff should be sacked or learn how to clean facilities. I would never recommend to anyone.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Rubyleeprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights recently. It was the cheapest site I've found in the north island at $15 per nite for a power site. Fiona is a very welcoming host, it's a lovely open green space with all the usual facilities and the beach right on your doorstep. Post office, store and cafe just over the road and plenty of bushwalks nearby. The place has a very relaxed feel to it. I didn't want to leave! OK the toilet block is in need of an update but it has everything you need eg. hot showers, running water. Kitchen and laundry facilities were fine. Recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Domain campsite was one of the nicest places in NZ we´ve been to (compared to ca 20 other campsites). Only one hour driving from Auckland, just a few minutes walk from the beautiful Piha Beach (great surfing), it is a perfect place to start or finish the travelling. Peaceful, sunny, large grassed area with simple, but clean bathrooms. Kitchen equiped as usually, cookware included. No parties, just relax. You can´t get anything better for 15 NZD/ night. Small, calm village, with stunning views over the surrounding hills. Staff was very nice, they realy love their place and take care about it, will help you as much as they can. Thank you for the stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
5.5 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
0.5 mi away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
1.1 mi away
Oneone Moana B&B
Oneone Moana B&B
#2 of 5 in Piha
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Romantic Piha
Romantic Piha
#5 of 5 in Piha
4 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bethells Beach Cottages
Bethells Beach Cottages
#1 of 2 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyons Rock Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piha Domain Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piha Domain Motor Camp

Address: 21 Seaview Road, Piha, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Piha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Piha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing