We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”
Review of Piha Ocean Lookout

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piha Ocean Lookout
Ranked #1 of 5 Piha B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Wow, what a great place. Super friendly hosts. Amazing views with own private seat out in the bush with a stunning view. So peaceful and felt so homely. Thanks for such a great stay. Piha is a great place too with plenty of walking tracks to choose from, ultra long beach, plenty of places where it will just be you, even in the height of summer

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjerstirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Graham and Viv are great hosts! Their house is beautiful with amazing views and a special love nest out the back that overlooks the ocean and sunset. The bed/pillows were very comfy, room a little smaller, but you have a whole other sitting room with fridge, etc. shower had great water pressure with hot water. Everything was very tastefully decorated including lots of things by local artists including graham! Wi-fi allowed us to take care of some business in the states as well as pay our toll road fees.
Continental breakfasts with delish fresh bread and a gorgeous view of the beach. Graham was nice enough to set us up in their kitchen to cook up a small dinner one night while we watched the sun set. The other night we had dinner with Viv and Graham at the RSA and met some friends of theirs. Good food and great company. Everyone was super nice!
On our full day in Piha, Graham had us park our car at the bottom of hike and then drove us to the top. Also, gave us great suggestions on other things to do. They have maps/books about the area to help plan your time.
Would absolutely stay here again without hesitation! Piha is beautiful and worth more time than we gave it, but I'm so glad it made the trip. Graham and Viv are awesome hosts and now friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElKochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay, the Piha Ocean Lookout is a sanctuary and one can easily forget oneself in such a setting of blissful calm. It was the best sleep we have had in a long time and we know where to go now whenever we need an escape. The hospitality of Viv & Graham made us feel more than welcome. The breakfast was amazing with fresh pineapple, strawberries and blueberries, cereal and toast. Viv even made us tasting "Vegemite" for the first time in our lives and we had been also given lots of tips where we could have lunch and dinner or where to make a bushwalk. Talking to locals is always very important and helpful, especially when they are very kind. Such a pity that NZ is so far away from Germany!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Piha Ocean Lookout while walking on the Hillary Trail. We did a cut down version of the Hillary trail as the full trail is 70km long and done over 4 days. We wanted to fit it into a weekend. After much consideration, we decided that the section of trail from Whatipu to Te Henga (Bethels) with an overnight stay at the Piha Ocean Lookout would work out perfectly, and it did. The Piha Ocean Lookout is ideally located on the trail route almost exactly halfway between Whatipu and Te Henga. Whatipu to Piha Ocean Lookout took us around 6 hours and is approximately 17 km on the trails. Day two is about 18km and took us 6.5 hours but with more stops including swimming at Kitekite Falls and coffee in Piha town. I would plan for it to take up to 8 hours both days or maybe more if the trail is wet as it can get quiet muddy. The Hillary Trail is known as a difficult trail and in wet conditions it certainly can be. Staying at Piha Ocean Lookout makes the whole experience much easier and more enjoyable. Firstly because you only need to carry a light day pack with you and secondly because a hot shower, great dinner and a comfortable bed is exactly what’s needs after a day’s hiking.

Viv and Graham are great hosts and gave us a ride down to the beach for a swim and we stayed to have dinner at the local RSA. As other reviews have mentioned, the RSA is a very friendly place and the food is great. We had burgers which were exactly what we wanted and the hand cut chips that came with them were fantastic. You can pick up supplies for the second day on the trail at the Piha Store which you pass about 1.5 hours after leaving the Piha Ocean Lookout. Viv and Graham can also arrange a packed lunch by prior arrangement. I would definitely recommended doing a cut down version of the Hillary Trail and staying with Viv and Graham at Piha Ocean Lookout.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_Bear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time staying with Viv and Graham and i know it won't be our last. I've met gracious kiwi hosts before but never have we been made feel so welcome and at home as at the Piha ocean lookout. There's no better start to the day than having an amazing breakfast on the terrace with stunning views of the ocean and Piha. I highly recommend a stay here to relax, unwind and enjoy Piha.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caire_Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My family and I had a wonderful stay. The hosts are the kindest I ever met! The place was very clean and comfortable. We had a lot of privacy because the whole ground floor to ourselves. This comprises of a queen room,a twin bedroom as well as a lounge area equipped with a television and pantry. At the rate which we paid, this is really cheap considering that the other bed and breakfast we had been to cost much more and only includes a room to ourselves.I also love the scenery of the Piha Ocean. I hope I can go back again soon! :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jovianne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a delightfull stay with Viv and Graham in their lovely B§B. Everithing was absolutely perfect, and we felt so welcome, thanks a lot to them.
We hope we will have the possibility to come again to have more time to enjoy : the magnificent walks all around - especially the astonishing and marvellous sight on the end of the "secret path" - , the piha's cafe, the beaches, ..., and the kindness of Viv and Graham.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank he_schaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
6.1 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
1.3 mi away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
0.2 mi away
Oneone Moana B&B
Oneone Moana B&B
#2 of 5 in Piha
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lyons Rock Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Romantic Piha
Romantic Piha
#5 of 5 in Piha
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piha Ocean Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piha Ocean Lookout

Address: 14 Log Race Road, Piha, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Piha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Piha
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing