We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“winter visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piha Beach

Piha Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.00*
and up
Half-Day Wild West Coast Tour including Lunch from Auckland
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Piha
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“winter visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I prefer this beach in winter to summer - great to take the dogs for a walk and to walk up the path tpo the top of the hill and look over at Aniwhata. Stay for dinner and dine at the RSA, the Bowling club or the surf club all are worth a visit

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank andreat851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    159
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful sights!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our group drove from Auckland on our second day in NZ, and finding plenty of parking was no problem. I was a bit surprised how cold things would be, but that wind certainly made it feel like that. Glad we all had the right gear for all types of weather. Well, after our initial exploration of the beach we headed out to do a trail walk and completed it in two hours or so. Upon returning we were treated to a spectacular sunset and we went shutter crazy. Wish conditions and climate would have allowed a chance for a swim, but it was cold and very rough. Must exercise caution and common sense on this area as currents are strong and conditions change rapidly. Overall, a wonderful experience and very recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a great time at the beach. If you feel like it you can walk up the lion rock, steps are installed so it's not all that hard. and when you have build up a sweat, wash it off by taking a dip in the water. Not to crowded when i was there.And the beach was clean.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank drevildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Wild West Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

On a stormy Spring day Piha Beach was an excellent destination for a day trip from Auckland. Equipped with a hire car and bolstered by coffee from Shed 5, we had no trouble negotiating our way out of Auckland to the Waitakere Visitors Centre then beyond to Piha Beach. The drizzling rain added to grand impression of Lion Rock perched off the black sands and we had a very enjoyable walk up onto the Southern headland. Definitely worth the detour out and back, and better than my expectations.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank murray_abode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful....but dangerous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was the very first beach I visited when I emigrated to NZ from England, in 1985. I remember looking down on the beach (much like in this photo) and being blown away by the raw beauty of the beach and the sentinnel like rocks, at each end of the beach. The sand is "golden-black" due to its volcanic past. There are however, dangerous "rips" and there are ALWAYS several deaths a year by drowning. Stick within the marked flags, or the swim you take, could be your last!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelreiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piha Beach also viewed

Piha, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Muriwai Beach, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Piha Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing