We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Word "AWESOME" doesn´t even cover it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Piha
Certificate of Excellence
Potsdam, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Word "AWESOME" doesn´t even cover it”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

this place is amazing. its the proverbial home away from home. it has a lot to offer: awesome garden setting, very close to the surf spots of piha and a chilled out vibe. you will love it. I regret that I didn´t spend more time here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulli_ohpunkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    21
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
34
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2012

......Trust me and make it this one!!

This is THE place to come for a chilled out relaxed time in New Zealand. Amazing house, clean, fresh and modern, fantastic outdoor area, large deck, stream running through, and with a stunning backdrop.
Its only an hour out of Auckland but it couldnt be more different. The house has top facilities, great showers, and beds, fantastic kichen/diner/lounge area, that actually makes you like you are at home. Free wifi is a massive bonus to anyone with a laptop/smartphone.

Geoff, the host is great, inviting us to his friends 30th birthday party in the village, and then back to his for an afterparty!!

I cannot recommend this place enough, after being in a busy, tired backpackers in Auckland this place totally blew me away! I will definately be back on my way up to Cape Reinga in the summer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I just needed a few days off the travel road to catch up on some reading, writing my Beer Less Traveled blog, and get some outdoor relaxation time. I heard Piha was nice and had good surf. I found this place from a combo of my BBH card backpackers map ($3 off/night) and Lonely Planet recommendations. I paid $30 for one of the 8 bed dorm beds. They have a few private rooms as well. Only 16 total beds so its kind of quiet. The kitchen is the best one I have ever had in a "backpackers". Nice hot showers. Open foor lounge layout with TV, games, puzzles and fireplace. Very clean. FREE WiFi... this is worth $5-$10 a day or more in NZ! Geoff is a friendly host with surfboards to rent for $30 a day if you wish. They have a great deck overlooking the gardens and river. Its a 15 min walk to town and another 5 to the beach. Lots of parking for your car. They also have great views of Kitenui. Its a 30 minute walk up to Kitekite falls for a refreshing swim in a 50+ foot waterfall. Also if you can stay over on a Monday night for "pizza night" when Geoff and staff make a dozen pizzas for the guests and everyone eats family style. A very chill place that I'll definitely stay at again next time I come to Piha!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeerLessTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Definitely one of the best backpackers we stayed in. Lovely room (we stayed in the double though, not the dorm), stylish, very clean. A very gorgeous house.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowiththeflow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We loved it! Great house, very clean, lovely people, awesome beach, waterfall & tracks. Thanx to Geoff an the girls!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabettEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Nice big rooms, very cozy living room & free WiFi! --> great!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CoWPiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I just love everything about this place. It was very spacious, plenty of room inside and outside and it was finished to a high specification.
The room was comfortable and it thought very reasonable.

I agree with the other reviewers that it is a world away from Auckland.
It's certainly a world away from London.
Friendly owners too.

Room Tip: I chose a private room and i slept like a baby, it was very quiet and comfortable. I had the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WazT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
5.1 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
16.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
17.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
10.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piha Beachstay Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piha Beachstay Accommodation

Property: Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Address: 38 Glenesk Road | Piha Beach, Piha 0772, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Piha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Piha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Piha Beachstay Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique guest lodge at Piha Beach. Great location, close to everything in Piha. Bunkrooms, private rooms and en-suite bathrooms. Off street parking, surfing swimming, bushwalks sunsents and sunshine. Often the best things in life are free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Piha Beachstay Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing