We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Piha
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Piha Beachstay is the perfect getaway from the big smoke... I have stayed here before and will definitely be back again in the future. Warm and homely, beautiful setting - totally relaxed as soon as you walk in the door.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
34
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here for just one night after a couple of nights in Auckland central. It was just what we needed after the hustle of the city, an oasis of calm and tranquillity.
A backpackers place first and foremost but with all necessities taken care of. Great communal lounge area where I briefly had a chat with two other guests so a great place to hang out. Gorgeous location, with a stunning mountainous backdrop that really takes you back to nature.
Not many local amenities but not required if you're prepared or just passing through.
The beach is totally awesome!
Excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keef2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This place has won my heart. The owner is very helpful and friendly and the place itself is cosy, warm and has an excellent kitchen facility and a fire place. I would recommend it to anyone, but I'd rather recommend it to those people who can really judge this place at it's true value, which is simply wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

So here it goes... We booked this place online months in advance. We were told by "Ken" that check in was at 3 p.m. We showed up to the property about 3:20 and opened the door saying hello, hello? There was nobody there besides us. We went up to the other door and there was a sign that said "we will be back". My husband and I went back to the house and made ourselves comfortable on the deck. We waited and waited. Other guests had showed up but still no sign of any owner. Finally a girl came in and opened the doors to the property about 2 hours after the posted check in time of 3!!! She never announced herself or introduced herself. Not until we saw her taking somebody's money did we ask her if she worked there?!?!?! She mumbled yes and we walked over to her to check in. I mentioned that we had been waiting almost 2 hours and she claimed to have been gone only a half of an hour. Strange. She said that the property owner, which apparently is no longer Ken, had to work so she was covering. By that time I was already so irritated that it did not matter what the place had to offer. The lack of introduction and the time spent sitting around waiting for somebody to show up was completely unacceptable. I showed myself to our room, based solely on pictures I saw online. We had booked the "ensuite" so that we did not have to share bathrooms with anybody. I booked this place for the isolation and the beautiful beach at Piha. We definitely had isolation on the property. The owner was nowhere in sight, there was nowhere to eat nearby and nothing to do after watching the beautiful sunset. I went in with the expectation that we would be meeting a bunch of people from all over the world. I imagined a bunch of fun people sitting around enjoying the fireplace, playing games and sharing some drinks. Instead we came home to some teenagers laying all over the couches with the lights off. I felt like we were sentenced to our room. We left the property after enjoying a shower with no hot water. This place is great if you want to backpack or surf, other than that this is the place you come to for the day while staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Packrats0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PihaAccommodation, Owner at Piha Beachstay Accommodation, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear Packrats0828, thanks for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear about your experience on your arrival at our accommodation. I had arranged someone else to meet you in case you arrived before 5pm. It sounds like you arrived in the early evening which would be why the lights had not yet been turned on?

Standard 'checkout' time is a relaxing 12 Noon so rooms may possibly not be ready until 2 or 3pm. This is why we state a '3pm checkin' time, however guests are welcome to 'checkin' at anytime during the day and can take a room as soon as it is available.

We encourage our guests to 'make themselves at home' - lie on the couch, turn on/off lights, prepare meals, crack open a bottle of wine and mingle with others by the open fire on their own accord - as usually happens.

Possibly the other guests were still down at the beach enjoying the beautiful west coast sunset!

There are many great places to eat around Piha, including the new Piha Cafe, Piha RSA, Piha Bowling Club, the Piha Surf lifesaving Club and more... sorry I was not able to advise you.

It was a shame you did not spend the night to unwind and experience a bit of "Piha Time"

Sincerely,
Geoff (owner since establishment in 2004)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed at Piha Beach Stay unfortunately only for one night before going back to civilisation after spending a great time in New Zealand!
As we did only have 1 night left before driving to Auckland we could only enjoy one night here.

When we arrived at Piha Beach Stay and opened the door it was like "That's it!" - the perfect place to calm down from a lot of driving, just to get oneself sorted again and to calm down for the long trip home!

Ken, we really enjoyed our stay at yours and we wish to come back one day!
We wish you all the best for Piha Beach Stay with a lot of friendly guests who appreciate this great accommodation!

Best wishes from Hamburg,
Finja & Christian

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Common kitchen/lounge was very comfortable, clean and well-equipped. The patio deck and lawn are just beautiful and extremely peaceful. Owners Yvonne and Ken were wonderful, helping us out with everything we needed and giving tips about things to do in Piha and around. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaFarrugia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Lovely place, great facilities like spacios common area even with fireplace, huge kitchen, nice garden, very friendly owner, a great price/quality ratio. Would highly recommend a stay and come back any time. Thank you for making our stay such a fantastic one!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank die_christin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
5.1 mi away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
16.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
14.8 mi away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
#1 of 1 in Waitakere City
142 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romantic Piha
Romantic Piha
#5 of 5 in Piha
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piha Beachstay Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piha Beachstay Accommodation

Property: Piha Beachstay Accommodation
Address: 38 Glenesk Road | Piha Beach, Piha 0772, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Piha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Piha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Piha Beachstay Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique guest lodge at Piha Beach. Great location, close to everything in Piha. Bunkrooms, private rooms and en-suite bathrooms. Off street parking, surfing swimming, bushwalks sunsents and sunshine. Often the best things in life are free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Piha Beachstay Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing