We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A memorable and fantastic holiday experience!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of L'Oree du Bois

private & secure behind its own gates & walled courtyard garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
private & secure behind its own gates & walled courtyard garden
Relax & enjoy our large heated pool & sun terrace with loungers. Electric safety pool cover. cottage-style sitting room with comfy sofas, original fireplaces, & wood-burning stove TV &
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
private & secure behind its own gates & walled courtyard garden
Relax & enjoy our large heated pool & sun terrace with loungers. Electric safety pool cover.
cottage-style sitting room with comfy sofas, original fireplaces, & wood-burning stove TV &
Lovely Farmhouse kitchen with original fireplace & wood-burning stove. All mod cons
Beautiful master bedroom with antique french furniture, en-suite, &  day bed for children sharin
(everything but..)  The kitchen sink!
The character kitchen of the attached cottage. Fully equipped
The shabby chic breakfast room of the attached cottage.
lovely & comfy -cottage-style double bedroom
large double bedroom with antique french bed & day beds for children sharing
double bedroom with antique french bed
nice & comfy day bed
family bathroom with antique french wash basin
Lots of chacter
the huge front south facing terrace. Great for Boules!
our view across sunflower fields - even better with a glass of wine
lots of character
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Aulnay, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
howardsal...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A memorable and fantastic holiday experience!”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We travelled as a party of 19 - including 10 adults and 9 children ranging between 7 and 16yrs.
Richard (owner) was great in advance with advice and suggestions regarding the sleeping arrangements / bed arrangements.
On arrival Lynn (local fixer!) was on hand to give advice and provide local contact.
The property is huge and the website and pictures really don't do it justice. The pools great and the outdoor dining area could seat us all and was a real bonus.
We BBQ'd every night and the garden (massive) allowed us to play rounders, cricket etc.
The property is split into 3 and whilst it takes a little while to learn your way around it is well set up and has a good range of indoor games, DVDs, bikes and outside games including things for the pool.
The property is rustic and cleaning on departure is left to you unless you pay for a local cleaner (9 x hours at 15 euros per hour) which we paid for due to the scale of the task and time of departure.
We had a fantastic time and locally visited a lake (canoeing etc), the beach at St Palais sur Mer and did local horse riding. We took our own bikes and the local roads are endless, smooth and empty.
The property is rustic and could do with a top to bottom de-cluttrer as many cupboards etc had eclectic things in them and I would have expected them to be empty and / or more ordered!
I would definitely go back and for a group of our size the flexibility, privacy and facilities here were superb and we had a great time!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thanks Howard. Really glad you had a great time and we'd love to have you back. We spend a lot of time ourselves at the house which is why it's difficult to remove all of our bits (sorry) but we are really glad you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you so much for your review it really helps us to know our guests' opinions. Best wishes Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justynste...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for our Large family holiday, fantastic”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was a great House, the photos don't do the sheer size of it justice, we had x 3 generations (x 13) We played cricket & rounders every day, some of us went running around the lovely sunflower fields, there is a local village (Aulnay) which has everything you need, a nice bar, restaurant & a supermarket.
The house is enormous, and well segregated for big families, so you don't all tread on each other's toes!!
All in all 5 stars and highly recommended, we'd all go back tomorrow :-)

Justyn Stevens + 12

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thanks Justyn. Really glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane H
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I travelled in a large group to Oree du Bois and absolutely loved it. The house is wonderful and full of character. The area is so tranquil and the pool and gardens were fabulous. The house was a home from home, fully furnished and had everything we could have possibly wanted. We BBQ'd a couple of times during our stay, we ate out and on other evenings we visited the supermarket and stocked up on food. Long drive from Calais but well worth it Very disappointed the french baker didn't stop outside our house, was looking forward to fresh bread and pastries being delivered to our door, got them from the supermarket instead!! Lovely places to visit in the surrounding areas.
Would absolutely go again.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the total relaxation and the heated pool, perfect temperature
Liked least: The fridges could do with being replaced
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you so much for your review! we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Best Wishes Sue & Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry R
1 review
“Perfect for a family holiday in the most beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is an amazing property, perfect for large parties. The way the house has been restored by the owners makes it ooze French charm and is so tasteful. We have stayed here a few times before. It's the perfect place to be together with the extended family or friends and as it's so huge you are not all on top of each other. There is plenty to do for the kids such as swimming, table tennis, boules and a HUGE field with AMAZING views to run around on! We play rounders on it each year which is a great way to bring our young and old family members together. The three separate stunning are beautiful inside. Perfectly equipped with everything you need. The surrounding area blends sunflowers with peace and tranquility for miles around. It's just lovely. We feel this is truly a one-off find, having stayed in other places throughout France in large groups, this one stands out by far. It's our little piece of heaven. Am dreaming about being back there again next year!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
How wonderful it is to know you enjoy the farm house so much! So glad to welcome you back again next year! Best Wishes Sue & Richard x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherP2...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“L'oree du Bois is a beautiful, traditional house with outdoor living, in a lovely location; perfect for families.”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in L'Oree du Bois for a week in July/August 2016. The cottages were stunning and the outdoor space was wonderful for the children. We would gladly recommend the cottages to other families and groups. The pool was fantastic & there was just so much to do! We loved the area, the wildlife and the gardens to explore! Thank you for such a lovely holiday, Heather & Jason

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Thank you, Heather & Jason for your kind review. Its really great to know you had such a good holiday! Best Wishes Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing