We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully presented property in tranquil hamlet”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Twin Bedroom
Entrance to hamlet
Sundowner at the poolside
Picnic in the orchard
The Orchard
Daily deliveries of bread and croissants to your door
Saturday market at Saint Jean d'Angely
Surrounding Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Aulnay, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jenny R
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented property in tranquil hamlet”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here last autumn. The house had everything you could possibly need, and was beautifully presented in a very peaceful location.
Some good restaurants locally, and we really enjoyed the markets in the nearby towns. We were also blessed with good weather. Would definitely recommend and would like to return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljpowis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Perfect, just perfect Well equipped, gorgeous surroundings, private, tranquil, friendly owners..what more could you want?

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team_Roon
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly at home!”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

My husband and I stayed here last November as returning guests. We felt perfectly at home as soon as we opened the front door. Lovely warm welcome, with fresh flowers and a basket of eggs.

The gite is well located for sightseeing and exploring Charente Maritime. It's in a lovely peaceful spot which we find very relaxing, and lovely to sit and listen to the birds singing. I have to say that we intended on seeing a little more of the area but we got too comfortable in the courtyard and so didn't venture out as much as last time.

We've rented many houses in France and Le Beau Fief is probably the most well equipped. Thanks for the large supply of logs, we had some very toasty nights sat by that wood burner! What more can we say, a perfect break, and we've just booked again for June with my parents when we're hoping to make use of the lovely pool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and toasty nights in by the log burner
Liked least: Nothing - we love this place, it's our second visit and we will be back again!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin R
Cognac, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some real positives but needed some work and attention”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week at the end of March 2015. The rental was excellent value for money and booking was very easy through Victoria. Directions provided took us straight to the door and the gite is in a nice rural location with excellent walks for our dogs on the doorstep. I must agree with another reviewer that (in March at least) the gite was VERY cold and took nearly the whole week to warm up. The caretaker was kind enough to bring us extra logs when we ran out. Everything that you could need is there but we thought that it could do with a redecorate and some of the kitchen ' bits and pieces' were not up to standard. Also the bathroom was a little disappointing with the shower head not properly secured so that it was hard to get a proper shower. Overall this is a decent gite which was in a convenient location a nice secure garden area for dogs and/or children but in need of some TLC. We would probably go back but only in the Summer months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: secure garden for dogs
Liked least: tired decor and coldness.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
We agree that the upstairs bathroom is outdated, and with this in mind we have kept rental prices very low.

We do give careful consideration to all feedback from guests, and as a result we are pleased to say that there will be a brand new bathroom fitted ready for the 2016 season.

Best Regards,

Richard & Tori
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the peace
Liked least: The drive there !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
leight p
Birmingham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My partner and I spent a lovely week in June in this fabulous gite.

It’s clear that the owners have put a lot of care into their holiday home. Lots of thoughtful touches are dotted around the place – fresh flowers in every room, a bottle of wine and a basket of eggs on arrival. The property is pretty, very cosy , and we felt truly at home.

The gite facilities are really very good. I love to cook on holiday and found everything I needed in the well-equipped kitchen. Bikes are also supplied by the owners, which we used most days around the local lanes which were more or less car-free.

The courtyard is lovely, high walled with lots of pretty flowers. It was incredibly peaceful to sit out on an evening with a glass of wine and listen to the birds.

Lots of towns and villages within easy reach. The caretaker Mike was very helpful and recommended we visit Coulon and Saintes, which were lovely. We also had a few days out at Saint Jean d’Angely which was a short drive away and had a very nice lake with picnic area.

I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Le Beau Fief. We feel we stumbled on a real hidden gem and we’ll most definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and courtyard area
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing