We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
146
20
3
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
146
20
3
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews don lucho jungle trip pink dolphins the river john paul retreat center belen market trees and plants small pond bilingual guide protected area basic facilities a great experience night trip genuine experience superb guide bullet ants
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 179 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2019

My partner and I recently spent three weeks in Peru. We saw Machu Pichu, Nazca Lines, spent time in Cusco, etc., but the most memorable and exciting part of our trip was our visit to the jungle with Llaquipallay Expeditions. We did the 3D/2N with Aya ceremony. Our guide, his family and all involved, were very warm, welcoming and provided an authentic jungle experience. .

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AmeliaAndPul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, Gerente at Llaquipallay Lodge and Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Thanks Amelia for such nice review, we are happy to know that even your timing was short, I am happy to know you enjoyed the experience with the staff and specially the Aya ceremony with don Luis. Thanks for coming with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Me and my girlfriend Anna spent 5 days and 4 nights around Yarapa river guided by John Paul and Raul - it was a highlight of our 3-week long trip to Peru. The organisation of the trip was very good and getting to the location from Iquitos hostel was smooth. We spent the first and last night in the lodge and 2 nights camping in the jungle.
The lodge accommodation was basic but all that you need including a good net around the bed (no holes) to keep us safe from mosquitoes during the night and food was plenty 3 times a day. Also we got some good wellies to be used most of the time for the next 5 days. The first evening we went to the nearby village through the jungle and saw frogs, birds, plants, drank coconut water fresh off the tree and generally had a good time. The next day we set up the river for the jungle adventure. John Paul and Raul are very knowledgeable about the trees, birds, monkeys and are great spotters of those as well as camouflaged sloths in the jungle. Thanks to them we saw countless macaws, horned screamers, Capuchin monkeys, squirrel monkeys, howler monkeys, caimans, many kinds of hawks, tarantulas, caught some piranhas while keeping safe in the jungle. We also had a couple of night walks and a great stroll through Pacaya Samiria Reserve. The camp was set up mostly by John and Raul who also did a great job at cooking on a camp fire (omelettes, scrambled eggs, fish, chicken etc).
Overall it was a great experience that has been deeply ingrained in our memory.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukaszek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, Gerente at Llaquipallay Lodge and Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Thanks for such detailed review about your 5 days at the jungle with us. I am sure Raúl and John did their best during your visit, for sure they are great spotters. Thanks for coming with us. We will love to take care of more travelers like you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

I came back yesterday from Iquitos. I enjoyed this trip. John is an outstanding guide. We saw all that Marcel said in emails: caimans, lots of birds, monkeys, sloths, pink and gray dolphins, fished a dozen of piranhas and snake that got twisted in my boots! John made mw feel safe eough for daring to do it.
The family in charge was very friendly specially with me, because I am ecuatorian. The guiding was in english because my mates are british.
The food was food, they use gas and firewood for cooking. The landscapes are amazing! Highly recomended for vivential travels.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JHONAYKEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, Gerente at Llaquipallay Lodge and Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019
Google Translation

Gracias Jhonaykel, nosotros la pasamos super bien con toda tu gente. Nosotros hemos disfrutado de su visita. Gracias por el comentario. Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

This was a highlight of my trip to Peru. We had a 3D/2N tour + Aya ceremony. All the team at Llaquipallay (Marcel, John, Vanessa) made this an enjoyable and stress free experience.

John was a superb guide at the lodge with great knowledge of the local wildlife. The lodge is basic but very comfortable with hammocks to lie in and enjoy the sounds of nature. Food was excellent and there was plenty of it, the family there were very friendly and accommodated the needs of our Aya diet.

All transfers from our hostel to the lodge and then onwards to the Aya retreat was well organised and seamless with Vanessa taking us. We took part in an Aya ceremony led by Don Lucho Panduro which was an amazing and eye opening experience.

Overall really enjoyed this tour and would definitely recommend!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, Gerente at Llaquipallay Lodge and Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Thanks to you guys, is nice to see how our vocation and efforts makes you have a good time. In your case, you had a very well scheduled itinerary, stopping one day at Iquitos before going to don Luis´ retreat centre and after going to the real jungle for 3 days. I am happy that you had sympathize wit the staff and the native family in charge of the lodge. GRACIAS!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019 via mobile

Excellent 3days 2 nights. Highlight of our trip to the Jungle. John was a superb guide it was adventurous and saw Pink Dolphins, exquisite Birds and animals. I have traveled the world and my fourth trip to Peru. I loved it

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Excursion676197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel B, Gerente at Llaquipallay Lodge and Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

Thanks. you both are so such charming girls. I had a great time with you too. We will be ready when you come to Peru for 5th time! CHEERS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews