We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Little Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage with its own private garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage with its own private garden.
Entrance to the cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Cottage with its own private garden.
Entrance to the cottage.
The dining area.
The kitchen, compact but everything you need with kettle, toaster, hob, oven, fridge and washer/drye
Shower room, fluffy towels provided.
The garden is a wash with snowdrops January & February, Daffodils March, April & May.
The private garden with different flowers giving interest at any time of year.
The River Lune from Devils Bridge. Just one of the nearby local attractions.
Mid Winter but hundreds of snowdrops are making an appearance. To be followed by the daffs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lupton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Traveller...
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Little Cottage”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a super weekend at Springfield Cottage complete with 3 spaniels and a lot of rain!
Location was good; easy to find and very close to the Lakes and neighbouring Kirkby Lonsdale. Susan couldn't have been more accommodating: milk in the fridge, extra towels and a dog bed for our four legged friends and a lovely reassurance not to worry about muddy footprints!
All 5 of us had a fabulous time - this was our first time taking our dogs away and we'll definitely book again. Thanks for a super stay!

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Thanks Kathryn, and thank you for leaving it so clean, quite a feat with your lovely dogs and all the wet weather. I'll try and organise some sun on your next visit!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
502Wendy
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy stay”
Reviewed January 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked the cottage for New Year and couldn't have been more satisfied. A very warm welcome from the owner, Susan and her 2 lovely dogs. The property is well equipped with everything anyone would need. It was warm and there was always hot water. The property has a large enclosed garden, excellent for anyone who has a dog with them. There is a pub restaurant opposite which is very inviting after a day hiking around. The location is excellent for exploring both The Lakes and Yorkshire Dales. Kirkby Lonsdale is 4 miles away and has a host of lovely, shops, restaurants and pubs. All with a very warm welcome. We would recommend

Date of stay: December 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2016
Thank you for such lovely comments and your recommendation. It was a pleasure to have you stay.......stacking my logs and leaving the cottage so spotless!!! So glad you had a good time after all the flooding everywhere tourism in Cumbria has taken a big hit. Cumbria is OPEN for business is the strap line! Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomassma...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Peacful stay”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Hotel Was easy to find with very helpful directions from the owner, Arrived at night with a warm welcome, Really warm cosy cottage, with amazing Views. Great for couples who love walking or small families. It is close to a road but it is never heard from the inside and With a pub across the road you cannot go wrong. Great local activities to do, but I would recommend a car for easy travel. Great little touches including biscuits and a pint of pint on arrival for brewing up! Would recommend and would stay again.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay, and would certainly agree a car is essential as we have no shops with in walking distance and although a bus stop is at the end of the lane the bus only stops about once a day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samanthas...
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Roomy Cozy Cottage”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fantastic, warm cottage perfectly situated as a base for visiting the lakes, coast and more.

A warm welcome was given to us and the dogs, nothing too much trouble and a pint of milk and essential waiting for you.

It had plenty of room for us, our 11 year old and 3 dogs. We have stayed in many places with the dogs and none have been as clean and well equipped as this one. A place we will return to.

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Can I also say thank you, as once again, dog owners leaving the cottage lovely and tidy. Sue. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeBarra
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage in a great location”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cottage was ideal for us and our three small dogs. Everything we needed was in the cottage, which was well equipped and extremely comfortable. Plenty of leaflets on places to visit were supplied. Location was great for visiting the areas we were interested in. Owners were very friendly and helpful even supplying milk and biscuits when we arrived so we could have tea after our long trip. Even has a great pub just a stones throw away! All in all a great stay and will certainly stay here again if we revisit.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt just as comfortable as home
Liked least: Traffic noise was more than we are used to (although we do live in a close)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your stay! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G4984RQmi...
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was a spur of the moment booking and it was brilliant.

Quick hello from Susan on arrival & we were left to our own devices, just great.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was excellent
Liked least: lack of lighting coming back from pub!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Thanks Mike, Glad you enjoyed your stay!! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
396katyb
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a fabulous break say in garden sun shining with glass of wine a beautiful cottage and garden lovely owner and just perfect peace didn't even make it to pub was so chilled in cottage 12/10 stars hope to return soon thankyou Sue **********

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and glad you had a relaxing stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing