We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Lupton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $39
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
BLACKPOOL
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food was as impressive as the Inn. We checked the hotel rooms which also looked very nice. The service was good and will definitely be visiting again. A little pricey but the food was worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    117
    43
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“netvigator”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have eaten here before and usually been quite happy with the food.We were driving home to Ambleside after walking in the Trough of Bowland and decided on speck to call in for our evening meal.We were greeted by a member of staff who took our drinks order and then showed us to our table.The menu and drinks arrived and after a short while our food order was taken.ihad lemon and herb roasted chicken breast served with fries and wilted watercress and my wife had the spinach and ricotta tortellini.Both meals were excellent as was the service all the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netvigator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food and service do not live up to the pretentious, pricey menu.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here on our way through to the Lake District, as we have noted its apparent popularity in the past. The owners have done a good job of revitalising the hotel and have created a pleasant and relaxing environment. The menu looks interesting, emphasising locally produced food and subtle variations on traditional dishes. Our visit was on a Sunday evening and we broke one of our own golden rules, based on some inside knowledge and past experience; never eat out on a Sunday evening if you can help it. Sure enough, the waitress told us that they had run out of chicken and we would learn later they had also run out of chips. The food was average to good pub food, but certainly not the food described in the menu. Table service was unsatisfactory. The waitress mentioned she would return with a side order of chips, but there was no further sign of her. We finished our meal, when a young man dressed in a suit arrived and asked if we had enjoyed the meal. We told him about the side order and he informed us that they had run out of chips. He reassured that he would take them off the bill. As we were leaving the pub we noticed the waitress who served us getting out of a car carrying a large carrier bag; more chips we presumed, hand cut and double cooked as they are described on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Will return time & time again!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Beautiful interior, incredibly friendly staff, terrific menu selection (including a menu to select cheeses for dessert). The food was cooked to perfection, great presentation. It was lovely to see real candles being used to. Will be returning here whenever we're in the area (& I'll make sure that's often!)
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blackp00lr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for lunch”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for some lunch on our way through. Was a great little find. Food was very tasty, beautifully presented. Staff were attentive and accommodating and the restaurant was nicely decorated, modern and fresh. The wine was lovely and reasonably priced, the beer however wasn't fantastic, but possibly just because it was coming to the end of the line.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bop83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Levens, Lake District
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
 
Kendal, Lake District
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Kirkby Lonsdale, Cumbria
Carnforth, Lancashire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing