We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went on business must go back for leisure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough
Ranked #1 of 2 Lupton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Went on business must go back for leisure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

A really good pub with excellent accomodation and charming staff. A 3 course meal in relaxed surroundings for less than £20 isn't bad value either.

This is an unpretentious but lovely home from homr. Top marks!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    78
    25
    19
    5
See reviews for
68
187
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for dinner, bed and breakfast on our anniversary having seen it well recommended elsewhere. We were not disappointed, a lovely friendly reception showing us to a fabulous room, beautifully appointed with a lovely, luxurious bathroom. The evening meal and the breakfast were all of the highest standard and the staff delightful.
A gem, we'll definitely be going again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

As it was our wedding anniversary we booked the Torsin suite which was amazing. However, the room overlooked a busy road and large lorries going past throughout the night made the whole room shake. As a light sleeper, it was impossible to get a good night's rest.

Also, there is no tea/coffee facilities in the room, and whilst you can order it to be brought to your room, I would have preferred facilities in the room itself.

Food was ok but I am a bit of a foodie so perhaps my expectations are higher than average. It was good pub grub nothing more. As I have dietary requirements, I asked for the grilled chicken with a salad rather than fries and mayo. My request was not provided.

Nice but not special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Super up-market Inn - we recently stayed in the Torsin room which is huge and very comfortable. Just above the bar so probably not ideal for insomniacs who want an early night, but its an inn so not unexpected! Very convenient for the M6. The service was great - we arrived with a tired and hungry toddler and her supper was infront of her high chair within 8 minutes from us walking through the door. It isn't cheap but good value for money. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomtheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by accident yesterday and I have to say I was over the moon, lovely and clean, decoration is great and a lovely outside space.. We ate here and had wine and the food was cooked well - I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have been there several times and have always been impressed with the quality of the food and the eating area is very nicely decorated too. The only down side is that sometimes it can take ages to get served, OK if you have all afternoon free and don't have young children with you!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely room and food good but inconsistent standard of service. One evening a turn down service, next night bed turned down but no fresh towels and on third night no service at all!
Staff were pleasant enough but too many sixth formers moaning about their work hours whilst we tried to ave a nice drink at the bar. Noticeable difference after a senior manager was not there on Sunday and Monday. Room was very noisy as it was next to main busy road. really don't know where the five stars and prices came from!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lupton
2.0 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
12.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
13.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Whoop Hall
The Whoop Hall
#4 of 4 in Kirkby Lonsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
12.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
7.3 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Property: The Plough
Address: Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lupton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plough 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Lupton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing