We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night away”
Review of The Plough

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough
Ranked #1 of 2 Lupton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the plough for our first night away at our perfect wedding at mitten hall. We decided to stay in the toursin room the largest room at £195 a night which we thought was expensive but given it was our wedding we decided to treat ourselves.
The room was very big but guess we were expecting more from it. A few niggles no kettle to make coffee or tea and very noisy room next to the main road. The bath and shower are the highlight of the room.
We decided to book a meal in the restaurant and again the service was average. Think they were under staffed even though the restaurant wasn't full. They forgot one of our dishes and just weren't very prompt with their service.

All in all it didn't spoil the stay as we had a nice relaxing break but won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: Not near the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 414 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here to break our journey as it was just off the M6. At 9pm we arrived cold & hungry but the warm welcome, bright fires & the prospect of excellent food soon raised our spirits. The room was The Redmund, very spacious with one of the largest bathrooms we've ever experienced. Under floor heating & lighting, large bath & separate huge walk in shower were a joy along with white fluffy towels. For dinner we both chose the fish 'n & chips & they turned out to be the best we'd ever eaten, definitely not the soggy offerings from the average High St. The only negative was the clock on the bedside table which seemed to have a very loud tick. When I mentioned this to the manageress next morning she promised to move it.

Room Tip: All are fantastic & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at The Plough for a two night mid-week break. Cannot recommend it more! The rooms are seriously comfy with beautiful, luxurious bathrooms. Very friendly staff, always willing to offer advice, relaxed service and very helpful. Good food and possibly the best chocolate brownie I have had in a restaurant! Strongly recommend it and will be back! Abi and her team have it spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edinburghstott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

You really couldn't beat the level of service we received. All the staff without exception were professional, considerate, polite and friendly. It's hard to get the balance right but they did and it was very much appreciated. We spent three nights in Redman which is a delightful and restful room with an enormous bathroom, my husbands parent had the suite next door which they said was very comfortable and quiet.
We ate in every evening and would strongly recommend the restaurant. We tend to take our time so we were pleased the staff never rushed us, but equally we were never neglected, again it's hard to get this right, they did every night.
It's worth having the full English breakfast or at least variations on the theme, every morning each of us had something different, it all arrived as ordered, piping hot.
We would highly recommend The Plough and will certainly return.

Room Tip: The back of the building is quieter, but all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odibourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here on two occasions this year and have been so impressed each time. The entire place is beautifully appointed throughout. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable and the Bath House toiletries are a nice touch. The food is lovely and we can both recommend the 'monumental' fish and chips! The staff are attentive and remembered us from our first visit. They made us feel welcome and totally relaxed - nothing was too much trouble for them. We will most definitely keep returning to the Plough and would highly recommend it to others without hesitation. Thank you for two lovely stays!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had our wedding at the Plough. I can say enough positive things about it. Both my husband and I and all our wedding guests were overwhelmed how wonderful the venue looked, the fabulous service and the beautiful food.
I stayed overnight in the Torsin room and it was perfect for the entire bridal party to get ready in with lots of space and beautiful surroundings and most importantly a huge bathroom.
My parents and my sister also stayed and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast, which prepared me for the day. I really recommend the muesli!
Abi - the manager has been from the first a wonderful factor in the preparation of our wedding. At times she has even been a great friend and confident and is supremely well organised and well versed on what you do and don't need and how to arrange the perfect day! I also cannot praise the staff enough. This quality of service is sadly rarely found.
My advice would be that provided you are organised they will ensure the day is flawless.
We had three options of menu. We were overwealmed by the fantastic standard of food. Wedding food is rarely this good. We had a jazz band and disco which the Plough could easily accommodate. It suited all age groups with a wide variety of seating and areas to sit.
We had all the rooms booked out at night so we and family and friends could stay and a lovely family breakfast in the morning.
I have really joyous memories of our day and the Plough was key to it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

The Browns

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband booked The Plough as a birthday treat for me on the 27th July and what a treat it was. We stayed for 2 nights in the Torsin room and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was magnificent and huge with a wonderful, luxuriously and comfy superking size bed. The bathroom, also large and out of this world with a gorgeous, refreshing waterfall shower. The food in the hotel could not be faulted with lots of choice on the dinner menu. The only criticism we would make was breakfast was continental with an extra charge for a cooked breakfast. I did think this was a little naughty as it was not explained on their website. Apart from that the whole experience was a joy and we intend to visit again in the autumn

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lupton
2 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
561 reviews
12 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
8.2 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
6.9 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
120 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#1 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough

Address: Cow Brow, Lupton LA6 1PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lupton
Price Range: $112 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plough 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Plough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Lupton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing