We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best nights astronomy/astrophotography ever”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lupton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jack12377
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best nights astronomy/astrophotography ever”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The barn is excellent, very clean and everything you need. When we arrived there were a lovely selection of traybakes - delicious. The views from the upstairs living accommodation are lovely. My husband had the best 2 nights astronomy he has ever had. We could not fault anything!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrJohn72
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Superb position, facilities, comfort”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Quiet - away from traffic - main sound was bleating sheep and new-born lambs. Facilities all as described, high quality in everything. Balcony views to Ingleborough. Between Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, south of the Howgills. Pubs/restaurants 2 or 4+miles away. Hutton Roof is indeed 3 miles from the Kirkby Lonsdale turn but there's over a mile of village to pass through before the Pickle Barn turn. Generous heating and plenty of hot water at all times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: position, peace and quiet
Liked least: Further from Kirkby Lonsdale than indicated
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HIgh Peak
Reviewed December 12, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paignton
Reviewed December 4, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wiltshire
Reviewed October 30, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abeb1900
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing - Picture Perfect”
Reviewed August 28, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We booked to stay at Pickle Barn in July during a family holiday. While our booking was for a week, we could only fit four nights into our schedule. Right from the moment we drove up and saw the sheep grazing and the stallion sticking its head out of the stable, we wished we were there longer. It was peaceful and quiet, and our hosts left us alone to explore - which we did, from North Wales to York Minster and Keswick in between. The accommodation is even nicer than the pictures on the website, and location is great - close to an A-Road, and Kirkby Lonsdale a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing