We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pilgrim Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Hereford Grafton(Grafton)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$64
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle House(Hereford)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Hereford(Hereford)(Great Value!)
$57
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Merton Hotel(Hereford)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (876)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveler rating
450
338
68
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
450
338
68
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsross on wyeboth nightsnight breakhomemade biscuitsfabulous viewsmixed grillcurrybrecon beaconslovely hotelpruneslovely foodmurder mysteryvaried menubeautiful countrysideshort breakexcellent value for moneyrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 876 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were in Hereford to visit a very sick relative in hospital, and was asked to stay nearby. We arrived late at the hotel and received the most warm welcome. We were able to order a meal which was beautifully prepared, and beyond what we expected. Two relatives arrived from London the next morning just before breakfast finished and joined us, and the staff prepared breakfast for them, with smiles on their faces. More relatives arrived later that day, for an evening meal. Again, the meal was gorgeous, and everyone was extrememly helpful.
A couple of days later, we had to stay in Hereford, after a visit to the hospital, and again, booked and arrived late. The welcome and attentiveness of the staff, was most welcome.
Both rooms were above our expectation. Having such a difficult time in Hereford, it was lovely to have such a warm reception, staff that were so helpful and accommadating, and delicious food. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. The atmosphere in the hotel is warm and relaxing.
We would definitely recommend this hotel, and wish to stay there under happier circumstances.
The surrounding area is beautiful too, which is a bonus.

Room Tip: The valley rooms have beautiful views
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnHyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel is in beautiful part of the country and is a good place to stay to enjoy it. The accommodation itself is not stunning and looks a little dated but everything is clean and serviceable. The food is better than the accommodation with a reasonable range of dishes and you can eat in the bar or the restaurant. We were most impressed with the helpfulness of the staff who were working very hard (I think they were one down on the day we stayed and yet remained attentive). We arrived back mid-afternoon after a long walk on Sunday and they rustled up a curry for us without any problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you martinb53 for taking the time to review our Hotel, it's always good to get such positive feedback about the staff, food and cleanliness.

The team are a little disappointed however, that after scoring top marks [5's] for Cleanliness, Service & Location, along with good marks for value and sleep quality [4's] that you awarded them an overall 3 based purely on your room being a "little dated".

Our rooms do vary and we generally recommend our larger Valley View rooms. We aren't aware of the room type chosen hope to see you again in the future in a refurbished Valley View room!

Best wishes
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The setting is idylic, the views superb, the food fantastic. so why not 5 stars? well its not quite perfect. we loved it, we got it at a very good price quoting kgb deals where I saw it listed. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. the room was a decent size and clean with a good bath and shower. it was January but the room was warm, the beds comfortable and plenty of hot water. the view from the room windows were lovely. We had an evening meal on the first night and enjoyed it so much that we immediately booked for the following evening - there is someone at this place that really knows how to cook - I mean REALLY cook. I had an apple crumble suffle with calvados soaked pear and prunes that was stunning, the suffle perfect!
We will be booking a murder mystery night with them soon as an excuse to go back. On the down side - if you could call it that - it is in the country, so you have to get in the car to go anywhere! you have to drive through this gorgeous countryside along roads the offer fantastically stunning views - well like I said its not perfect!

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor with a view over the valley, ask for that view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaydnNelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We got back on sunday after staying at the Pilgrim Hotel for 3 nights and I have to say the experience was one of the most pleasant we have ever experienced. We stayed on a Bed & Breakfast basis and it tasted lovely. We had the full English every morning and as my partner is a Vegetarian they were more than willing to accommodate this. Because the weather was so bad we decided to stay at the hotel for our dinner every evening. This too was of excellent standard and taste and the vegetarian options were the best we have ever experienced. The hotel is so dog friendly as well. Although we were not allowed in the Bar and Restaurant we were allowed in the lounge. Not once did we feel left out on a limb. The staff were so accommodating always making sure we had a drink and everything was ok. A table was laid for our breakfast and dinner every day. The room we stayed in was excellent and clean and you would not think that this accommodation was used for guests with dogs. The staff were so friendly and were willing to do whatever they could to accommodate and ensure our stay was as pleasant an experience as possible. Would deffinately recommend this hotel for a Country Break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffy_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just had our first 2014 stay at The Pilgrim. As we renter reception it's like putting on your favourite pair of slippers. Everything is "comfortable and cosy" and you know that you will have a treat. Jodie and Trevor were immediately at hand with a warm welcome and a bit of friendly "banter" and Deepak is still producing food to die for. Our room as always is spotless thanks to the "Housekeeping" team. Thank you to everyone. A good way to start the New Year.

Room Tip: Valley rooms are good.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoff_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews