We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for a three star”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel is in beautiful part of the country and is a good place to stay to enjoy it. The accommodation itself is not stunning and looks a little dated but everything is clean and serviceable. The food is better than the accommodation with a reasonable range of dishes and you can eat in the bar or the restaurant. We were most impressed with the helpfulness of the staff who were working very hard (I think they were one down on the day we stayed and yet remained attentive). We arrived back mid-afternoon after a long walk on Sunday and they rustled up a curry for us without any problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveBoyle, Owner at The Pilgrim Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you martinb53 for taking the time to review our Hotel, it's always good to get such positive feedback about the staff, food and cleanliness.

The team are a little disappointed however, that after scoring top marks [5's] for Cleanliness, Service & Location, along with good marks for value and sleep quality [4's] that you awarded them an overall 3 based purely on your room being a "little dated".

Our rooms do vary and we generally recommend our larger Valley View rooms. We aren't aware of the room type chosen hope to see you again in the future in a refurbished Valley View room!

Best wishes
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 826 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The setting is idylic, the views superb, the food fantastic. so why not 5 stars? well its not quite perfect. we loved it, we got it at a very good price quoting kgb deals where I saw it listed. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. the room was a decent size and clean with a good bath and shower. it was January but the room was warm, the beds comfortable and plenty of hot water. the view from the room windows were lovely. We had an evening meal on the first night and enjoyed it so much that we immediately booked for the following evening - there is someone at this place that really knows how to cook - I mean REALLY cook. I had an apple crumble suffle with calvados soaked pear and prunes that was stunning, the suffle perfect!
We will be booking a murder mystery night with them soon as an excuse to go back. On the down side - if you could call it that - it is in the country, so you have to get in the car to go anywhere! you have to drive through this gorgeous countryside along roads the offer fantastically stunning views - well like I said its not perfect!

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor with a view over the valley, ask for that view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HaydnNelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We got back on sunday after staying at the Pilgrim Hotel for 3 nights and I have to say the experience was one of the most pleasant we have ever experienced. We stayed on a Bed & Breakfast basis and it tasted lovely. We had the full English every morning and as my partner is a Vegetarian they were more than willing to accommodate this. Because the weather was so bad we decided to stay at the hotel for our dinner every evening. This too was of excellent standard and taste and the vegetarian options were the best we have ever experienced. The hotel is so dog friendly as well. Although we were not allowed in the Bar and Restaurant we were allowed in the lounge. Not once did we feel left out on a limb. The staff were so accommodating always making sure we had a drink and everything was ok. A table was laid for our breakfast and dinner every day. The room we stayed in was excellent and clean and you would not think that this accommodation was used for guests with dogs. The staff were so friendly and were willing to do whatever they could to accommodate and ensure our stay was as pleasant an experience as possible. Would deffinately recommend this hotel for a Country Break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miffy_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Just had our first 2014 stay at The Pilgrim. As we renter reception it's like putting on your favourite pair of slippers. Everything is "comfortable and cosy" and you know that you will have a treat. Jodie and Trevor were immediately at hand with a warm welcome and a bit of friendly "banter" and Deepak is still producing food to die for. Our room as always is spotless thanks to the "Housekeeping" team. Thank you to everyone. A good way to start the New Year.

Room Tip: Valley rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoff_edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well the title says it all. We recently had our Christmas Party at the Pilgrim Hotel. Everyone that attended was overwhelmed by the the location and whilst enjoying their meal, which I might add was to a very high standard each member of the party could take in the breath taking views over the Wye Valley. The staff are great and provide great customer service , nothing is never too much trouble, food is always presentable and hot and there is always the option to have more if required. As we say every year we will be back.
Well done to the Chef and also thank-you Pat for all your help and kindness in making our party successful. You are a credit to the Pilgrim Hotel. Regards Ian & Sue Phillips

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Very dog friendly. Both breakfast and dinner very good. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Vegetarian curry delicious. Suggest that vegetarian sausages be offered as option for full english breakfast.

Staff very helpful and accomodating.

Our room was large, comfortable and very clean.

Hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay (our second visit) and had a brilliant time. The hotel is a joy, lovely rooms, clean & bright, with comfortable beds in a peaceful location. We had a few problems with our meal on the first night but the staff could not have been more helpful in sorting it out Trevor and the team made sure that our meal the second night was the best it could be and we were thoroughly spoiled. Thank you all for making our stay so good and we look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel look out over the gardens and hills beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
468 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 11 in Hereford
260 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford Grafton
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range: $84 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Country House Hotel with stunning views, great staff, local produce & a friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing