We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Meal”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well the title says it all. We recently had our Christmas Party at the Pilgrim Hotel. Everyone that attended was overwhelmed by the the location and whilst enjoying their meal, which I might add was to a very high standard each member of the party could take in the breath taking views over the Wye Valley. The staff are great and provide great customer service , nothing is never too much trouble, food is always presentable and hot and there is always the option to have more if required. As we say every year we will be back.
Well done to the Chef and also thank-you Pat for all your help and kindness in making our party successful. You are a credit to the Pilgrim Hotel. Regards Ian & Sue Phillips

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    305
    62
    14
    5
See reviews for
65
568
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Very dog friendly. Both breakfast and dinner very good. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Vegetarian curry delicious. Suggest that vegetarian sausages be offered as option for full english breakfast.

Staff very helpful and accomodating.

Our room was large, comfortable and very clean.

Hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay (our second visit) and had a brilliant time. The hotel is a joy, lovely rooms, clean & bright, with comfortable beds in a peaceful location. We had a few problems with our meal on the first night but the staff could not have been more helpful in sorting it out Trevor and the team made sure that our meal the second night was the best it could be and we were thoroughly spoiled. Thank you all for making our stay so good and we look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel look out over the gardens and hills beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The Pilgrim Hotel scores over many other options in a similar price range by being independent. It's able to offer you a very pleasant stay with scrumptious food, a well stocked bar and fabulous views over open countryside, all within easy reach of some great tourist destinations.
Our comfortable en-suite room, on the ground floor of the original house, was spacious with all mod cons, though maybe not as 'designery' as some of the chains. The downside was the electric shower which left something to be desired, but being over the bath there was a viable alternative with plenty of hot water. The flat screen TV was well placed and the bed was very comfortable indeed. Sleep quality, especially after a hearty three course dinner and a glass or two by the real fire in the bar/lounge was on the top of the scale.
We chose a three night package which included two dinners and three breakfasts and was very well priced. We'd definitely recommend this, especially if you want to be well fed, for an good value, comfortable and personal stay near to the lovely city of Hereford.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Pilgrim for a weekend break and was pleasantly surprised. It's situated in the most beautiful countryside and the view from our particular room was gorgeous.
The staff was nice and polite and very helpful.
The thing that stood out from everything was the food. It was exceptional. We ordered belly of pork, mixed grill, lamb, and even deserts was just superb.
The only reason I didn't give the full 5 stars was that the rooms could do with a bit of a makeover or at least ours did anyway other than that it was top marks.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyxr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed in The Pilgrim Hotel for two nights. Very comfortable room with grounds that were good for walking the dog. Dog was allowed to stay, which is always good news and although we weren't allowed to leave the dog in the room while we ate, the staff set a table for us in the lounge. The dog not being allowed in the restaurant, which is completely understandable and we didn't want to leave him in the car. Not once did they forget we were in the lounge either, returning often to check we were ok. The food was excellent The staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome. It was a pleasure to find a Bible in the room also. Thank you to all the staff at the pilgrim that made my husband's birthday treat pass off very well. Very good Groupon deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johncdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here via a groupon deal and was very pleasantly surprised. The room (valley view twin) was a good size and clean. The only issue was the noise from rooms above - ok if you are a heavy sleeper, however this was only for the Saturday night, the other 2 nights were much quieter. Service from all staff was fantastic - very attentive and friendly which made us feel very welcome (including the dog). The food was amazing - definitely worth a meal here. Would stay here again if in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JulieTink2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
430 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 12 in Hereford
293 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
279 reviews
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
174 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stretton Sugwas
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Property: The Pilgrim Hotel
Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing