We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent views”
Review of The Pilgrim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pilgrim Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for four nights on a short break to visit the area. Hit on some lovely weather which obviously made a difference. We had a very spacious room with excellent views across the hotel grounds and over the hills. We enjoyed breakfast and evening meals in the hotel and found the food to be excellent. King size bed was a bonus but the sound of a very loud snorer in the next room rather spoilt my peaceful nights sleep.....yes all four nights!! The welcome book contains a sheet showing some of the local walks in the area which we followed and loved. Staff were mainly young people who we found to be very welcoming and friendly. Enjoyed our stay and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 826 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked a night here because we wanted to see the famous medieval world map at Hereford Cathedral. We little expected that the Pilgrim Hotel would be one of the most appealing places we stayed during a month in the UK. Our spacious room overlooked the lovely grounds and had a glorious view of the Golden Valley. The staff were welcoming and helpful. Dinner was very good. My husband chose the Indian-spiced salmon and said it was exceptional. We ate in the conservatory which was beautiful even though mist was descending on the valley. Breakfast was also good, with excellent smoked haddock among other choices. We're thinking about visiting Hay-on-Wye next time we're back in the UK just so we can stay at the Pilgrim Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrequentTraveller149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Although having a quiet weekend away in the country is completely not our style, we absolutely loved it! The staff was polite and made us feel comfortable and welcome.
We stayed in the family room and were very pleased with cleanliness and how spacious the room was.
Breakfast choice well exceeded our expectations. It was served quick and the portions were very generous.
The location is a major attribute, and the surrounding area is wonderful for walkers (however serious you are).
Great place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break. We had a lovely large room in the old part of the hotel overlooking the valley, the views were stunning, beautiful countryside & so peaceful. The bar was warm & welcoming & the restaurant had a good choice of reasonably priced dished, we dined here both nights, the food was lovely & the service was excellent. All the staff were very friendly & helpful, nothing to much trouble. Breakfast was good & set us up for the day. The only very minor negative was the bathroom, it was adequate & clean but lacked the little luxury touches. We would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steph_and_Jon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a weekend of lovely weather, views, food & service. Wish we had taken our walking gear as there were some lovely walks to go on. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Lovely comfortable bed, shower not the best but did the job. The only downfall would be that it was just a bit too quiet in the evenings for us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seirian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a last minute idea from my husband for the Bank holiday to go away and I'm really glad he did because this place was brilliant it was very peaceful and the beautiful country side views from the Hotel were fabulous ,our room was very nice and welcoming it had just what we need for our nights stay,only negative Thing i can say about this place is maybe it could do with some nice little toiletries in the bathroom rather than just soap wash in a bottle.
We had a meal in the Resturant and the food was really good price wasn't to bad for what we had as well , the staff were really helpful and friendly .for £55 this was great value for our money.
Breakfast was ok as well .
We would come back and stay if this way again

Room Tip: Couldn't comment about other rooms but our room was great for the price (room 20)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Friendly welcome. Homely hotel with comfortable rooms and stunning views over the valley at the rear. Many interesting birds visit the garden. Spacious patio and deck area also share the views. Cosy bar with friendly staff. Excellent menu and efficient restaurant service. Even early breakfast arrived promptly! Local buses to Hereford or Ross stop outside. Good walks available starting from the hotel. A superb venue for a reunion of friends from the 50s!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back away from A49 are quiet and have the stunning views. Sound absorbtion is better i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Much Birch
5.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
468 reviews
4.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#7 of 11 in Hereford
320 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 11 in Hereford
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 11 in Hereford
260 reviews
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Hereford Grafton
4.2 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pilgrim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pilgrim Hotel

Address: Ross Rd., Much Birch, Hereford HR2 8HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Much Birch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Much Birch
Price Range: $84 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pilgrim Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Country House Hotel with stunning views, great staff, local produce & a friendly ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Pilgrim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrim Hotel Hereford
The Pilgrim Hotel Hereford/Much Birch, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing